We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great New Year shame about room 210!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield to your Saves list
Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Penns Lane | Walmley, Sutton Coldfield B76 1LH, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
solihull
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A great New Year shame about room 210!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is the second new years eve we have spent at this hote.l The first time 2011 was all positive as we stayed in the newest part of the hotel over looking the lake the room was lovely good bathroom and cleanliness excellent! The staff, the food ,the entertainment the firework display all 5stars and we looked forward to our return visit 2012.When we booked the hotel we asked for the same part of the hotel and we were not told we could not have this request. So we were very disappointed to be given the annex as this meant we would have had a good outside walk to get to our venue which ladies in evening wear do not want to do in the winter!We asked reception if we could have a room in the hotel and they were very helpful and changed our room.Unfortunately it was the awful room 210! it was very clean and the only positive thing about the room.The veiw from the window was over flowing bins the room was a double bed in a single room which the decor was dark and very tired looking.The bathroom was sixties decor with paper peeling off.This was a shame as it would have been another brilliant Gala New Year! We would return BUT ONLY IF WE HAD A BETTER ROOM!

Room Tip: Avoid room 210 !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your time in providing an insight into your recent stay at Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield and we are delighted to hear that enjoyed our Gala New Year celebrations.

I am, however, sorry to learn that you were disappointed with the rooms allocated to you. Our Mews rooms are located in a separate annex and many of our guests request these rooms as they are much quieter for families being away from any events taking place in the hotel, and they are generally larger, but I appreciate they are not to everyone's taste. I am gratified to note that my staff were able to move you during the very busy period, but again sorry that room 210 was not to your liking.

We are a 3 star mid market hotel with a mix of bedrooms, and whilst I concur that aspects of the property would benefit from investment, we are committed to ensuring rooms are clean and well maintained, and our team is friendly and welcoming. Guests arriving with a more luxurious expectation may be disappointed, however what we have as shortcomings, we hope is made up for through efficient service, pleasant grounds, free car parking, extensive leisure club facilities and an easily accessible location.

It is our hope that you will join us again next year and we look forward to being of service to you. May we wish you a very happy New Year.

Yours sincerely


Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    254
    162
    144
    124
See reviews for
176
266
23
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

What a great time we had fantastic value for the money the gala evening was splendid great food great entertainment great venue The staff are so friendly could not do enough for us I would defiantly recommend you to visit .We will defiantly be booking for next New Years Eve

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your experience about your recent stay at the Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield and we are delighted to receive such a positive report.

Our aim is to create a great party atmosphere with our festive food, party and fireworks so that every guest can enjoy celebrating the New Year in style and it is always gratifying to hear that we have achieved this.

Be sure to follow us on our facebook page to keep up-to-date with our news and events and on behalf of everyone here, may we wish you a very happy New Year and we looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely


Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

really sweet and helpful staff,the front desk ladies were so happy and welcoming they sorted a couple of problems I had without any fuss or making me feel as though I was a nuisance - which has happened at other hotels.I would be more than happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your views about your recent stay at the Ramada Sutton Coldfield and we were delighted to here that you had such a positive experience. In particular, the team values your kind observation of their professionalism and friendliness, as this is what we strive to achieve.

Be sure to follow us on our Facebook page to keep abreast of news and offers.

On behalf of everyone here at the Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield, may we wish you a very happy New Year and we look forward to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours sincerely


Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed here for one night on a dinner, bed and breakfast package. We booked online and when we checked in were pleasantly surprised to find they had upgraded us from a standard double room to a studio. The room was lovely, clean, tidy and extremely comfortable. The staff were really friendly and helpful.

With regard to the dinner, the package allowed you an allowance of up to £22 to spend on dinner, however if you can find even two courses that do go over the £22 I'd be surprised. The starters and desserts were very nice, however the main courses left a lot to be desired and the whole menu is extremely over-priced. My fiance ordered a treacle tart with clotted cream for dessert and when it arrived asked where the clotted cream was, the reply to which was that they had run out so had used cheap squirty cream instead! Hence, that went back and a different dessert was ordered. To give you an idea of price, we both had three courses and it came to £66, so as you can see an allowance of £22 each really does not cover it.

