We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Falls Health Farm

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cedar Falls Health Farm to your Saves list
Cedar Falls Health Farm
3.0 of 5 Spa   |   Bishops Lydeard, Taunton TA4 3HR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Taunton
Devizes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Refreshing break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

My fourth visit to Cedar Falls and hopefully not my last! This is a country house set in lovely grounds adding to its tranquility. The spa treatments are really good and all staff are courteous and friendly but unobtrusive, making you feel relaxed. The food is excellent enjoyed all my meals on this three day break wish I could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Would choose a first floor next time as the stairs up to the attic rooms are a bit steep
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    85
    58
    34
    14
See reviews for
41
63
41
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I have been to Cedar Falls a few times and have loved the experience. This visit was very different. I took my Mum who has not visited before to get the feel of whether she would like to stay next year before my daughters wedding. The rooms and fabric need a redecorate lots of areas need painting. We saw mould in areas of the changing rooms dirt and bits on the carpets. The lunch used to be a fantastic choice of exciting and colourful dishes. Today was chicken and rice or cauliflower cheese. The salad bar was very plain. The beds in the conservatory are most uncomfortable and we saw everyone on them pulling up the cushions. Annoying not relaxing.
The price however remains the same. I would love to come next year with Mum and my daughter for a few days before the wedding but Cedar Falls will have to get the WOW factor back again first.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axminster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

The grounds and house are really beautiful but I was a little disappointed with the spa (we came for a half day.) We had a lovely day but noticed a few things that together build up to create the impression that the spa is looking a little shabby and grubby in places. This is quite an expensive spa so I had expected perfection. Things I noticed: the cubicle curtains in the ladies changing rooms do not completely cover the doorway - gaps either side. Plus they are really old fashioned and generally a bit 'manky'. Mouldy wallpaper above changing rooms... Brown gunk oozing out of vent above steam room, thick dust on lights in the solarium conservatory, rusty bits here and there - all relatively small things but together did make me feel it could do with a good scrub and a little updating. Staff were very attentive and welcoming. In short - still had a lovely relaxing day but could be better for the money.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here for an overnight and a few treatments to boot. We had a lovely stay, it was exactly what we needed. The room was clean and compact. The food varied and plentiful and the treatments professional and enjoyable. The best tip is to just spend all day relaxing by the pool doing absolutely nothing except reading a good book and taking a dip every now & then. Can't beat this for a treat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria J, Assistant Manager at Cedar Falls Health Farm, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear macSomerset,

Thank you for your recent review.

I have passed on your comments to the whole team who will enjoy reading your lovely comments.

I agree with you, sitting by the pool and reading a book is a real treat!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Cedar Falls Health Farm soon.

Kind regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Me and my mum went here for a day at the spa. Overall the experience was enjoyable. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The food was okay but not to everyone's taste. I know it's a health farm but I still need cake!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria J, Assistant Manager at Cedar Falls Health Farm, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Miss C,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that you and your Mum had an enjoyable day at Cedar Falls Health Farm & Spa.

Cake is available from the Bar, the full menu is available but it is not dislayed due to the recent hot weather.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Cedar Falls in the future.

Kind regards

Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I have visited cedar falls on many occasions, but this has to be the worst of all. I spent a little extra on an upgrade the room was beautiful with a lovely feel to it but the bathroom/shower was filthy dirty!!!! was not happy!!!
Also was not happy as the reception/entrance was being redecorated and was not may aware of this upon booking!!!
Treatments were poor from the beauty department but the natural therapies was outstanding!!! The grounds are still as beautiful and the outdoor pool was lovely too. Some of the staff was so helpful other's were not such a shame young girls gossiping about other members of staff whilst eating your evening meal!!! also please do not rush people through on mealtimes its suppose to be relaxing not a race a break between courses would be good and starters and desserts were very boring as the same each evening
On the whole I would rethink ever staying here again and look for somewhere else just such a shame it appears to have gone down hill

Room Tip: do not go for the cheapest but definitely do not upgrade as definitely not worth it try travel zoo f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The staff were very helpful and warm. The food was extremely good and the treatments also of a high standard. We were upgraded to a superior room - the classic room we originally booked was small and noisy - thought it might be an aircondtioner noise.

The sauna/spa/pool areas were well maintained and there is a daily timetable of activiies. The grounds are quite beautiful and spacious and there are regular evening talks for guests.

Overall we felt very relaxed and pampered.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedar Falls Health Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Falls Health Farm

Address: Bishops Lydeard, Taunton TA4 3HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Falls Health Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar Falls is a welcoming retreat set in over 40 acres of grounds, amidst beautiful Somerset countryside. Guests enjoy all inclusive stays as well as full use of indoor and outdoor swimming pools, 9 hole golf course and restful stays, where the outside world will seem a million miles away. A rich palette of spa treatments is available including traditional beauty and body treatments as well as wonderful natural therapies. A packed schedule of exercise and relaxation classes is available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Cedar Falls Health Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Falls Health Farm Hotel Taunton
Cedar Falls Relaxation Centre Taunton
Cedar Falls Health Farm Taunton, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Falls Health Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.