We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Farmers Arms

The Farmers Arms
West Hatch | West Hatch, Taunton TA3 5RS , England
0871 951 1000
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 210 Restaurants in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My first visit, although the people I was with had been many years ago, it has recently changed hands and all to the good. Welcoming staff, good service, lovely food with an impressive menu. Go before it gets too busy. Would definitely revisit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    22
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murrieta, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The food was one of our best meals in our whole UK trip. Friendly staff and lovely location deep in the hedgerows of Somerset.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good looking food but COLD”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Food choice good, presentation nice but was cold and when your one of the first tables of an evening and paying upwards of £20 for a steak you do not expect it to be cold.
Staff asked twice (at end of meal - never during !!) if all ok - told cold on both occasions but seemed uninterested, we would have had a pudding but lack of care meant we did not bother.

Hope the toilets are not an example of the Bedrooms as they were very dirty, broken seat and all in all very 1 star which is a shame as the pub itself is very nice and in a lovely location.

Would we come back or recommend? . Probably not in a hurry.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monifieth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“God food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Visited on Monday evening to find it was "pie night"
We tried the fish pie and the pork meat pie, both were excellent.
Followed this with sweets, really good.
The service was excellent, attentive but unobtrusive, well done.
Would definitely visit again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Perfect evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

We discovered the Farmers and enjoyed a relaxed dinner sat in the garden, on a warm summer evening.

Food was lovely, try the steak with the pepper sauce, an service was warm and friendly.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Farmers Arms also viewed

Taunton, Somerset
 

Been to The Farmers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Farmers Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.