We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea for Two” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield to your Saves list
Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Penns Lane | Walmley, Sutton Coldfield B76 1LH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Walsall, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea for Two”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I booked this as a treat for my pregnant Daughter & myself through a voucher site, the offer was for afternoon tea for two, with use of the leisure/spa facilities. Having read the reviews, I was extremely concerned & not expecting very much to be honest, and yes, parts of the hotel & the changing rooms for the leisure facilities are somewhat tired and dated and more than one towel would be appreciated (we weren't told whether you could have more) but this is a 3 star hotel with leisure facilities, including a pool with jacuzzi (nice and warm) sauna & steam room not a 5 star spa hotel.

The afternoon tea, which was freshly prepared, was served in the nicely appointed & comfortable bar and included smoked salm, cream cheese with cucumber & ham sandwiches, scones with jam & clotted cream and a selection of cakes. All of these were delicious & plentiful & the staff at both the leisure facilities & in the bar were friendly & helpful.

All in all, we had a lovely, relaxing time & would happily go again for a similar offer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your honest and positive experience following your afternoon tea for two experience here at Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield.

We are delighted you enjoyed the day and the team very much appreciate your kind acknowledgement, we all look forward to serving you again in the future and very much welcome your return. Do take a moment to follow our hotel Facebook and Twitter accounts to hear of offers, team news and community events.

Yours sincerely


Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    225
    146
    125
    110
See reviews for
164
228
22
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Binfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed one night B & B. For the price, I have to say disappointed. Firstly getting to the room was convoluted and involved 2 lifts journeys and various stairs. No help offered with luggage and on day 2, one of the lifts was broken!
The room itself was in desperate need of a good clean and refurb and really needs air con in this day and age. Dust, dirty windows, stained shower curtain, worn awful plating on fixtures (some chrome, some brass), peeling paint and overall unacceptable standards of maintenance.
Staff were pleasant enough and breakfast was good with very side choice available but this doesn't make up for the poor room conditions. Would not recommend. Sorry - I expect more from Ramada

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your views, and we are disappointed that shortcomings in maintenance are reflected in your comments. Please do contact the hotel directly so that we can identify the specific room and ensure action has been taken. Certainly there is no excuse for a stained shower curtain, we routinely replace and wash these to ensure they are acceptable, and any cleanliness concerns will want to be addressed. Whilst we concur the property is older and would benefit from capital investment, our in house programme of work is focused on items within our control, and we work hard to ensure service meets expectations.

We appreciate you noting the staff were friendly and welcoming and you enjoyed your breakfast., and hope you also had the opportunity to use our extensive leisure club facilities, enjoy a drink in our relaxing bar and dine in our restaurant, which offers a range of brasserie style and light meals. Our grounds are particularly enjoyable as summer emerges, with the opportunity to walk in the evening along the cycle and footpaths to the neighbouring nature reserve. With ample car parking, guests can find our competitive rates offset any perceptions of age of the property.

Thank you once again for sharing your views,

Yours faithfully

Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is the kind of place that makes you wish u could sleep in your car. Dated, grubby, mediocre staff. Room that was a ten min walk from reception! The food was actually ok, not mind blowing but nice enough.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments, and we are sorry you found us to be mediocre as people. The team are genuinely disappointed on this reflection, with many having longer service and loyal dedication - we are all committed to ensuring a warm friendly and professional welcome, and any specific examples where we may have let ourselves down would be welcomed directly to our General Manager.

We work hard to ensure our hotel is clean, and whilst we concur capital investment would be welcome, we prioritise aspects within our immediate control to ensure guests experience a comfortable stay. Our menu offers an extensive range of 50 items as well as daily special dishes, and we are pleased to accommodate any dietary or personal requests where ever possible.

Thank you once again for taking the time and trouble to give your personal opinions.

