We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moxhull Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Moxhull Hall to your Saves list
Moxhull Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Holly Lane, Wishaw, Sutton Coldfield B76 9PE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“Delightful Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Situated in an idyllic spot and the perfect wedding venue. The wedding we attended was delightful in all respects, the setting , the food was wonderful and the staff so helpful and obliging. We had a great day and evening followed by a nights stay in lovely large and spacious room and ensuite walk in shower and large bath the views from bedroom window were lovely. The breakfast was great and I can't fail to recommend Moxhull Hall for anyone planning a wedding or any one wanting a hotel in the area

Room Tip: I imagine all rooms are fine we had 108 and it was lovely quite and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Rosie194

As a tripadvisor top contibutor we are elated with your very kind feedback. It means so much to us that you were pleased. Beng compared so favourably against our peers in the industry is very positive for us and gives us all real motivation to keep on the path we are on.

Most importantly, you are happy with the wedding you attended. We take our responsibilty to the couple very seriously. The wedding day is for the familty and guests as well as the couple and we are perpetually reaffirming this to our staff.

If you are happy then so are we. We hope we see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    17
    0
    1
    5
See reviews for
69
77
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Just wanted to say if you are planning a wedding and don't want any stress, a beautiful location, great food, outstanding accommodation and a fabulous team, book here. Most of our friends and family quoted this as the best wedding they have ever been to. From the moment we booked to the day we got married we had a fantastic experience this was down to Andreas, Gary and all his team . This is the place to celebrate your big day. We will be back to celebrate our anniversary. Many thanks for the lovely gift.10 out of 10 for everything . You will not be disappointed believe me !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Shaunnjo

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We all very much enjoyed looking after you and it genuinely was our pleasure having you here.

The most important thing for us is that Moxhull Hall gave you the wedding you deserved. We see it as an honour to be part of a wedding day. We are invited into peoples lives and take great pride in that.

Thank you so much again. You are part of our history now so please come and see us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

From the moment we first met the staff at Moxhull it was obvious that they knew exactly what they were doing and did it soo well. As soon as we left after that first viewing we knew it was the venue for us and booked it a week later.

Every single time we visited they took us through the whole process with ease and made us feel really comfortable with their ability to manage our special day and helped us plan the perfect day in the exact way we wanted it.

When it came closer they went through the plan of the whole day with fine detail to make sure we were happy and were going to have the exact day we wanted.

On the day itself the staff were all excellent. You would think that they had only planned our wedding all year as they dealt with everything so efficiently and their attention to detail was outstanding. They just dealt with everything in the background and organised it all without having to trouble us. They made sure we had time with each other away from the other guests to soak up our day.

The food is second to none, all our guests were raving about the main course the following morning. The night time went perfectly and they handed out the evening food with no interuptions to the reception which is exactly what we wanted.

Overall we can not recommend this place enough to anyone thinking of getting married. They simply are the best at it! We will return to stay again and also go and eat in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Simon H

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so happy that we met your expectations for your wedding. On so may levels we are pleased that your review confirms our ethos is the right path.

We continually question ourselves and look to develop, learn and improve. This is a process that happens daily and we never take anything for granted. Most importantly we are overjoyed that you had the day you wanted and felt Moxhull Hall was part of that. It was our pleasure having you here.

Thank you so much and please come and see us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

This isn't a hotel review but the restaurant is not listed separately so here I am. If the restaurant was listed separately, it would be No.1 in sutton by a country mile. There was a fixed price menu of (laughably cheap) £24.95 where you get 3 courses of some well thought out and very varied choices. I had scallops of the day followed by lemon sole and a chocolate and blueberry brownie to finish. It really was a magnificently pleasant surprise and would not be out of place at twice the price. Whoever's responsible, thank you and very well done! We'll be back

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Chilledinagay

Thank you so much for your very kind review. It means the world to us that you feel we offer good value. We really try and exceed guests expectations.

