We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jim's Yard

Jim's Yard
3 Ironmonger Street, Stamford PE9 1PL, England
+44 1780 756080
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 94 Restaurants in Stamford
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: No.3 The Yard is tucked away behind buildings on Ironmonger Street, Stamford. We have a great conservatory with French doors opening onto our secluded courtyard. This pretty walled garden provides a fantastic alfresco space for a light lunch or a lazy supper. We also have a bar area and three further dining rooms on the first floor. No.3 The Yard is one of only two establishments in Lincolnshire to hold the Michelin Bib Gourmand. Freshly prepared, locally sourced ingredients served at excellent value for money, the Bib demonstrates that quality does not have to be expensive.
Cambridge, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I ate at Jim's Yard last night and it was just as good as the first time. The people there are lovely and the food is befiiting of any top London restaurant. It's also a very cosy place at this time of year.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    61
    21
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“As always, a perfect evening spent in a perfect restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Jum's Yard never fails to deliver the most delicious &fantastic food! Service is so professional and nothing is ever too much trouble. As good service should be!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Cliffe, Peterborough, Uk
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Memorable food and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Pricey but good for a celebration occasion. The location is interesting and has made good use of a quiet courtyard.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navenby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was our first visit to Jim's and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The atmosphere was lovely from the moment we walked in the door, and we were greeted graciously and efficiently. The starters, shellfish bisque and mushroom risotto, were very good indeed. My ribeye steak was perfectly cooked but I would have liked a little more fire in the green pepper sauce; chips, mushroom onion ring and tomato were spot on. My other half's chicken was cooked beautifully and her only slight criticism was that the sauce (brie and bacon) was just a little too strong for her taste. We didn't have dessert but the double espresso were fine - just a shame the menu said homemade biscotti and was in fact shortbread - but given first night after the New Year's break they can be forgiven. My final thought every time I leave somewhere new is would I return. The answer this time was certainly a yes.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Pleasent supprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

After our last experience at this restaurant, we were pleasantly surprised! Well done. The food was excellent although having pre-ordered for the group of us, one meal was forgotten. However this was dealt with efficiently. Do not like to be upstairs, but as there were a lot of Christmas party group this was much better than I expected. Will definitely go again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jim's Yard also viewed

Stamford, Lincolnshire
Stamford, Lincolnshire
 
Stamford, Lincolnshire
Stamford, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Jim's Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jim's Yard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.