We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Farmers Arms

Save Saved
You added The Farmers Arms to your Saves list
The Farmers Arms
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Farmers Arms
Higher West Hatch, Taunton TA3 5RS, England (Formerly The Farmers Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 52 Taunton B&B and Inns
Middlesex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We used this delightful country pub as a base to explore Somerset/East Devon. We stayed two nights and wish we could have stayed longer. Ann and Nick (the owners) are lovely people, very friendly and welcoming and we were made to feel as though we had been friends for years, We stayed in room 2 with a lovely view over the Quantock hills. The room was spotless and the bed very comfortable - we slept very well. Breakfast was excellent and we ate in the restaurant both nights - the food here is superb, plenty of choice on the main and bar menu - if anything the portions are too big, but the quality is very high and reasonably priced for this standard. There is the usual array of drinks that you would expect in a country pub and there were three excellent real ales to sample after dinner. All in all a wonderful visit and somewhere we will definitely return to

Room Tip: If you are tall go for one of the king bedded rooms - the one with the private terrace is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    11
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
20
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This lovely pub/restaurant/b&b was a lucky find. It has been going through some changes and is now known as the Farmers Arms. The room (Polden 4) was just wonderful, absolutely huge but comfortable and homely. What a bath! We enjoyed the breakfasts and thought the menu was interesting,portions large and a reasonable price too. The hosts where just lovely, in fact all the staff went that extra distance for us. Funnily enough the best bit was totally free, it was the view, sitting with a cup of tea overlooking the valley, hills and sea, very relaxing.
I recommend taking instructions for the direction as its easy to get lost!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Regrettably I only stayed one night would have loved it to be 2! The room was clean,furnished beautifully, the bed was sooo...... comfortable with quality linen and the bathroom was complete with rain forest shower head. The website does not do justice to this lovely hostelry just outside of Taunton. A young but friendly and attentive staff who were a credit to the new owners Nick & Alison to whom I wish every success. Next time I visit will allow more time to sample the very tempting menu and discerning wine list.

Room Tip: The Blackdown Room is highly recommended with access to private decking area and the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We are great supporters of this, our local pub. Unfortunately the place has been mistreated over the past few years. Bad choices of managers and a general lack of concern for the local community sadly meant that the Farmers has been closed for quite some time. However, it re-opened recently and we were anxious to see if the place had any chance of once again bringing the community together again. It's early days but it all looks promising. The new owners are, I understand, well versed in the art of running a successful pub business and our first visit was not disappointing. The place felt welcoming, the beer was excellent and while we had not the opportunity to eat on this occasion the menu looked good and the food we saw coming from the kitchen looked ( and smelled) delicious.
We are booked in for our wedding anniversary in July so, fingers crossed.
Watch this space.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Farmers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farmers Arms

Address: Higher West Hatch, Taunton TA3 5RS, England (Formerly The Farmers Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16th century Inn set in glorious Somerset countryside. 5 en-suite bedrooms, all unique, have just been awarded Alistair Sawday's Pub & Inn of the Year 2009. Restaurant, serving traditional British food, with real log fires and polished wooden floorboards. Perfect for that getaway from it all break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your The Farmers Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Farmers Hotel Taunton
The Farmers Arms Taunton, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Farmers Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.