We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yallands Farmhouse

Save Saved
You added Yallands Farmhouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Yallands Farmhouse
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Speke Close | Staplegrove, Taunton TA2 6PZ , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 52 Taunton B&B and Inns
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

We have just had the pleasure of staying at the delightful Yallands Farmhouse on our way down to Cornwall. Chris and Karen are wonderful hosts, and I would highly recommend booking for the evening meal which is all freshly home cooked and delicious. I'm Coeliac and vegetarian and they were more than happy to cater for my dietary requirements, nothing was too much trouble. We found the evening meal to be a welcome addition after a long drive. We had the Orchard room with king size bed and walk in shower....it was immaculately clean with an extremely comfortable bed and you could smell the freshness of the bed linen and towels.
Thank you Karen and Chris for a lovely stay at Yallands, a haven of peace and tranquility. We shall definitely be returning now we've found you.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
39
15
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

stopped for the recent cricket match against Lancashire, ideal location, nice stroll into town in the morning after a good breakfast. Evening meals are very good with wine at a very reasonable price for a restaurant. Rooms are large and very comfortable. Hosts Chris & Karen are very welcoming, hospitable and very helpful. Will definitely stop again and have no hesitation in recommending Yallands. Excellent stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoule sur Mer, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We have just stayed at Yallands for three most comfortable nights. Chris & Karen, the hosts are so welcoming, The rooms are comfortable and cosy and you have everything you could ever need in your room, even a hot water bottle for cold nights. Food was lovely, I am gluten free and was amazed that Karen had gluten free bread and sausages, what a treat to find somewhere that understands a special diet. Will shall definitely stay there on all future visits to Taunton.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

we stayed here 02/04/2012, lovely and quiet, nice breakfast, rooms nice and clean and well thought out, hosts were very welcoming, beds very soft, location was easy to find, and near the railway.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Nice room, good nights sleep had in a good quality bed. Friendly helpfull host. No bad points.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012 via mobile

This is a very good b and b. it is in the middle of a boring housing estate but then u arrive at a surprisingly rural garden and lovely old house. The owners are very welcoming, free wifi, quiet and very comfortable room and lovely breakfast. They do evening meals if pre booked.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Yallands Farmhouse with Karen & Chris and by the time we left we felt we had been visiting "old friends". We were made to feel very welcome and "at home". Karen & Chris are wonderful and thoughtful hosts and nothing was too much trouble. The location of the farmhouse itself is quiet and peaceful, and the room was comfortable and relaxing. The dining room is homely, the food suburb and the sociable atmosphere ensured mealtimes were an enjoyable part of our stay. Very convenient location for shopping, sightseeing, steam railway and coast, and an ideal base to return to at the end of the day. The free Wi-Fi was a brilliant extra. We plan to return and happy to recommend. Thank you Karen & Chris for making our stay so enjoyable - Trish & Alan

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yallands Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yallands Farmhouse

Address: Speke Close | Staplegrove, Taunton TA2 6PZ , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Yallands Farmhouse 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owners Chris & Karen Ward look forward to welcoming you to Yallands Farmhouse - our delightful Grade II Listed building dating back over 400 years, which sat amidst acres of green fields for several centuries. The expansion of Taunton during the 1970's led to new housing being built on the former farmland. The farmhouse, with its secluded garden, small orchard, and stone barn was left intact. As a result, Yallands has become an unexpected 'oasis' of peace and tranquility within a modern corner of Somerset's county town. Yallands offers self-assessed 4 star accommodation in Taunton, Somerset. The house is situated 1 1/2 miles from Taunton town centre, on the north-western edge of the town, and is easily reached from the M5 motorway - junction 25 (4 miles), and junction 26 (6 miles). For those who are reliant on public transport a local bus, with a stop at the foot of the garden, provides a frequent daytime service to and from the town centre. The lovely town centre provides excellent shopping and county cricket, horse racing, golf, theatre and other leisure facilities are all available nearby. Taunton has a good selection of restaurants and wine bars to suit most tastes and the surrounding countryside offers many delightful pubs which serve excellent food. There is ample car parking space in the private grounds together with lockable cycle storage in the stables. Why not enjoy relaxing in our gardens in the summer or sitting in front of our open fire in those cold winter months? Yallands is open all year round and - whether you are a tourist or a business visitor - you can be assured of a warm welcome and our individual attention.Yallands is particularly convenient for Taunton School, The Somerset Heritage Centre & Nuffield Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Yallands Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yallands Farmhouse Taunton, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yallands Farmhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.