We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Octon Lodge

Octon Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Octon Lodge to your Saves list
Octon Lodge
Shoreditch Road, Taunton TA3 7BL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 55 Taunton B&B and Inns
gloucester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Charming retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Just returned from a two night stay here,21st/22nd Feb.Were due down the previous weekend but due to the atrocious weather asked the owners if we could postpone our booking for a week and they kindly agreed,which was good of them.The accommodation we stayed in was in one of three converted stables,and is a nice change from actually being in a room in a house,and is really cosy,warm,full of character,with a proper four poster bed,tea and coffee,T.V.,radio/alarm and hair drier.Nice modern bathroom,bath,shower,lovely soft bed and pillows,altogether very charming and comfortable.A lovely full english in the morning if you want,also good choice of cereals,jams etc.There is work in progress on another couple of units,and I guess because we stayed following several weeks of storms,the large gardens are obviously looking a bit weather beaten,but we have decided to stay again in the summer,when I am sure the other units will be complete and the gardens will be lovely. Thoroughly relaxing and charming,and only a mile or so from the centre of Taunton.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    16
    10
    7
    8
See reviews for
9
28
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

A surprise birthday present for my partner, our stay in the Jacobean suite was perfect.
Romantic, cosy and private. Just as I'd hoped.
The owners were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was lovely, including cooked breakfast as well as plenty of juices and cereals.
Recommend for a peaceful and relaxing getaway.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Octonlodge for 2 nights in November and was upgraded to a better room just because it was available. The rooms were beautiful and the owners extremely polite and helpful. Home cooked breakfast in the morning was great. Set in the lovely Somerset countryside. A little bit far out of town but a pleasant walk. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I have just stayed at Octon lodge and had to tell everyone what a wonderful place it is.
I had one of the best nights sleep in a long time , the bed was so comfortable. the rooms were warm and cosy, furnished to a very high standard. I didnt want to leave!
The gardens are beautiful , and all the rooms have lovely views.
Only a mile from Taunton centre.
Owners were really friendly and helpfull .
Breakfast was delicious, a english breakfast with field mushrooms , grilled tomatoes, free range eggs and local bacon and sausage, Yummy!!!! aswell as lots of different cereals, yogurts, toast ..
EXCELLENT VALUE. I WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE

Room Tip: they all look lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Chose hotel for location near racecourse and advertised as superior type accommodation. Booked the room with the "sleigh Bed" charged £115 for 2 for B&B, but was put in annex overlooking garden. Rustic would be too kind a description. Rotten front door and window frames, no leather sofa as advertised on website. No hooks to hang clothes in downstairs bathroom, nowhere to put toiletries as no shelves or cupboards in bathroom. Nice bathroom suite, tiled floor no underfloor heating: Steep stair to bedrooms.
No dressing table in bedrooms, had to move bed to get to power socket and kneel on floor to use hair dryer with small mirror. Towels worn out, again no hooks on doors. Chipped paint and dents in plaster, poor decor, paint peeling, and for some reason looked like only undercoat had been used. Musty smell. Tatty old ironing board with holes in it.
Nice garden, but piles of old rubble and plasterboard spoilt some views. Racecourse only a few minutes away, but be aware that that if you walk at night it is dangerous as dark narrow road has no pavements but plenty of fast traffic.
Breakfast good enough, dining room better decorated, young lad who served us was pleasant and chatty. Owners didn't greet us and we never met them.
Take torch as garden lights not switched on and very dark with lots of steps and uneven gravel path. Very surprised that fish pond is unguarded, so beware if you have small child. Accident/Liability claim waiting to happen. Would have been better value and safer to stay at a Premier Inn and taken a taxi to the racecourse and back.

Room Tip: Courtyard room was also basic and could do with refurbishment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Positives:-
The rooms are wonderful.
The four poster bed is spacious and comfortable.
The breakfast - truly wonderful.
The welcome warm - from the owner..
His wife - charming.
Negatives.
The owner becomes incandescent with rage should you suggest your room smells of damp - which in our case it did. He needs anger management. Whatever the cause of the smell of damp - it needs to be rectified! It is a huge shame that I only give this establishment a score of 3 - it would have been much more but for damp smell and the hostility.

Room Tip: Try not to get the room to the front as it seems to be the one that has the damp smell problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Delightful b&b 5mins from town centre. Charming couple who couldn't be more helpful. Cute spaniel bustles about the garden too.
Originally booked 2 roomed apartment for myself and my Mother but after 1st night asked to move as steep stairs really not suitable for elderly lady. (They are planning alterations)
Nice bright breakfast room looking over garden with whatever you liked to eat. Would definitely recommend to anyone staying in the Taunton vicinity. Good luck with the developments.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Octon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Octon Lodge

Address: Shoreditch Road, Taunton TA3 7BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Octon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Octon Lodge Taunton, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Octon Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.