We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with lots of character and superb staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Hall Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added New Hall Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
New Hall Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Walmley Road, Sutton Coldfield B76 1QX, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE CHAMPERS & CREAM TEA
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with lots of character and superb staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Three of us stayed here for one night over a weekend for a spa treat. The hotel staff were excellent from the moment we arrived, helpful, polite, well trained and nothing was too much trouble.
Our rooms were good, clean and comfy and the hotel over night was really quiet and peaceful. The weather was freezing so we didn't make the most of the lovely looking grounds but I can imagine they would be really nice to walk around.
The spa was well kept and well staffed, with lots of personal touches when we went in. The pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna were all excellent as were our spa treatments on the Sunday morning.
We had dinner in the Terrasse Restaurant and the food was really nice, good wine list (though on the pricey side) and the service was excellent again. We had a small problem with a couple of our main courses which was sorted out quickly, politely and without a fuss from the staff - and after asking for a little compensation for our extra wait we were treated to a free bottle of wine :) We had lunch the following day in the lounge, a beautiful panelled room with old sofas and armchairs. We'd highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    167
    70
    25
    26
See reviews for
120
330
16
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is potentially a gem of a hotel: a wonderful and historic moated house conveniently tucked away in the outskirts of Sutton Coldfield. Our basic room was really very nice and the hotel and grounds a joy to wander. We had a nice swim in the spa and were both relaxed and looking forward to our "fine dining" dinner in their Bridge Restaurant. The wine that we chose was great and the staff attentive, but nothing could disguise the simple fact that the food was rubbish. Madam left her onion soup after one mouthful (far too salty and with burnt croutons), had to pick bones out the breasts of her quail and as for dessert, the less said the better. My salmon starter was alright and had the advantage of containing nothing that Chef had had to cook. My sea bass main was very average. The cheese board by contrast was excellent, but again comprised nothing that Chef had been let loose on. All in all very, very disappointing and then to somewhat add insult to injury, we discovered that a short of Amaretto and another of Gran Marnier cost the grand sum of £11.45. Whilst I expect to pay somewhat more in a bar, I don't expect to be charged nearly the cost of a bottle for a couple of shorts. Unfortunately, matters did not improve with breakfast. We had to wait for tables in the Bridge restaurant to be made up as somehow they hadn't epected that on Sunday morning there might be a rush at around 9:30 am and when our breakfast eventually made it to our table about an hour later, they managed to commit the double sin of serving poached eggs that were both hard and cold. Frankly, the last full English that I had in a roadside cafe had more going for it than this. Thankfully, we didn't have far to go to get home and that's the real disappointment: it is a lovely hotel and if the food had even been half-decent it's somewhere that we would probably use again for the odd getaway, but now I can't see us ever darkening their doors again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

I have visited Birmingham for an Exhibition. I was trying to find a romantic place to stay in as I was accompanied by my wife. I needed not to be far from the NEC (National Exhibition Center), and not to be in the city center, New Hall hotel and Spa was all of the above together. Amazing place, very quite, romantic, beautiful surrounding. And only 20 min drive from NEC.

My only take would be the food is average.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Had a short business trip and booked late, reasonable rate. Sat nav sent me into a housing estate when the entrance to New Hall is just a few yards on. Reception was quick and friendly and walked me to the room. Sadly, I missed Cheryl Cole by 10 minutes so I thought this hotel should stack up. Room was very grand, brilliant bed and I've never seen a bath bigger than this. Wifi was fast and easy. I ate in the restaurant, very relaxed atmosphere. I thought the menu was a little high on price but what was served made it great value. Staff seemed attentive all the way through. I never did get to the gym and pool but I'll be back with trainers in hand and a little more time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

What greets you when you arrive at the hotel is amazing. A moated castle set in lush grounds; on a crisp, Spring afternoon, with the sun shining, it was perfect. The rooms, public dining areas and grounds are something else but - I'm afraid to say - it stops there. When you pay for quality, you expect quality and too much was lacking, which made the overall stay extremely disappointing for my girlfriend and I.

