We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Hall Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added New Hall Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Hall Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Walmley Road, Sutton Coldfield B76 1QX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here for an NEC event, looking for something a bit different. Glad we did as it was truely memorable. The room was spacious enough to relax and have room service, the restaurants looked a bit too pricey for what we wanted. Staff very nice and breakfast loveley. Grounds worth exploring if you have time. The history alone makes good bed time reading.

Room Tip: Courtyard executive room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    273
    120
    54
    18
    25
See reviews for
85
248
13
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
lichfield
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Some years since I visited my old home in the grounds but very disappointed with the general
Air of neglect in need of painting and some updating the food was very good indeed and the
service was ok could have been better this once was a luxury hotel and has the most
Fascinating history it now needs some maintenance

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Welcome and check in very efficient despite there being numerous guests arriving at the same time. Very happy with our room, beautifully presented by one of the staff...49 is quite and overlooks the courtyard. Room has a very comfortable bed and is exactly what you would expect of a top class hotel. Not sure how rigid the 15:00 check in time is but it did occur to us as being a little late. Anyway afternoon sun had just broken through and we ordered lunch for two which was again superb. After lunch had a walk around the moat ending back up at reception and whilst looking at the fish...numerous seriously large Mirror Carp....we were invited by a member of staff if we would like to help him feed them...lovely personal touch. Went out to dinner into central Birmingham (see review on The Annex)....fantastic nights sleep. Papers arrived without the ridiculous surcharge often applied in luxury hotels...went down for breakfast. which was marred by the fact that the hotel had run out of Salmon ....Eggs Benedict with Ham was good but not as good as with Salmon which was disappointing....check out no problem .....in today's world you would have to be a serious pedant to find serious fault with a spectacular venue and really good friendly and efficient staff.

Room Tip: Room 49 was a reasonable walk up two fights of stairs......and 3-4 mins from reception but worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I love this Hotel and we have stayed in various suite of rooms and the modern wing.
Beautiful location, beautiful scenery, beautiful rooms, fabulous spa, exquisite dinner, breakfasts, ambience and the staff are so attentive.

However, it does need a bit of TLC for such a prestigious location and famous hotel attracting stars and returning locals.

The management need to look at repainting the wrought iron railings at the front of the Hotel *kerb appeal*

The carpets throughout are tired.

Walk down the corridor from the Garden Room, look left and see the state of the staff door.
Continue walking and before you turn right to the Terrace Bar look at the kitchen door.
Front of House should not see dirty access to staff areas.

Tennis Court see the lights and fixtures need repainting.

Just a few tweeks that have needed attention in the years we have been visiting.

A beautiful building and gardens and moat which needs to be loved and made more impressive.

Room Tip: Check if there is a wedding on !! There is a tented venue away from the Hotel so the restaurants won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Fantastic weekend loved it. We had a suite that was lovely the only reason this hotel didnt get excellent review was because it didnt have a bath in our bathroom. We took out 18 month old daughter who wouldn't sit still in the restaurant as the restaurant is very quiet and relaxed we decided this wasn't fair on the others in the restaurant the staff were very helpful and delivered our meals to our room fantastic food best cheesecake I've ever had! The swimming pool was lovely one of the warmest I've been to which is great for young children. Spa was lovely had a lovely massage spa needs a relaxation room

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

First class hotel, great wedding venue. We had a Christmas Wedding and the hotel was delightfully decorated throughout. I stayed in a lovely suite the night before the wedding day then on the wedding night moved to the best room up stairs (where Robbie Williams stayed) The staff are helpful and friendly. Breakfast is really good! We often return for lunch my mother loves it as it is very "posh" Sometimes the local football teams stay but that is not an issue they are very well behaved before games!

Room Tip: Upper level room in the old building are best but watch out for ghosts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Ive stayed here twice before and have always been impressed.

The room was large, good tv and bathroom/showers.

The pool and spa is good too.

Surroundings are great and you can walk around the gardens too.
My sat nav always has issues finding this place though.

The breakfast was very tasty, I fancied a greasy fryup as a treat and I was unsure if this establishment could accomodate my lenthy requests of food but they were most kind when the two plates of food arrived.


I will be back when im at the NEC next.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hall Hotel & Spa

Address: Walmley Road, Sutton Coldfield B76 1QX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#3 Family Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#4 Business Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — New Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lying within 26 acres of mature, elegant grounds this hotel is widely reputed to be the oldest inhabited, moated manor house in England. Sympathetic renovation has provided up-to-the-minute facilities whilst retaining most of its medieval charm and character. Public areas with their fine panelling and mullioned stained-glass windows create a unique historical ambiance; the magnificent Great Chamber is particularly impressive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your New Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hall Hotel And Spa
Hotel New Hall
New Hall Hotel Sutton Coldfield
New Hall Sutton Coldfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Hall Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.