Yours faithfully

Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed here for one night with a friend, for a burlesque weekend they were running, having got a decent deal from wowcher.
On arrival, reception seemed a bit chaotic, and the hotel a bit of a maze to navigate.....
The room was decent sized, clean and basic, bathroom clean, and lots of hot water and a nice shower.
Beds were firm, but that suits some and not others.
Or deal included three course dinner, wine, cocktail and show, and the hotel gets a rating of four instead of three, for the great price it was, dinner was lovely, and the show and disco entertaining...
Breakfast was plentiful and tasty with a large window in which to enjoy (7-11am I think).
Presently surprised to find tea and coffee making facilities in room, and increasingly rare thing these days.
I only have one major complaint, and that was bad soundproofing..... banging does and drunken neighbours do not make for a peaceful nights sleep. :)

Never made it to leisure facilities, so no comment on them.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your positive experience following your stay for one of our popular burlesque evenings. The team very much appreciate your kind acknowledgement of an enjoyable evening, great breakfast, in room comfort and facilities, and good standard of cleanliness.

I am sorry to learn you were disturbed by banging doors and other guests, and have this week ordered some signage to draw resident attention to the recommendation to respect that others may be resting. We can but try!

We will shortly be announcing a further 5 burlesque dates, so keep your eyes peeled, and we hope to welcome you again.

With regards

Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We were on a national holidays trip to Gardeners world live at the NEC, we never expect too much of the hotels as the price for the weekend is very reasonable.
We were very surprised at the quality of this hotel, it is a bizarre layout and we got totally lost finding our room.
Yes it is tired in parts but the staff are excellent, all very friendly helpful and professional.
I have food intolerances and they dealt with this very well providing me with an excellent evening meal. Breakfast was amazing, again providing gluten free bread and soya milk in the blink of an eye. Plenty of it and all very freshly cooked with something to suit everyone.
Free wifi in the lobby is a nice bonus as well.
The room was small but more comfortable than we thought it would be, very small bathroom but loads of hot water and big fluffy towels.
The dining room is beautiful and if it hadn't been raining we would of walked the grounds.
If you want a reasonable hotel with excellent service you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: This is a huge hotel and it is very confusing trying to find your room, get clear directions from re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your positive experience of our hotel and services during your recent stay. We are most appreciative of you taking the time to acknowledge the warmth of service and quality of food, as well as the overall comfort, and the team are greatly encouraged by your valuable feedback.

We hope that you are able to visit again, and enjoy an opportunity to view our extensive grounds, and you take the opportunity to follow us on our Facebook page.

With regards

Fiona Lockyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Went April 2014 - Afternoon tea was fine and staff were pleasant and helpful. However the leisure facilites were some of hte worst I have experienced. Pool and jaccuzi were too cold the htoel had heating maintenance problems - i did go in but not very pleasant. Sauna and steam room was in poor condition so were the changing rooms things can be run down but need to be clean which they were not.. Wouldn't go again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear visitor

Thank you for recently sharing your experience from a couple of months ago, which included our leisure club and afternoon tea. I am sorry to learn the cooler temperatures we experienced for a period of time in the pool area caused discomfort, and can confirm that these have now consistently been restored to a very comfortable level above 30 degrees. Cleanliness is a priority, and the associated temperatures also caused an effect on the moisture extraction efficiency, resulting in dampness that was not ideal when outdoor footwear entered the changing rooms.

The team routinely check and address any shortfalls and I am confident any gaps have subsequently been resolved.

I note you make no mention of your afternoon tea, which I do hope was enjoyable and relaxing and we would welcome the opportunity to restore your good faith on our excellent package offer again in the future.

Yours faithfully

Fiona Lockyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

very average hotel in nice location, we have stayed a few times and although there is nothing obvious to moan about there is also nothing to 'write home about'
We only used the hotel for sleep so it was ok.
To be fair we didn't use any of the leisure facilities, which may have increased our score.
Fairly clean but abit run down
Would I book again?..... Probably as the location was nice

Room Tip: If mobility is a problem request a room close to reception!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your observations following numerous stays. Whilst we concur capital investment would be welcome, we are committed to ensuring a warm, friendly welcome with a good standard of food and matters within our control including routine maintenance and cleanliness are managed efficiently.

As you note, we offer excellent value, and you would return again in the future, which is encouraging and appreciated.

We look forward to being of service, do follow us on Facebook for our latest offers.

Yours faithfully

Fiona Lockyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield

Address: Penns Lane | Walmley, Sutton Coldfield B76 1LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield Hotel Sutton Coldfield
Ramada Hotel Sutton Coldfield
Ramada Sutton Coldfield
Sutton Coldfield Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.