On booking the Spring Special offer for £149, which included a 3 course meal, with pre-meal Champagne and canapes, and a double room, we were informed on arrival that the earliest we could eat was 9pm. This was fine we said, since - included in the booking was afternoon tea for two - we thought we would have our afternoon tea at 4pm. Alas there was no availability, so we had to pay for overpriced sandwiches, served by staff who seemed unaware of the numerous people hoping to have an afternoon snack.

We overlooked this but when it came to dinner, the staff were unaware of our situation and had to 'check' if we could have our champagne. Twenty minutes later we were brought our drinks and canapes - some crisps, 8 olives and a couple of stale breadsticks. At 9:45pm, we sat down to eat, waited 15 minutes for our next drinks order to be brought to us (the drinks still managed to beat the arrival of bread to the table), then watched as our starters were delivered to a table of two across the room. We were clearly displeased and expressed this to the Restaurant Manager, politely I might add, but our complaints were ignored and service remained slow and unpersonable. By the time it came to eating our main course (gone 10:30pm), we had decided not to order any further drinks (even if we wanted to, nobody was asking) and left after a couple of spoonfulls of the very rich dessert.

The normal price for the set menu 3 course dinner is £35. We received this for the equivalent of £50 with our special offer booking but were still disappointed. I feel sorry for anyone that paid full price.

Breakfast was good but again, mistakes were made at base level, i.e. failing to get my eggs order correct. Simple things that would be achieved through that extra bit of concentration by the staff.

On checking out of the hotel we were not asked if everything was OK with our stay. Thus, a letter of complaint has been written and will be sent directly to "Hand Picked" hotels headquarters.

The above is a small taster of our frustrations. If this hotel was to be marked on surroundings, architecture and and general feelgood factor, it would get 5 out of 5 every time. However, the lack of staff knowledge and often, lack of caring, made this stay not feel special, nor a treat, like it should have.

Disappointed :-(

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Recently stayed here as we were going to the wedding fayre the next day. Initially we thought it was amazing. Afternoon tea was GREAT! But unfortunalty when it came to dinner time we couldn't get a table till 6pm or 0915pm. We chose the later one due to afternoon tea. We got our starter at 1010pm and it was not up to standard at all. Taking the prices into consideration and comparing to places such as Champneys it was awful. The chicken ceaser salad looked like it was just chucked together, dry and horrible. At breakfast, it took 30 minutes plus to get our order, toast was cold, tea was cold. The pricing for the whole restuarant was not what the food represented. To top it off, we had a awful night sleep as it was really really warm and we both felt sick all night. We felt it were that bad we didnt bother paying an interest at the wedding fayre after we realised who was cooking the wedding breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here with several family members in mid February. We loved the hotel, rich in history, the gardens have a topiary and are well kept. The staff are friendly and helpful. The bar is quite well stocked. The food was good and service was quick enough. The spa is also nice, a good sized pool, powerful jacuzi, steam room, sauna and various treatments on offer. I spent some time in the pool then sat in the lovely warm jacuzi before going for a massage treatment (back, neck and shoulders). The treatment room was a little small, but this did not affect the treatment in anyway. The massage was lovely, the massage bed was comfortable and warmed(!) and I was asked if I wanted more or less pressure. Bliss. We had an executive room (Louise) that have names rather than numbers. The room was a good size and well equipped with everything you need and expect from a hotel room. The ensuite bathroom had a good sized bath/shower and all the towels and facilities you need. I would highly recommend this place as a lovely place to have a luxury break with friendly helpful staff.

Room Tip: If you can stretch to an executive room, try and get one at the back of the hotel overlooking the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to New Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hall Hotel & Spa

Address: Walmley Road, Sutton Coldfield B76 1QX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#2 Family Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#3 Business Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — New Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lying within 26 acres of mature, elegant grounds this 60 bedroom historic country house hotel is widely reputed to be the oldest inhabited, moated manor house in England. Sympathetic renovation has provided up-to-the-minute facilities whilst retaining most of its medieval charm and character. Public areas with their fine panelling and mullioned stained-glass windows create a unique historical ambiance; the magnificent Great Chamber is particularly impressive indeed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your New Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hall Hotel And Spa
Hotel New Hall
New Hall Hotel Sutton Coldfield
New Hall Sutton Coldfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Hall Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.