We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little things make all the difference - even for companies” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The William Cecil at Stamford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The William Cecil at Stamford to your Saves list
The William Cecil at Stamford
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Martins, Stamford PE9 2LJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Stamford
Henley on Thames, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Little things make all the difference - even for companies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Back to The William Cecil in Stamford yesterday. Another corporate session with client and again the hotel was marvellous. Stayed over night this time in good room (bit noisy with windows open but not that bad) and ran a session for clients.

Working lunch in the Exeter Room and the lunch was fabulous as usual - best Scotch eggs on the planet. Sandwiches good and Caesar Salad which you can pick up an eat with your fingers was really, really good and innovative!

Best thing was, unprompted, the kitchens produced bicuits with the client's logo iced on them! Little things make all the diffrerence.

Room Tip: not on the road side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Bish0p, Operations Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I was so glad to read that you enjoyed your most recent conference experience including the extra touch! We look forward to seeing your company if not yourself again this week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    110
    35
    11
    3
See reviews for
42
188
5
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grimaud, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Having stayed in Stamford at the Bull and Swan on many occasions we had watched the renovation of the William Cecil with interest. Our one and last visit was a great disappointment. Be warned do not take the Sarah Goggins room which is too small for the bed. It is almost impossible to squeeze between the wall and the bed on one side. This room quite obviously was rejected by a previous customer as when we entered the room the bed had been used, the complimentary drink had been consumed and the toilet used without flushing! On complaining to the Duty Manager she was so delightfully honest that she admitted that it had been rejected by a customer and presumably they were in our booked room. The room however was cleaned and a bottle of wine delivered. On retiring for the night it was impossible to sleep with the continuous noise of an industrial extractor fan just outside the window which continued until the early hours and then resumed again in the morning. We were told in the morning that this should have been switched off!......no apology. Never again, we will be back to Stamford shortly and it will be the Bull and Swan which has never disappointed.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Bish0p, Operations Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
It is very disappointing to read that your stay at The William Cecil was a let down. We strive to ensure all aspects of our guests' stay here exceed expectations; on this occasion we have obviously failed in several key areas. It is pleasing to read you thoroughly enjoy The Bull and Swan each time you visit. I do hope you will return to The William Cecil and allow us to regain your favour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I did a one night business stay but would be good for a weekend getaway.It was cold and icy when I stayed but the terrace they have would be good for a drink in warmer weather.
I had a small room at the top of the hotel with a very low ceiling but the incredibly comfy bed was more than compensation.A hand held shower with the bath would not be my preference but that was my only criticism.
Breakfast is served from 7.00am midweek and I needed to be on the road by 7.15am so I went to the dining room at 6.45am and they were more than happy to serve me which was good.
Didnt eat evening meal at hotel as I wanted to see Stamford,menu looks pricey but if anything like the breakfast it will be good.
The very old building the hotel is in adds to its charm and I have booked again for another overnight stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Bish0p, Operations Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. The terrace is indeed a lovely place to have a drink and we are in the process of putting together a new terrace menu for the upcoming good weather! Our rooms are very individual with different bathroom facilities in each so please do feel free to mention your preference when booking and we will do our best to allocate a room accordingly. Do join us for a weekend stay, we offer very competitive Dinner, Bed and Breakfast rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Situated on the edge of the Burghley Estate is the wonderful William Cecil. Our room was great, staff fantastic and really went out of their way to make sure we had a pleasant stay. A really enjoyable stay oh and breakfasts - scrumptious and dinner too!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Bish0p, Operations Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The William Cecil. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. Please do visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We booked a 2 night stay at the William Cecil through the Daily Telegraph promotion, 2 nights in a boutique room, glass of sparkling wine each included if you had dinner in the restaurant. When we arrived the desk staff couldn't find our booking on their computer system, they then booked us into room 12 which they said had been allocated to 'the manager' but he hadn't checked in yet! After knocking first to check not already occupied we were shown into the room which was spacious & nicely laid out & at the front of the hotel facing the busy road. This would have been fine had there not been half the double glazing missing on one of the windows which meant loud traffic noise which disturbed our sleep all night this was further compounded by being woken at 5.30 am by hotel staff talking loudly in the corridor outside our room! The first night we ate in the restaurant, the food was good but quite pricey, not wanting to appear like freeloaders we didn't ask for the complimentary glass of wine with the meal & it wasn't offered, (when we booked in staff said they hadn't heard of the daily telegraph promotion). We asked to move rooms for the second night & this was done no problem & we were moved to room 18 a smaller room at the back of the hotel which was much quieter. The breakfast was excellent & the staff were efficient. The hotel backs onto Burghley house grounds & we had a walk to the house which doesn't open to the public till next weekend, worth a return visit to see it as very impressive looking. The town of Stamford is truly lovely & has been used for filming Middlemarch & Pride & prejudice & there is much of interest with lots of nice pubs & shops. The William Cecil is a nice hotel in a good location, but our experience was mixed because of noise & staff not being clued up about their own hotels promotions! Also a good nights sleep should be a given when you spend money on a hotel break

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room when you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Bish0p, Operations Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
I am terribly sorry that your stay with us got off to an inauspicious start; it is disappointing to read that we did not meet your expectations. We are in the process of installing secondary glazing throughout the hotel over the course of the year to minimise the impact of the noise. It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your second night’s stay and that the staff and breakfast were excellent. I do hope that you return to us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had our first stay through secret escapes deal for 1 night in a chic room with breakfast.The hotel was beautiful in décor and first impressions of the staircase was outstanding.The room we had was their middle priced room the guineas ..chic room..it was a very large room tastefully decorated and lovely mangowood furniture..Little touches everywhere ,handmade biscuits ,which were delicious,organic vodka, I was thoroughly impressed.We dined in the restaurant in the evening thoroughly enjoyed our meals we had a calves liver mains and a gammon main very acceptable,then when the waiter brought the bill he produced a shot of organic vodka and a truffle which to my delight had space dust in .We had a great nights sleep and peaceful no noise from the hotel at all.The breakfast in the morning was first class and the tea they use is really noticeable in quality,i think its teapigs morning glory .I would 100percent come back an will be on the lookout for any upcoming special offers ,I believe their deluxe rooms some have their own garden ...Fantastic

Room Tip: Chic room though middle priced is very luxurious, spluge go for a deluxe with own garden ,I am sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Bish0p, Operations Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the added extras we offer our guests. I hope that we are able to welcome you back to The William Cecil soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We only stayed overnight here this time but will definitely come again. It's a historic but smart and well-appointed hotel and our room was very pleasant. Service and breakfasts were excellent. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Bish0p, Operations Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post some feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The William Cecil at Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The William Cecil at Stamford

Address: St Martins, Stamford PE9 2LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Stamford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The William Cecil at Stamford 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The William Cecil at Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The William Cecil At Stamford Hotel Stamford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The William Cecil at Stamford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.