We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B & B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Highfield Farm Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Highfield Farm Guest House to your Saves list
Highfield Farm Guest House
Farthing Lane, Curdworth | Off A4097 Kingsbury Road, Sutton Coldfield B76 9HE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Norfolk UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great B & B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Very good B & B. Easy to find and quick access from M42 - ideal for visiting NEC (less than 10 minutes away). Rooms very clean, comfortable beds and good TV reception. Excellent and plentiful breakfasts. The owner, Jan, was very helpful and rang us to check arrival time and was there to welcome us. You get a front door key as well as a room key so can come and go as you please. Had an excellent dinner at the Cock Inn, Wishaw (less than 5 minutes away) and Jan recommended a good Italian restaurant in Curdworth. Near motorway so expect some traffic noise if you have the windows open - but we didn't find this a problem despite having all our windows open due to the very hot weather over the weekend. Would definitely book this B & B again - we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
7
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Although I only stayed one night whilst on business, I was made to feel very welcome.

An excellent clean, very well located B&B, great value and a wonderful breakfast.
Easy parking and very good wifi were the icing on the cake.
A very useful stopover if you are in the Birmingham area, very close to M6 and M42 but very little noise (with the windows closed - shame it was an unseasonably hot night for September!)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

We have stayed here about four or five times now when we are exhibiting at the N.E.C. The locaion is fantastic and is only 10-15 minutes from the N.E.C. The rooms are lovely and so are the breakfasts. The owner, Janet is a lovely lady who goes over and above to make sure your stay goes smoothly. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southall middx
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

We are a couple in our 70s who hate big, impersonal, convention-holding hotels. We had a blissfully-quiet front room on the first floor (double-glazed) with en-suite bathroom, both of which were comfortable, sparklingly clean and very well-appointed. Lovely view over fields, and very warm welcome from friendly owner who carried our case upstairs and even helped us out with a pill we'd forgotten to pack. Conveniently near the M6, though you don't hear it. Cosy lounge with large TV to watch the cricket highlights! Only 2 slight "cons": (a) It was a bath-with-shower-attachment rather than a stand-up shower. The latter suits me better on account of arthritic knees! and (b) The water in the mixer bathtaps in the morning was a bit eccentric - kept going cold. But the "pros" far outweighed the "cons"! Oh, the swimming pool was covered over (we forgot to ask why), but we didn't need it anyway.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2006

I telephoned the hotel directly to make a reservation for the 3/12/06. I gave my credit card details and was told there was a vacancy. The man on the ther end of the phone did sound half asleep in retrospect. We turned up on 3/12/06 to be told that there was no room for us. There was no apology offered. The first thing the very rude lady who answered told us was that she had been waiting for us all day the day before. The guy who had taken the booking obviously was half asleep. We ended up leaving, still after no apology just some bad attitide. Ended upsatying at the school house guest house down the road. Much better service. friendly and great breakfast.

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire, England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2006

We booked here to stop the night before a trade show at the NEC. It would have been so easy to book a 'Holiday Inn' or a 'Travellodge' but in my endless quest for supporting local businesses and not handing my money over to these 'faceless' companies, I found this great guest house litterally less than 2 minutes off junction 9 on the m42. (as long as you don't miss the turn off!!). We arrived to be greated by the very friendly owner (sorry can't remember her name), slept in a comfy bed, and woke up for a fantastic breakfast (eggs freshly laid by some local hens the day before-fantastic) If we need to visit again and can book during the summer we could even have a quick dip in the pool before a long hot day walking around the NEC. Surprisingly we heard no noise from the m6 or the m42 eventhough they were a stones throw away, and the 'alternative' route to the NEC by Mrs Owner, saved us getting stuck in the traffic we could see as we whizzed past it on the A446(I think!).
Great value for money-book direct with them to save a few £'s.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2004

Ideal location for getting to the NEC Birmingham, extremley easy to find, and lots of parking. The lady owner we met was lovely and she cooked a lovely full english breakfast!
Our ensuite room was spotlessly clean, as was the rest of the house, just lovely. Television, tea and coffee making facilities,and a lovely comfortable bed, what more can you ask for! There are two pubs nearby available for evening meals only a short walk away, and although it is situated very close to the M42 there was no road noise causing disturbance during the night.
A lovely place to stay, would definitely recommend it to family and friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Highfield Farm Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Farm Guest House

Address: Farthing Lane, Curdworth | Off A4097 Kingsbury Road, Sutton Coldfield B76 9HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Sutton Coldfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Highfield Farm Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highfield Farm Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.