We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Podshavers Barn

Podshavers Barn
Pound Lane | Bishops Lydeard, Taunton TA4 3DW, England
01823 433556
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 201 Restaurants in Taunton
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Taunton
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Excellent find after living in Taunton for 7 years.

Worth the distance out of taunton for this real treat. Lovely rural setting in a converted barn on a farm.

Staff were attentive and very welcoming from our first step into the restaurant but never intrusive. Food was divine - I had the steak which was cooked to perfection and the chocolate desert was delicious.

Lovely ambience - and a great experience. Will be recommending and going back again soon

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    14
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“First class cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Although we went on a quiet night, the service unfortunately, was extremely slow, but the food when it came was truly excellent. Podshavers is a converted barn in the country and well worth a visit. I would recommend their duck breast in plum sauce! Their deserts are also very tempting!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lovely barn conversion restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Since I started dating my boyfriend I have heard on many an occasion Podshavers mentioned by parents and other family members but had yet to visit myself. Last Sunday we visited for lunch as part of a group for a family members birthday. Our party included two young children as well as adults. We all ordered roasts with the exception of two who ordered the fish main. Some of us having three, others having two courses. They have a set menu on a Sunday which is very reasonably priced for the quality of food offered. I had the lobster and prawn salad to start which was delicious maybe not as much lobster as I had hoped but still lovely. Followed by the lamb roast very nice, I imagine locally sourced and a big portion of meat included. Then for dessert I had the sherry trifle very nice and just the right amount of cream for my taste on top.


The service in the restaurant was also very good we were a little apprehensive as to what the two children would eat but when we mentioned this to the waitress she immediately said smaller portions were fine no problem whatsoever. I also noticed a family on another table had been offered a highchair for there baby which I thought was very good. I think it's nice to see the younger members of a family group catered for and welcomed without question. One thing I would say is although for Sunday lunch this restaurant is family friendly for well behaved children, however in the evening I would say it would probably be very much for adults.

I do hope to go back at some point not only because the food was very good but also because they do quite a good selection of seafood. Which may seem odd considering the location (a converted barn in a rural location) but after trying the prawn and lobster salad I imagine very good!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just had Sunday lunch at Podshavers Barn. Unusual restaurant and something different from the usual pubs in this area. Although there were only roast dinners, they were delicious. They made a special dish for our vegetarian friend. We all had different deserts and we all agreed they were fabulous. Thoroughly recommend this restaurant. We will be going back to enjoy the weekday menu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Actual food not reveiwable”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I called to book a table for two and then asked the gentleman on the other end of the phone what sort of vegetarian selection they had and received a reply of sorry you've called the wrong place we don't have a vegiterian selection on the menu. What day an age is this place in that they don't even have a single meal on the menu for a vegiterian!!!!!! I've only given a one score rating as the gentleman that answered the phone was polite, it's a shame that we didn't get the chance to eat there and give a proper overall score.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Podshavers Barn also viewed

 

Been to Podshavers Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Podshavers Barn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.