We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty, fresh food. Different menu. Recommended.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Mango

The Blue Mango
Westgate Street, Taunton, England
01823 32 77 77
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 193 Restaurants in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $28 - $38
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Telford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Tasty, fresh food. Different menu. Recommended.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I don't normally do many Indian restaurant reviews are we go for a lot and they are a much of a muchness. But this place breaks the mould from the usual curry house. Clean, contemporary and watchful, helpful and unobtrusive staff.
Varied and interesting menu with different and intriguing descriptions of the spices and tastes of the dishes on offer.
Food arrives and the chicken is fresh and moist and cooked within the spices of the chosen dish instead of the usual pre cooked chicken that is dipped in an standard sauce - our dishes seemed freshly prepared.
Fresh, fantastic flavours. Well presented. Recommended for that 'upmarket/special Indian meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    56
    16
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Egham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Serendipity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

This was the first restaurant we went to based on TripAdvisor reviews on my then recently downloaded Android app. We wereplpleasantly surprised by the quality of food, the decor and the presentation of the dishes. It really made our day on our trip to Somerset.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We ordered a takeaway from here, online service very easy to use and you can track your food.
Food very tasty and worth every penny!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

we have been to blue mango twice, and i must say it was lovely food. Better than any other restaurant we have tried in taunton. Good service,friendly staff, clean, good value for money and very tasty food!! we will back very soon :-)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One of the best Indians' in Somerset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I visited this restaurant in quite a rushed meal. I was extremely impressed with how they had designed the interior of this restaurant, giving this place a modern feel on Indian cuisine. After we ordered, we were given a portion of poppadoms accompanied by a set of different dips. I ordered a curried tiger prawns dish. It was a mild spicy dish and was very nice. The waiters were also friendly and ready to help. For dessert, I ordered an indian dessert with Vanilla ice cream. It was an interesting sweet dessert and made it overall a very enjoyable late-night dinner!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Mango also viewed

 

Been to The Blue Mango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Mango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.