We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“new inn at halse” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Inn

New Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added New Inn to your Saves list
New Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Coxland's Rock, Halse, Taunton TA4 3AF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Taunton
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    16
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
15
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hatfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This is definitely a destination pub that people who enjoy great hospitality should visit, the food is excellent with a good selection. The landlord Alan is very helpful and cooks up a mean breakfast.
The locals are really friendly, you have to drive down a country lane to find the pub, but well worth it.

Room Tip: Room 2 was good, I had a good nights sleep compared to the 4 * Sandbanks Hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed here for a night. It is a very tired place in need of a make over. Very basic room that could have been better. Bathroom/ shower was ok though. I think the pictures etc are not very recent either.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Would have been an excellent if it weren't for the soft mattress and the low bed in room 5. I did move to the single bed in the room during the night, which was better. This pub has a nice upmarket feel to it and the service and food were excellent. The room was pleasant, nicely decorated and airy. The staff were lovely and very helpful. No complaints really, only the bed

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed here a few times and just looking to come again soon. Perfect for our girls get away, especially being able to fit 4 of us in a room. We keep coming back mainly due to the breakfast :) also enjoyed a dinner there too. Good pub grub and atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We have been here a few times and used it both as a pub for a drink and as a restaurant for meals. The car park at the back can get full quickly on a Saturday evening but parking is possible on the street at the front

The atmosphere is cosy and welcoming, the beer and cider selection is good. There is a pleasant dining area as well as tables in the bar area and snug. There is also comfortable seating in front of the open fire.

The menu was excellent and good value the last time we were there. We were also able to mix and match items from the menu.

Currently it isn't open at lunchtimes

We will be going back again in the near future

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed at the New Inn Halse whilst visiting family just before Chtistmas. We chose it from the reviews on Trip Advisor and found it really nice. The welcome was great, even though we were too early and the place was still locked up. A very kind and nice gentleman local helped us raise the owners to get us in and settled. The room was very adequate with a lovely comfy bed and a really good powerful shower. the bar although a bit quiet for a saturday, was visited by local folk and the atmosphere was very friendly and relaxed. We ate in the restaurant and were spoilt for choice with local game, excellent steaks, fish etc. Portion sizes got the better of us and we could not manage a sweet. Breakfast was anything you wanted and nothing was too much trouble. The owner was attentive but not too over the top and all the staff seemed to be working in unisome to make all the clientel feel welcome and at ease. Don't expect suffistication and luxury, but as a good country pub B&B that is working hard to keep Britains pubs on the map, then this friendly local is getting it right.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Inn

Address: Coxland's Rock, Halse, Taunton TA4 3AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — New Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditonal country inn, nestling between the Quantock hills and Exmoor national park. The New Inn is an 18th-century former coaching inn offering the complete village pub experience. We have five en-suite bedrooms-double and family. All equipped with TV, tea and coffee facilities and extremely comfortable beds. A restaurant serving a full a La carte menu as well as a more traditional pub menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Inn Taunton, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.