We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best b&b in Skegness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Eastleigh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Eastleigh to your Saves list
The Eastleigh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Scarbrough Avenue, Skegness PE25 2TB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Skegness
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best b&b in Skegness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here last Wednesday (9th-10th October) and we were absolutely delighted with our rooms which were warm, comfortable, very clean, plenty of tea, coffee and sugar (+ horlics and drinking chocolate), beautifully furnished and lots of special little touches. Thankyou to the staff for all the thoughtful hard work that has gone into making this the best b&b in Skegness, we are definitely staying here again.

Room Tip: Ring to book and get 10% discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian F, Owner at The Eastleigh, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks for taking the time to post such a great review - it is very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Eastleigh again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    64
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
34
195
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had booked a two night stay for our first break away since having our baby. Going by the reviews previously we had high expectations but were sadly disappointed. From what we can gather the Eastleigh has been recently taken over so the other reviews are clearly from a while ago. Our room was on the first floor, the family room which suited our needs and gave us the extra space we needed for our cot etc.. At first glance room was ok, however bathroom sink was dirty and dust all over the floor, tea cups looked unwashed and the window had been left open so it was freezing cold, not good when you have a small baby. The worst thing was our bed. It was extremely lumpy and sank in the middle, the most uncomfortable mattress i have ever come across. I mentioned this to the owner who said it was a new mattress and maybe im used to a harder one!! This I do not believe! I work in a hotel and I know the difference between a new mattress and an old one. Just dreadful. My husband had backache for a week afterwards. Also we had no offer of help on bringing in our lugguage, pushchair etc. We had two flights of stairs to climb so this was disappointing especially when the owners were just sitting there doing nothing! I felt it was just easy money for them. Appauling customer service, I would not stay or recommend the Eastleigh to anyone. I will stay elsewhere in future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian F, Owner at The Eastleigh, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for the review. I'm sincerely sorry to hear that your stay with us was a disappointment and I would like to apologise for letting you down. You'll see from all the other reviews over the last two months since we took over that our guests have been delighted with the level of service, cleanliness and comfort at The Eastleigh. Within the first week of buying the property we replaced all the mattresses, bedding and towels. Again, I assure you that it is a recently new mattress you slept on. You'll also see from the reviews just below your own that we always offer to assist with luggage - I have no explanation as to why you were left to carry everything yourselves. Windows are always left open after room cleaning to air the room before guests check-in. I can understand this is not ideal when a baby is arriving, but is a policy we will continue to follow to ensure that rooms are as fresh as possible. I haven't received any other comments with regards to other issues you mentioned; however I've made sure our cleaners replace any stained cups and double check one another's rooms. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback – it's very important to us as it helps us to continually improve our level of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Lovely clean room, nicely decorated, nice to have tea and coffee and biscuits. The fridge is a lovely idea.The little extras make it special. Warm friendly host. Close to town centre .would stop here again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian F, Owner at The Eastleigh, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thanks again for staying with us and thanks for the glowing review. It's always great to hear that a guest has enjoyed their time with us. I am pleased you had a good experience and hope it won’t be too long before we see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

lovely clean and welcoming. we were greeted at the door on arrival and helped with our bags,all the extras were great . only thing that could make it better is an arm chair to sit on, would highly recomend

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian F, Owner at The Eastleigh, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay. I am happy that you enjoyed it and that everything was satisfactory. Regarding the armchair - this is something I am addressing at the moment. Those rooms which can accommodate them will soon have comfortable tub chairs. I hope you'll be able to visit again to see the difference!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Booked here for two nights based entirely on the tripadvisor reviews. Werent disappointed when we go there eaither. The owner was very friendly and helpful, showed us to our room and explained what we needed to know. Room was a big size double with a bathroom and shower. Everything was spotlesly clean and well looked after. Couldn't fault the place and will defo go back again for the next show at the Embassy.

Room Tip: room 8 at the front is huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian F, Owner at The Eastleigh, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your review - it was a pleasure to have you stay at The Eastleigh and I'm glad you found everything to your liking. The deluxe rooms do provide that little extra space for relaxing after a day enjoying Skegness. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Eastleigh again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We received a warm welcome shown to our room and left to it, very nice decorated room, lovely comfy bed, nice shower room, tea, coffee available and cold refreshments in rooms fridge, very good hotel for price, will definitely stay there next time in skegness and also really close to town centre but not loud at all

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian F, Owner at The Eastleigh, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thanks for the great review! We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found The Eastleigh up to your expectations. Returning guests enjoy special rates, so please give us a call if you plan to visit Skegness again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

After deciding to book a two day get away to Skegness we came across the Eastleigh Hotel Via a booking site, the photos of this hotel looked great and lived up to expectation upon arrival.
When we arrived we were greeted with a warm welcome from the owner who helped carry our luggage to our room, which was very helpful.

Our room was immaculate, clean throughout and it was clear that the owner takes pride in his hotel with the towels on the bed that resembled swans. The bathroom was also clean and tidy and included little niceties that made it very homely.

Adding to this, the owner was also helpful and knowledgeable of the surrounding area, giving us ideas and information about places to eat and go for the day.

The hotel is on the door step of many attractions, such as the beach, nature land, amusements and the town centre so you'll never be short of things to do.

Although the hotel doesn't offer breakfast me and my partner found it ideal as we could get out early to the opposing hotel that offers breakfast from 8 - 9:30 you get tea, coffee, unlimited toast orange juice and also cereal. Another place we found that offered breakfast was Yates's this doesn't open till 10am but it's 2 minutes from the beach and was lovely.

Overall we had a really pleasant experience at The Eastleigh and it's definitely a hotel to recommend to friends and family.

Well worth the money and we hope to be back soon, thank you for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: "Hotel offers a low noise policy"
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian F, Owner at The Eastleigh, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay at The Eastleigh and that everything was satisfactory. I'll pass on your praise to the cleaning team too - they like to feel appreciated! All of us are working hard to make The Eastleigh the best possible accommodation experience in Skegness, so we hope you can come again to see how we're improving. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Eastleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eastleigh

Address: 60 Scarbrough Avenue, Skegness PE25 2TB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Skegness
#2 Business Hotel in Skegness
#3 Luxury Hotel in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Eastleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eastleigh has an enviable location, conveniently close to the seafront, Skegness Pier and North Parade, and an easy walk to the beach, the centre of town, the bowling greens and Embassy Theatre. All rooms are comfortably furnished, well-appointed doubles arranged over three floors and all are en-suite with power showers. Rooms at the front have a limited sea-view, and all other rooms face the rear of the property. Many unexpected little extras make a stay at The Eastleigh a little more special. The Eastleigh is 'room-only' and does not offer any meals, which is reflected in the attractive room rates. Allocated parking in the private car park is available for some rooms, otherwise there is ample on-street unlimited free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Eastleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastleigh Hotel Skegness

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Eastleigh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.