We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turmeric Jones

Turmeric Jones
123 The Parade, Sutton Coldfield, England
0121-355-4568
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Took my parents and my girlfriend to this restaurant last night for a meal. Was relatively quiet and we were seated straight away and our drinks order taken which took only a couple of minutes to be brought to the table. The waiters were very polite and helpful and gave us plenty of time to peruse the menu. Food was excellent, well cooked and full of flavour and not too pricey either. Will definitely be going again and would recommend it to any one looking for a good meal out in Sutton Coldfield.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    12
    8
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

The food is more towards the top end when compared to the competition and it was fine.

We went to this restaurant when it wasn't very busy and found that there always seemed to be a waiter hanging around a bit too near the table which took away from the experience a little.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntwood
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Alternative to Jimmy Spices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Great menu, great staff, good venue. We have been a few times and enjoy the food and attention to detal. a great place to eat just off the Sutton parade

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Not Brilliant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Firstly the venue is good, a nice layout and a well decorated old building with the restaurant on the first floor but that`s as good as it gets.

We arrived and straight away the waiter was `on the case` for us to try their `special lamb shank` I like this type of dish so went for it, my partner had a Jaipuri.

When the lamb arrived I noticed it was not very warm, it was also greasy and totally tasteless, to me it seemed like left overs warmed through. Sadly my partners dish was not much better, lacking in taste and all served up by a very surly waiter. We noticed a fat Asian man in muslim atire standing by the toilet watching everything that went on...all very sinister.

So to sum up, absolutely rubbish, expensive and not an enjoyable experience at all, these people think they can serve anything with an unusual name and people will just accept it....I`ve got news for you fellas.....there are some great curry houses around these days so I suggest you smarten up your act.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food, Great service, Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Have been going here for about the last six months now & it has been great every time! the food is very varied and always tastes wonderful, service is good with very friendly staff. The only bit I would change is the music sometimes is a bit too old fashioned indian!! but then it is an indian restaurant.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turmeric Jones also viewed

Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
 
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
 

Been to Turmeric Jones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turmeric Jones, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.