We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great start to the New Year!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The White Horse in Curdworth

The White Horse in Curdworth
Kingsbury Road, Curdworth, Sutton Coldfield, England
01675 470227
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #108 of 168 Restaurants in Sutton Coldfield
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great start to the New Year!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Decided to do something different for New Years Eve this year and managed to book a set menu with entertainment evening at the White Horse, very good decision! The welcome was very warm and friendly and the 'pub' festively decorated. The choice from the set menu was excellent and the food was to die for!! beautiful fillet steak cooked to perfection! The atmosphere was lovely with a mixture of ages and this was dealt with expertly by the DJ. Unfortunately we didn't arrange the evening very well, with me driving and being unable to have a drink, so we didn't stay to see the new year in, which we have already decided we will do next year with a taxi ordered!! Thanks to Aimee our waitress who made our evening special!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    21
    24
    14
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Whole Family post Christmas meal out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Went with parents and family with children aged 2-17. The good was really good with one caveat which was trying too hard with young children's food which was a bit rich and with excessively salty chips. I had the festive 3 course deal and it was delicious and not bad value at £20. The big complaint was the appalling time it took between courses. The starters came fairly quickly but then long waits for mains and then for puddings so that in time it took getting on for 3 hours to eat and this was when it wasn't particularly busy. So high scores for food, staff were really friendly but have to mark down for service because of time took. That meant young children became tetchy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A good example of a pub restaurant chain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I had one of the pies. Despite the puff pastry (am I the only person hankering after a pie made with shortcrust pastry?) the filling was tasty and generous. I upgraded to the thick-cut chips which were also good, as was the vegetables. This was washed down with a couple of pints of UBU bitter, which was served in excellent condition. Service was polite and timely too. I will definitely look out for other pubs in the Vintage Inns chain, I hope they all meet the standard of the White Horse.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“DISASTER”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The staff were pleasant and friendly. The quality of the food was a disaster. My husbands steak was small and not good. very full of stringy sinue. I ordered chicken gougins as a main. The flatbread was sohard I could have used it to resole my shoes. I had one half of a small tomato and three rocket leaves. The chicken was dry and overcooked. My chips did not arrive until we prompted a waitress . We left without either dessert or coffee

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Too dry to swallow”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Visited early evening on a Tuesday night. Ordered Wild Boar and Chorizo burger which turned out to be an appalling choice. It was so dry I could barely swallow. Tasteless. No garnish and the smallest slice of tomato didn't help. Served with a slaw of dry cabbage that had already begun to turn brown. A few bog-standard chips did nothing to compensate. Refused to pay. Won't go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Horse in Curdworth also viewed

Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Wishaw, Sutton Coldfield
 
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
 

Been to The White Horse in Curdworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Horse in Curdworth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.