We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just smashing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bull & Swan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Bull & Swan to your Saves list
The Bull & Swan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High St, St Martin's, Stamford PE9 2LJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
lincoln, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“just smashing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We just stayed one night here to attend a local theatre production. Everything about it was perfect, hotel room was spacious and very comfortable. We had dinner and breakfast which was everything we could have asked for - the food was well presented and delicious. The staff, especially Tom, were just so approachable, polite and helpful. We will definitely be back, perhaps to book the No 1 Room which we understand is even bigger than the one we had this time! Thanks so much, everyone at the Bull and Swan. Full marks to you all. We really enjoyed our stay with you

Room Tip: we stayed in the Lyon room and it was smashing. Roomy, comfortable with a roll top bath and combine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, Manager at The Bull & Swan, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
What a fantastic review thank you, I will be sure to put this in our staff room so that everybody gets the chance to read your extremely kind words,
We all look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future, and I will be sure to hold back room 1 for yourselves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    73
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
18
143
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I stayed for the weekend with friends and we were not disappointed. Everything about the hotel was good - my room was spacious with a large VERY comfortable bed that was even better as I had this all to myself. The pillows and bedding were of the highest quality. The roll top bath was in the room with the toilet and washbasin en suite. The toiletries were really pleasant with a zingy citrus smell if you need waking up in a morning!

We ate dinner there on the first night - the food was really good - even though the kitchen had run out of wild sea bass - and we ate one of the best puddings ever, it involved peanut butter parfait and salted caramel - and it was exceptional (handy hint - there is an awful lot for one unless you are really hungry).

There is plenty of choice at breakfast - eggs benedict, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, full english or kippers... plus all the usuals such as cereals, fruit juice and really nice coffee.

The staff were all really friendly and helpful - some of the best I have come across. Nothing was too much trouble and they really made the effort to engage with guests. They should be proud of what they do.

I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, Manager at The Bull & Swan, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
What a lovely review, I am so pleased to read that we hit all the right notes during your stay, the whole team will be thrilled to read that their hard work has paid off
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

The bull and swan exceeded all expectations from the moment we walked through the door.

We went to check in at the bar which was a very relaxed atmosphere, immidetly making us feel at home.
The getlman that checked us in couldn't have done more for us, we had rang the night before to get a table In the restaurant as we forgot on booking the room but there was no availability, much to our disappointment.
However when checking in we mentioned this and the gentleman went out of his way to reserve us a table by a open fire in the bar. Perfect for what we wanted!

Then there was the room, although we got the last room booking and I think the smallest in the hotel it was lovely, and the shower was amazing! We especially liked the complimentary vodka tipple on the bed side table.

The rooms have everything you need from hanging space to a hair dryer, the only down side was the room appeared to be above the kitchen so at times it was noisey. This didn't really bother us during our stay.

The food at the bull and swan was exceptional I would recommend the burger and cooked breakfast! Although we only stayed for one night it felt like we had been off work for a week! We would return in a flash.

Thank you for a lovely valentines! We will Hopefully see you all again soon.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, Manager at The Bull & Swan, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
I’m glad to see that we helped to make your recent Valentines stay one to remember, your room was indeed the smaller of the ones we offer, but still contains all of our quirky little extras that grace all of our rooms and I’m pleased to see that these were enjoyed by yourselves.
I will pass on your kind words to Chef regarding the food during your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Very impressed when we stayed at the Bull & Swan last week. Our room was spacious, recently decorated, but still had plenty of historic features that gave character to the room. Appreciated the excellent coffee, tea and biscuits included. Freshly squeezed orange juice at breakfast always a good sign, and the cooked breakfast that followed was very good.

Staff were helpful and friendly - gave impression that they enjoyed working here.

Great for those without a car. Bus every 30 mins to Peterborough connects with trains to London & the North. Looking forward to making a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, Manager at The Bull & Swan, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
What a fantastic review, thank you! It was a pleasure to have you stay with us for a few days, all the staff pass on their regards and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We have stayed in Stamford many times but this was the first time at the Bull and Swan. We arrived tired and saddened by a visit to an elderly relative, a long drive away and were immediately cheered up by a friendly greeting and shown to the very comfortable Stag room. Our dinner, eaten in the cosy bar, was delicious as was breakfast the following day and the service equally good. We continued our journey feeling much better and are almost looking forward to our next trip to father in law ...if we can stay at the Bull and Swan on our way home.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, Manager at The Bull & Swan, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again next time you are on your way back from visiting your father-in-law.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
European city break traveller
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Bull and Swan over the Christmas break. Stayed in the Wild Horse Room with roll top bath and huge walk in shower. Unusual layout of the room... the toilet and bathroom were in separate rooms across a small landing, I enjoyed the quirkiness of it but my boyfriend wasn't so sure and it may not be to everyone's taste! We ate in the hotel in the evening in the bar area rather than the restaurant as it was fairly quiet on the Sunday evening.The meal was lovely and the standard and quality of the food was repeated at breakfast when we enjoyed continental breakfast followed by Eggs Benedict.
The hotel is only a 5-10 mins walk in to Stamford. It's a beautiful town for a stroll with it's Georgian architecture and riverside location.
Throughout our stay I found the service to be excellent. Working in the service industry I'm forever measuring the quality of service wherever I go! I found the staff at the Bull and Swan to be attentive yet relaxed, professional and friendly. The overall experience during our stay was a very good one. Particular credit to the guy who served us at breakfast who was particularly charming and attentive.
If you're looking for a quaint and quirky place to stay in the centre of Stamford with heaps of history and great service then I would highly recommend the Bull and Swan.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, Manager at The Bull & Swan, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
I’m glad that you enjoyed your festive break with us, everybody has been working so hard over this period and it will give them a huge lift to read such lovely reviews like yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

One night stay the week before Christmas.
The room.
Booked a Chic room which was very nice but did not have a bath only a shower. The pictures of the Chic room on the web show a roll top bath which I believe is the case in only one of the three Chic rooms. Chocolates ordered to be in the room were forgotten. Polite grumble and with no hesitation upgraded to the Ram room, the Top room which was beautifully appointed and decorated. Free drink from the bar to make up for the lack of chocolates. Only complaint with the room, the carpet has probably seen better days. Queen size bed, linen etc all top class.
The food.
Booked a three course meal in the restaurant for the evening. Everything was beautifully presented and tasted first class. Service was also attentive polite and professional. The full English breakfast in the morning was as good as I have ever tasted, absolutely delicious and beautifully put together. The accompanying cold buffet etc again was great.
In conclusion, a cosy, quirky traditional coaching Inn with polite, professional friendly service a welcome and preferable, dare I say alternative to the George. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Slept like a baby in the Ram room which faces the road. So no problem with the main road traffic eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, Manager at The Bull & Swan, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for your review and I do apologise for you not receiving chocolates in your room and I’m glad that you appreciated the upgrade and complimentary drinks as our way of saying sorry.
Luke our head Chef was thrilled to read that you enjoyed your meals throughout the stay, a lot of hard work goes into making the menus and for them to read that this is paying off is a huge pat on the back for the whole team.

We all hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bull & Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull & Swan

Address: High St, St Martin's, Stamford PE9 2LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bull & Swan 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Bull & Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull & Swan Hotel Stamford
The Bull And Swan
Bull And Swan Stamford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bull & Swan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.