We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proper lush” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Farmers Arms

The Farmers Arms
West Hatch | West Hatch, Taunton TA3 5RS , England
0871 951 1000
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 201 Restaurants in Taunton
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Proper lush”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We went here after reading trip advisor on Mother's Day. But it is the best pub ever. good food, reasonably priced and brilliant staff and fantastic views over the county. We have already decided that we would go back again. I cannot put into words how good this place is.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    16
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Excellent beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I haven't eaten here. but had visited for beer on several occasions. There isn't a lot of seating given over to drinkers as it's mainly an eating pub, but there are a couple of nice leather sofas by the fire which are rather good. The beer (Otter especially), is in very good condition.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Service and Good Value - What more can you ask?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Have had a lovely evening here. All the staff were warm. friendly and knowledgeable about the menu and wine list. Place was packed on a Mid week night but easy enough to chat without a problem. Menu was small compared to some places but please don't think this means a lack of choice, in fact we had a problem actually deciding!
Service was prompt without being pushy and questions regarding the menu were answered with the knowledge that only a well trained staff can have and always with a smile.
Ordered red wine arrived, perfect temperature.
As I said the place was full with a large party in another section, but this did not appear to affect the food service. We would recommend, if on the menu, starter - Mushrooms in Stilton and Port. The main - Game Casserole and the Cider slow roasted Belly of Pork - Yum!. Selection of puds was small but my husband ordered the steamed apple pudding which he demolished
After a couple of forgettable meals in locals pubs recently, with poor service, this was a breath of fresh air and we will definitely be visiting again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food at a good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

A party of seven visited on Monday lunchtime. Having visited a couple of years ago we hoped it would be as good as our last visit and we weren't disappointed! We all had starter and main course, the leak and potato soup was a hit with everyone who had it as were the other starters. The main course was also very enjoyable. The triple cooked chips were amazing. The portion sizes are very generous and none of our party had room for pudding! The bill came to less than £20 a head including drinks. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Will definitely be back when were next in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oaksey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch excellent and good value too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Called in on the way back from Dorset as a convenient lunch stop before getting on motorway.

Excellent quality lunch (I had beef, my partner had pork), plus really good dessert

Pleasant, dog friendly pub. What's not to like?

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Farmers Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Farmers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Farmers Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.