We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Impressions !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Taunton - Ruishton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Premier Inn Taunton - Ruishton to your Saves list
Premier Inn Taunton - Ruishton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ruishton Lane | Ruishton, Taunton TA3 5LU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rooms from £59
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Taunton
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First Impressions !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights as off to a wedding, perfectly clean & adequate room,comfy bed & excellent shower. Hotel staff very friendly & helpful. Avoided breakfast on 1st morning as read previous reviews, but on recommendation of friends & to meet up tried it the 2nd morning ! The lady in charge was very welcoming & cheerful. The breakfast was entirely self service, which was fine & there was plenty of everything, although I only went for the continental option. The only problem was that clearing of tables was non existent and therefore a bit of a problem at a busy breakfast time, not too sure what the two young female employees were doing as we were all helping ourselves !! Would be happy to stay there again and even venture to the breakfast room again !!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    111
    68
    27
    15
See reviews for
90
100
22
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We spent 3 nights there last week staff were friendly, room was clean but noisy because of the M5
So we could not have the window open because it was very hot.
i had booked 3 breakfasts but cancelled them on arrival because of the problems highlighted on Trip Advisor. I was glad we did because talking to other guests they said it was terrible.
Premier Inn must do something about this like take over the Pub and convert it to thereown high standards
Mick C

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

For a change and to try avoid queuing traffic , on our annual pilgrimage to Cornwall,we travelled on a friday evening and broke our jounrney to stay over night here.I had booked well in advance and reserved a family room for £39 ...a bargain when we found our room (6) to be spacious , clean and comfortable for 2 adults and 2 children (10 yrs old). After a good nights sleep we rose early, grabbed a McD's from close by and continued our journey delighted to be on the beach by 10 am on the first day on a brilliant holiday

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pett, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We sent the following complaint:

Mr Ian Todd
General Manager
The Blackbrook Tavern
Ruishton

Dear Mr Todd

In the course of my business I often need to stay away and normally elect Premier Inn. This is not only because the high standard of rooms, but generally we can be assured of a decent breakfast.

On this occasion, staying at the Premier Inn at Ruishton on the 7/8th I can only describe the quality of the breakfast provided by your establishment as not just unsatisfactory but abysmal.

The coffee served was virtually tasteless and proved, on enquiry, to be instant. The waitress tried to improve on this by offering an extra spoonful in my cup.

There just can be no excuse for this. At nearly nine pounds for a breakfast the least one can expect is freshly ground, high quality coffee. (Compare yours with that served at the O’Bridge)

The sausage provided in the cooked breakfast was clearly the cheapest of catering types and I doubt whether the meat content barely rated the label ‘not suitable for vegetarians’.

The bacon was also of the poorest quality, high fat and not cooked properly.

There is an attitude in much of the catering industry in the U.K., sadly reflected in your establishment, which can be summarized as:

“What is the lowest quality of offering we can present to our customers in order to maximize our profits and get away with it”.

Clearly, we will never stay at the Premier Inn at Ruishton again.


Yours sincerely

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room, as there is too much noise from the floor above. If you have to stay here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Pemier Inn Ruishton the accomodation was ok but the adjoining pub is awful it was so bad it became a joke evening meal was poor they had run out of most things bar service was so slow and staff didn't have a clue. To top it off the Premier Inn was full and when we went for breakfast there was one person serving, fetching dishes, clearing tables, operating the till, fetching food, fetching drinks etc etc etc, all we could hear was "sorry" "so sorry" it was so bad it made faulty towers look good. KEEP WELL AWAY

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Steven Hicks, Social Media at Premier Inn Taunton - Ruishton, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our team ensured you were comfortable and well looked after. I can only apologise for the disappointment caused with the service you received in the restaurant. This has become a recurring problem, and we will be investigating this issue with the management team at the hotel and the company responsible for the restaurant, in an effort to raise standards.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Staff at the hotel were excellent, with rooms being more than adequate and clean and tidy.
Paid for the breakfast on arrival - wish we hadn't. On arrival at the adjoining inn, found a small table for the four of us as the rest of the empty tables were covered in used plates etc
No bowls to start with for cereals, no small plates for toast etc, no cups for tea - then no water.
Orange/apple juice limited, with most of the jugs empty.
Dirty cutlery, plates etc
Felt sorry for the only lady dealing with the whole of the dining area - she simply could not cope on her own.
Don't use the gents toilets in the pub they are disgusting!
The hot food was in fits and starts, with many items not being available for some considerable time. Premier Inns cannot be happy being associated with this Inn. On complaining to reception we were refunded our meals, having eceived numerous complaints from the residents.
Premeir Inn good but not the adjoining pub.
Steve H

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Steven Hicks, Social Media at Premier Inn Taunton - Ruishton, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

We are very pleased that our team at the hotel ensured that you were well looked after. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our breakfast service did not meet your expectations, but we do hope that the refund you received reaffirmed to you our commitment to ensuring our guests enjoy their stay.

Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

July 2012 stayed 1 night and that was more than enough, the matteress had obviously been on its last legs for some time and was incredibly uncomfortable, so after a restless night, we were woken at 6am by seemingly endless deliveries into the hotel going past our window.The staff were sympathetic but the hotel was full, so no chance to change rooms.
The cost for 1 night was nearly £90 for a double room and 2 cardboard breakfasts, sorry 2 breakfasts in cardboard boxes. Yes, I should have booked earlier (or found somewhere else)
On a good note, we had an excellent meal in the pub next door, but they are nothing to do with the hotel.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Steven Hicks, Social Media at Premier Inn Taunton - Ruishton, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for your review.

It really matters to us that our guests have a comfortable nights sleep, and we apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured that we take all feedback very seriously and on receipt of your details, the issues raised will be fully investigated and duly followed up by Customer Services and the Management Team at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Taunton - Ruishton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Taunton - Ruishton

Address: Ruishton Lane | Ruishton, Taunton TA3 5LU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Taunton - Ruishton 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Taunton - Ruishton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Taunton (Ruishton) Hotel Taunton
Premier Inn Taunton - Ruishton Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Taunton - Ruishton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.