We like to offer good food in a pleasant surrounding, good service and at a fair price. If you noticed that we feel very happy. Value is such a hard thing to measure. We feel most guests understand when they receive value and you have helped confirm that. Thank you and we hope we see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

From our first meeting with Tony our daughter's wedding reception on 23rd November had a touch of class about it. Nothing was too much trouble, plans were explored in great detail, and with empathy for the hopes, desires and circumstances of the young couple. Thus we arrived at the day expecting that all would be well. In the event our expectations were exceeded. The arrangements for the day ran faultlessly; opportunities for creative photography were many; service was exemplary, but unobtrusive; the meal outstanding and all the guests had an experience to remember with joy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Malcolm O

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. I know Tony and the team enjoyed looking after you all. We are really pleased that you mention so many of the things that we focus on. We want primarly to have empathy with our guests. If you understand guests needs, nerves and wishes then it is so much easier to deliver the day. In fact empathy is the one word that we focus on in all our training.

The other is unobtrusive service. A wedding is not about us at all. Staff should be noticed but not obvious. We simply facilitate the day. We want everything done in time without fuss and just to let our guests get on with having a nice time.

Thank you so much again for your review. We appreciate the time given to it and feedback is how we learn and make sure we keep on the right path. We hope we see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We were guests at a wedding and we thought the venue was lovely and the room nicely presented. However, I did feel they lacked a little in hospitality, being heavily pregnant I requested breakfast as room service only to be told they don't do that for wedding guests it is only served downstairs. It may seem like a minor inconvenience but as a guest paying the same as anyone staying at the hotel I was confused at this. I also did not appreciate the abruptness of the lady on the front desk who informed us of this you would have thought my request ridiculous,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Anewmrs09

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you felt the receptionist did not deal with your request properly. As a venue we are not geared for room service in the morning. Breakfast can be very intense and to offer room service would affect us hugely in the morning. We do offer it for dinner but not at breakfast.

As you are aware the site is quite large and logistically it would require two members of staff to cater for a guests needs on room service. As a 19 bedroom hotel and based on our tariffs we feel that as we do not charge for room service we have decided not to offer it. But we do try and help as much as we can. Normally we would say we could help before service gets very busy between 9am -10am. The receptionist should have explained this to you. We have spoken to her and she apologises if her way of dealing you was abrupt. It was not meant and she understands that sometimes an alternative or explanation is enough. As we do not charge for room service it is technically not a service we offer but we do try and help as much as we can. Rest assured your comments are noted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

I was only fortunate enough to have a one night stay - but came away very impressed.

I stayed in room 101 in the main building. Large room, decent bathroom with a huge shower. Plenty power sockets, and a strong wifi signal.

Managed both breakfast and dinner on site. Dinner was fabulous. Had a wonderful risotto starter, and a very tasty rack of lamb for the main course. Restaurant service was flawless - and the prices were not off the scale.

Even with the bad weather we saw - the grounds looked fabulous - shame I was there for work, and not a romantic getaway!

Fully recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Nigel73Oslo

Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback. As a senior reviewer we are very touched that you feel you recieved quality and most importantly value.

We always try and get it right and hope that our guests get a feeling of that. We do genuinely care and we never assume we are perfect but we always try and improve and keep on perservering.

Once again thank you and next time make it a romantic break!! we hope we see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moxhull Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moxhull Hall

Address: Holly Lane, Wishaw, Sutton Coldfield B76 9PE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#1 Family Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#2 Business Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moxhull Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moxhull Hall is a beautiful Victorian mansion, set in 8 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens. It is the perfect venue for hosting weddings and a unique place for conferences, restaurant dining or overnight stays.Privately owned, the place is alive with warmth, hospitality and individual style. Original grandeur alongside modern, contemporary design gives Moxhull Hall a personality all of its own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Moxhull Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moxhull Hall Sutton Coldfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moxhull Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.