We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Best Western” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER Moor Hall Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PREMIER Moor Hall Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Moor Hall Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Moor Hall Drive | Four Oaks, Sutton Coldfield B75 6LN, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Best Western”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have to stay in hotels every week for work, it can be tedious! Not stayed here before but will again. Booking by telephone a pleasure, checking in and out similar. Swimming pool etc. of a good standard. Local staff all very attentive. Room fine. Breakfast selection great especially the fish. Great choice of eating with a fair selection of cost. Lovely grounds and aspects. A truly 4 Star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B, Owner at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
What a fabulous review, thank you. We were so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind comments have been passed onto the team and we all hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    247
    128
    46
    19
See reviews for
174
303
27
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I came with my family for an afternoon tea for a birthday celebration and found the tea to be average. We had about a 40min wait for the tea to arrive but that wasn't such a bad thing as it was nice to sit outside in the sun. However when it arrived it looked very average, it wasn't overly tasty either with some of the cakes being very dry. The service by all staff was good but some in particular could be better, especially in the way they speak to guests. The rooms are nothing to shout about, very dated but still clean and comfortable. On the whole it was a nice stay but things could have been better.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B, Owner at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. I was sorry to hear you were slightly disappointed with afternoon tea and have passed your comments onto the Restaurant Manager and Head Chef in order for them to discuss these points with their teams. We have an ongoing refurbishment programme for the bedrooms with a few still to do, but it’s very important that you are comfortable and the room is clean which I am pleased you have mentioned. We were pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again when you are next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were at this hotel for a wedding week-end. We upgraded to a superior room and were pleased we did. Large, comforable and very clean room but dated. The food for the wedding breakfast was excellant considering they were catering for aprox 150 guests - could not fault it. The breakfast was uninspiring but adequate. The wedding room is a delight - glittering glass and beautiful. However, the real stars of the show are the helpful and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B, Owner at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. We have an ongoing refurbishment programme for the bedrooms with a few still to do, but it’s very important that you are comfortable and the room is clean which I am pleased you have mentioned. Your very kind comments have been passed to the staff and are much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are able to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyneham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel, the staff, facilities, rooms, restaurant and spa are most definately 5 star!
I booked to stay here with my young Daughters having experienced a difficult few months; we were all delighted with every aspect of this hotel and have recomended it too many; and also hope to return here ourselves very soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B, Owner at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for this lovely review. We were pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Late booking for a single room on a bank holiday weekend. Lovely staff, very welcoming & homely. Room ok, bed v comfy but décor dated. Lots of lovely hot water for bath & spotlessly clean. Found place a bit tricky to find- could do with a bit more signage. Woken up at 7.30 am by voices of guests passing room to go to breakfast. Breakfast staff extremely courteous & efficient.
No rush on leaving hotel as long as checked out room by 11am. A bit disappointed that couldn't use spa facilities after this time tho as arrived late last nite & didn't have time to use the spa then. Lovely grounds for a wander. Very comfy lounge areas inside & outside to relax & read the papers. Wedding set up for today looked fab ..hope they enjoyed a fabulous day :)

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near staircases
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B, Owner at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. I'm pleased you could walk around the grounds and sit outside as you picked an excellent weekend for the weather too! We have an ongoing refurbishment programme for the bedrooms with a few still to do, but its very important that you get a good bed and the room is clean, which I'm pleased you have mentioned. I do hope you will come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chislehurst
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is a comfortable hotel with good sized well equipped bedrooms. Ours was a superior room so had a view over the adjacent golf course. Good bed and excellent bathroom, all very clean and well decorated.
However we stayed on a dinner bed and breakfast deal, and wished we hadn't. Breakfast was the usual buffet style fare, but we ate at 9am and the food was very overcooked as tough it had been prepared for the start of service at 7am and kept warm somewhere since then.
There are two restaurants, the Oak Room being where we dined, was a pleasant room, light and airy, however, the food was again overcooked and not well presented. We dined there two nights, on the first night we were offered a special starter of Mussels and a Main of venison, then to be told that the Venison had run out. The Roast of the day was Turkey. The second night we were only offered a special starter,Mussels, no special Main, and the Roast of the day was,you've guessed it was Turkey.
The food overall was of good quality, but had been spoiled by being overcooked or kept warm too long before being served. We did say when ordering on the 2nd night that the Fish on the previous night had been overdone and it was a bit better that night.
The Country Carvery offers a cheaper option but is a bit like the cupboard under the stairs with no windows and a low ceiling so overall was not very appealing to us as we would not have wanted to stay in there having a leisurely dinner after a long day.
The Pool and spa however are very good, pool just the right temperature and everywhere very clean.
The gardens are very nice and the building attractive in a quiet location

Room Tip: Superior rooms are worth the little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B, Owner at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
I am very pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, but do apologise for the issues you have raised with regard to the food. We are generally very well known for our restaurants and their standards and quality. It is very important that our guests enjoy the whole experience when they stay and I will be raising the issues you have mentioned in order to arrange further training and improve these aspects in the future. I do hope you will come back and stay with us again when you will be assured of our best attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here for one night at the beginning of April, having dropped our sons off for the ice hockey play offs in Coventry and headed further up to visit friends whose house backs on to this hotel. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds with a golf course on site. It's an oldy worldy style of hotel...steeped in history of which they are obviously very proud. Our room was in the new wing and small but perfectly fine. Lovely bathroom and very comfy beds. There were numerous weddings, tea parties etc taking place both days but nothing bothered us at all. The reception staff were lovely and very efficient, on check out they seemed genuinely interested in whether we'd had a nice stay...which we had! The breakfast was lovely, very plentiful and the hot food was hot! The waiting staff were lovely and helpful and worked so hard they need a medal! It was also excellent value for money as only £20 per night more than the very budget chain hotel we had dropped our sons off at! One note.....the lift in the new wing was out of order. This didn't bother us but carrying bags/children upstairs may have been a problem for some. Maybe they only put the fit and healthy in these rooms. We commented on it to the poor chambermaids who were up and down the stairs with huge bundles of linen and they said it had been 'out of order' for months! Hopefully it's fixed soon! Our only disappointment was that we were only there one night and were spending most of the weekend at our friend's house we didn't get to use the pool/restaurants etc! We hope to stay again the same time next year, maybe for two nights so that we can enjoy the facilities!

Room Tip: Rooms in the new wing facing the gardens are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B, Owner at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review. We were so pleased to hear you enjoyed the charm of Moor Hall and found it excellent value for money. We do hope you will be able to visit us again when you are next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Moor Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Moor Hall Hotel & Spa

Address: Moor Hall Drive | Four Oaks, Sutton Coldfield B75 6LN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#2 Spa Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#3 Family Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Moor Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Premier Moor Hall Hotel & Spa is a four star country house hotel set in parkland, yet within easy reach of Birmingham.2014 Certificate of Excellence winner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Moor Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Moor Hall Hotel And Spa
Best Western Premier Moor Hall Hotel Sutton Coldfield
Best Western Sutton Coldfield
Sutton Coldfield Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PREMIER Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.