We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burghley House

Burghley House
Burghley, Stamford PE9 3JY, England
01780 752451
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 19 attractions in Stamford
Type: Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This historic Elizabethan house (circa 1587) features a serpentine park that was designed by Lancelot Brown and a gothic greenhouse and stables.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is a fantastic house set in wonderful grounds. Entry price is a little hefty but well worth it. Take the tour as the guides are very knowledgeable and make the visit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    101
    37
    14
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ely
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“A walk in the park..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stunning walk through the grounds of this fabulous house, although closed for the winter the park is open and well worth the walk up to the Orangery for lovely cake and coffee. The Orangery is a stunning venue for that drink and tempting cake selection, and I cannot wait to go back in the summer when I can sit outside in the lovely gardens. There is free parking on site, but it's actually not far from the town if you want to add mileage to your walk. Sturdy boots are not necessary. Free entry to the park and grounds. Take a camera as the deer were grazing today and they were beautiful.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Parkland and Sculpture Gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Plenty has been said about Burghley but I just wanted people yo know that you can walk around the park most days from 08:00 for free almost everyday through the year and until March 16th the Sculpture garden is free too.

The parkland is an amazing place to stroll either with dogs or just to be outside somewhere safe.
I went this morning and the Deer were so lovely to see making their way around the park.
At this time of year with the house closed untill March I did not see any toilets or food outlet open, just the parkland and Sculpture gardens.

I took a couple of photo`s so I hope you enjoy them.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

What a lovely house. We looked around as soon as it opened in the morning but it was still quite crowded.
It is obviously very popular, but you can see why. It was very interesting.
Rounded off trip to house with a meal in the cafe, that was lovely.
Gift shop was good too, if a little on the expensive side, but aren't they all?!!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The perfect afternoon tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This has to be THE place to take your friends or family in the East Midlands for an afternoon tea, particularly after a walk in the magnificent Burghley house park - entry free.

The Organgery is a "real" converted organgery with wonderful views across the gardens of Burghley House - one of the best preserved Stately Homes in the UK. Afternoon tea consists of tea, gourmet sandwiches, scones with jam and clotted cream as well as cake.

I recommend checking in advance if the Organgery is open as they close during Winter I believe.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burghley House also viewed

Stamford, Lincolnshire
Grantham, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Burghley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burghley House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Burghley House to your Saves list