However, we could not knock the breakfast, it was superb.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again without a shadow of a doubt, but only on a B&B basis in future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Firstly, may we wish you a very happy New Year and thank you for your taking the time to provide an insight into your recent experience at Ramada Sutton Coldfield. We are most appreciative of your constructive and positive report. In particular the team values your kind observation of their helpfulness and friendliness, and we will continue to ensure our guests receive a very warm welcome.

We were delighted that you were more than happy with the room and that you enjoyed the breakfast. You have been kind enough to share your thoughts on our restaurant pricing as we value feedback from our guests. I can confirm that we usually offer a set 3 course menu for £22 per person in our restaurant, however, not during the Christmas period. We also offer a wide range of dishes from our a la carte menu with main courses starting from £11 and the £22 allowance per person would cover 2 courses, depending upon individual selections. Our pricing is also reflective of our market and venue and takes into account utilities, staffing, cooking, linen and other business costs.

Apart from the issue of cost of the food, I am very pleased to hear that your overall stay was positive and we look forward to welcoming you again in future.

Yours sincerely

Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed whilst working away. It's not swanky or posh, but it is good value with friendly staff; and a good alternative to an expensive city centre hotel. Only real criticism is that there was no free internet/wifi in my room and so had to rely on my 3G which had a good signal - but is not what I would normally expect from this sort of hotel. Other than that, it was comfortable and excellent value for the low room rate it charged.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your time in providing an insight into your recent stay experience at Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield, and we are most appreciative of your constructive and positive report. In particular the team values your kind observation of their friendliness, and we will continue to ensure our guests can be sure of a warm welcome.

I appreciate your observation regarding complimentary wifi provision in our bedrooms, and whilst we do offer this service in our public areas, we are currently working with a supplier to extend the facility to all areas of the hotel.

Be sure to follow us on our Facebook page to keep abreast of news and offers and we hope to welcome you again in the New Year.

Yours sincerely


Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Staying here before works Christmas night out. After organising a night out for 18 people would have expected a nice room. Wrong. Tatty room, poorly maintained. Very old fashioned. Dark bathroom, dark room poorly lit, mouldy window frames. What a disappointment. Wish we'd payed for a taxi home. Avoid room 201.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to note your observations following your recent stay at Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield and I am sorry that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations in some areas.

I appreciate you sharing your thoughts regarding the room décor and advising of your concern regarding cleanliness of the window frames and apologise for the shortcomings identified. Following your feedback the room has been rechecked today to ensure they meet our usual high standards, so thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Whilst I concur that aspects of the property would benefit from investment, we are a 3-star, mid-market hotel committed to ensuring rooms are clean and well maintained, and our team is friendly and welcoming. Guests arriving with a more luxurious expectation may be disappointed, however what we have as shortcomings, we hope is made up for through efficient service, pleasant grounds, free car parking, extensive leisure club facilities and an easily accessible location.

Thank you once again for taking the time to leave your thoughts and may we wish you a merry Christmas and a very happy New Year.

Yours faithfully


Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I had such a lovely stay
I stayed at the hotel last weekend with some friends, we was here for the abba night what was brilliant.
All the staff were very friendly and always willing to help.
I stopped in a lovely room It was nice and clean and I was glad that I could control my own heating, the only down side was I had to keep asking one of the housekeeping ladies how to get to my room, the hotel is like a maze you need a map to find your way round
I would defiantly stay here again and recommend

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your time in providing an insight into your recent experience at Ramada Sutton Coldfield, and we are most appreciative of your constructive and positive report and recommendation. In particular the team values your kind observation of their helpfulness and friendliness, and we will continue to ensure our guests receive a very warm welcome.

We were delighted that you were more than happy with the room and that you enjoyed the Abba night. Our aim is to provide high quality entertainment to a wide audience and it is always gratifying to hear positive feedback from our guests.

We are in the process of completing our events calendar for 2013 so be sure to follow us on our Facebook page to keep abreast of news and offers.

We look forward to being of future service.

Yours sincerely

Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield

Address: Penns Lane | Walmley, Sutton Coldfield B76 1LH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield Hotel Sutton Coldfield
Ramada Hotel Sutton Coldfield
Ramada Sutton Coldfield
Sutton Coldfield Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.