We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant BB close to town centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brookfield House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Brookfield House to your Saves list
Brookfield House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Wellington Road, Taunton TA1 4EQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
BOOK DIRECT FOR BEST RATE
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Taunton
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant BB close to town centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

First time visit to Taunton a largish fairly nondescript town with a mish mash of styles from medieval to brutal 60,s architecture whose centre still seems to be dominated by whizzing traffic!
Anyway,after that disappointment onto Brookfield House which proved to be a quiet haven close to the action! We were welcomed by friendly chap at reception and given a key to let us come and go as we pleased and then shown to our very nice spacious room on the first floor which overlooked the pleasant rear garden area. Everything was as it should be ie spotlessly clean,comfortable bed, ensuite with all the fluffy towels etc. We did not have dinner at Brookfield House-more on that in another review! but we did have breakfast and this is where in my opinion they lose the otherwise fully justified 5 star rating. I found the "full English" to be slightly fomulaic. It,s hard to be specific about this but although perfectly edible it had the look of something that was about to photographed and stuck behind the counter at a fast food restaurant!

Room Tip: room at back peaceful but front of hotel is just off very busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    37
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
28
59
19
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Spotlessly clean and nicely decorated, nce fluffy towels and quality bedding. Comfortable bed and good breakfast, what more do you want for B&B?
Only stayed one night for a friends wedding but well pleased.

Room Tip: Maybe one at the back away from road if you want to be picky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here for 8 nights in total whilst on business. This was recommended to me by colleagues, on arrival it was apparent a great deal of care had been taken in the preparation of the guest house. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the service very good. It is a short walk to the High Street so not a bad location.
I did not eat in the evening here but the breakfast was excellent and freshly prepared. The bathrooms are a little small but very clean and functional.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

If you want lovely décor & spotlessly clean accommodation then you will not beat this. The attention to detail is excellent. We didn't get the room we had specifically booked on the phone as they had let it to someone else which was annoying but the room we had was very nice. We personally did not enjoy the food. We both love full English but cooked traditionally. Both days I asked for crispy bacon & got just about cooked, eggs also not cooked on the top, mushrooms were terrible as if boiled & fried bread not fresh, so hard & crispy nearly lost it across the room when trying to cut it. We also had the evening meal the first night as we were late arriving. The home-made pie was really nice but let down by frozen vegetables & roast potatoes. For the price we expected at least fresh & properly roasted. Dessert, however, was lovely. Overall thought it overpriced, mainly due to the food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, West Midlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We only stayed one night at Brookfield House as we were on our way to Cornwall, but we wished we could have stayed longer. The house is spotlessly clean and well decorated, and the breakfast is everything you would expect and more. It is just a short walk into the lovely town of Taunton. This is a very friendly and welcoming place and we have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: We had a large room on the front of the house but did not hear any noise from the busy main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Warm welcome, extremely clean room, excellent breakfast. The bathroom was small but well designed and the road noise not intrusive. Not too far from the town centre: definitely within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Having read the reviews on 'tripadvisor', my wife and I stayed for a one night escape at Brookfield House and it didn't disappoint. We received a warm welcome from the owner, and were shown to our spotlessly clean and comfortable room. Breakfast in the morning was excellent and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending a stay here to others.

Room Tip: We had room 7 which was at the rear of the house overlooking the gardens. No problem connecting to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brookfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookfield House

Address: 16 Wellington Road, Taunton TA1 4EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#1 Business Hotel in Taunton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
#3 Family Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brookfield House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brookfield House is situated in the centre of Taunton, this charming house is beautifully set within a grade II listed Georgian property. It offers free parking and free Wi-Fi.All of the bright, traditionally furnished rooms at Brookfield feature private en suite bathrooms with Mira showers. The rooms are complimented with having flatscreen Freeview TV's.Hair dryer & Tea/Coffee facilities. Guests can also enjoy full English breakfasts or evening meals made with fresh, local produce in the elegant dining room.Centrally placed to explore the surrounding area, Musgrove Park Hospital, the County Court, SCAT & Cricket Ground are all found nearby. Furthermore, Brookfield House is within easy walking distance of both the bus and coach station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Brookfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookfield Hotel Taunton
Brookfield House Taunton, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brookfield House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.