We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, friendly, lovely room.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dolphin Guest House

The Dolphin Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stamford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Dolphin Guest House
Save
You added The Dolphin Guest House to your Saves list
12 East Street, Stamford PE9 1QD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 18 Stamford B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable, friendly, lovely room.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I was staying over night in Stamford recently for a wedding and booked a room here. Very friendly and the room was extremely good value, with a plasma screen, very comfortable bed, bath/ shower etc. and a mini welcome pack with teas and biscuits. I was also given a key, so there was no trouble when I came back late at night from the wedding. I woke up past the normal breakfast time but was made to feel very welcome, with the options of a cooked breakfast, lots of fresh fruit and cereals. I would highly recommend The Dolphin Guesthouse.

Room Tip: There is no fuss if you have to book a one night stay, as opposed to a full weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
11
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stayed in Stamford for a school reunion. The owners were very welcoming & frankly probably put up with way more than they ever should have what with a bunch of women, some who hadn't seen each other in 20 years! The room was comfortable & clean with all amenities available, including very yummy home made biscuits. Breakfast was vast & varied with fresh fruit, full English & homemade granola available. Nothing was too much trouble.

My only con (and I know this is purely a personal thing so please don't let it put anyone off staying here - just come prepared if it bothers you) is that my room was on the front on a main road & the curtains let in a lot of light. I'm used to a quiet village with thick curtains. Bring sleep mask & ear plugs & you'll have the best night sleep ever in a comfy bed with a great breakfast to wake up to.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs at the back of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromer, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We have just returned from a lovely stay at the dolphin guesthouse. We had a large room with plenty of space for our energetic 16 month old! Nothing was too much trouble for the landlady and she was very friendly. Perfect location too, only a short walk to the town and a great park! Thank you

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

The owners were very friendly and welcoming and the breakfast was great. I had a very nicely decorated and cosy room and it was just a couple of minutes walk from the town centre. Ideal place to stay if you are planning a trip to this beautiful little town. The Arts Centre is worth a visit as it not only hosts the local tourist information but also has lots of events on all the time and they also have a great little cafe there - I thoroughly enjoyed my red pepper and celery soup, it was delicious! Friday and Saturday there is a market with local produce - well worth a visit, too.

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

While setting up my artwork at Burghley House in Stamford I stayed at the Dolphin Guest House (http://www.thedolphinguesthouse.co.uk/). I would definitely recommend it as I truly enjoyed my cosy room, the warm welcoming of the landlady and her very friendly and pleasant energy.
I 've also enjoyed my breakfast even if I did not go for the english one I had delicious fresh fruit with yogurt and her very special home made Granola. Also look out for another treat: home baked lemon biscuits

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

My favourite place to stay when visiting family and friends.Very homely and friendly nothing too much trouble.Ten minute walk to Burleighly House well worth a visit,well placed for town centre.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

very pleasant would definitely use again the room was basic but clean and a very comfortable bed the proprietors were very welcoming and the breakfast was excellent very handy for the centre of town

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dolphin Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Guest House

Address: 12 East Street, Stamford PE9 1QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Stamford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple Bed and breakfast accommodation close to the centre of Stamford. Easy access to all the town's amenities. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dolphin Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.