We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Taunton

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Taunton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Travelodge Taunton
Save
You added Travelodge Taunton to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riverside Retail Park | Hankridge Farm, Taunton TA1 2LR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Taunton
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Never again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The overpowering sickly smell of air freshener in the communal areas made you wonder what they were trying to cover up! The receptionist, though not unfriendly, spoke like a machine, rattled off the information so fast you couldn't take it in. The room also smelled of air fresheners. Walls were scraped and gouged. The carpet obviously hadn't been vacuumed around the edge for ages as it was very dusty and full of dead spiders. The arm of the sofabed was ripped. There was hair left on the vanity area in the bathroom. The extractor fan above the bath was FULL of dust and dirt and fluff. The mattress was aged and lumpy. (Luckily there was a Pizza Hut around the corner so we decided to get a takeaway. The Pizza Hut was also untidy and dirty!) Have stayed in much better Travelodges in the past and usually think of them as clean and reasonable stopovers. Not any more! Avoid this one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Taunton, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear fl0ra25

Thank you for your post.

We are sorry to learn of your disappointment on this occasion.

We would like to fully investigate your concerns. To assist us, please visit our main Travelodge website and use the ‘Contact Us’ form to provide us with full details of your issues and your booking number.

We can then liaise with the Hotel Management team and provide a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    52
    51
    50
    74
See reviews for
76
78
22
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rockingham, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

On a visit from Australia we decided to book into the Travel lodge Taunton. Big mistake. My son was bitten all over his body by bed bugs. It was awful. The room was filthy, the bathroom smelt of stale sick,and the shower curtain was black with mould and a certain yellow crusty film all around the bath plug. I didnt dare go any further into looking. The ceiling in the hallways were falling down and the place was grim. There was no air con and you could not open the window. It was a very warm evening and we just melted. The plastic sheets on the double bed added to the sweating. Maybe that is why the bugs decided to try and eat us alive. I have never stayed in such a disgustingly filthy place such as this. DO NOT STAY HERE IT IS BAD. see the photo of bite marks my was covered in them.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Taunton, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Nicky A,

Thank you for your post. We aim to provide a high level of service at all times, and I am sorry to learn of your disappointment on this occasion.

It is standard procedure for us to fully investigate such complaints with our Hotel Managers and Health and Safety department. Whilst we cannot be certain bed bugs were present in your room, we would need to fully investigate your concerns. To assist us with this, please can you visit our main Travelodge website and use the new ‘Contact Us’ form to provide us with full details of your issues.
We hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Poor service from staff very substandard matress plus noise on the ground floor awoke me a number of times. Go to rivals no soap in bathroom which should come as standard. I would say it is behind rivals by 10years. Not worth the money

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oswestry, england
Top Contributor
335 reviews 335 reviews
138 hotel reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed the night before a festival after a long drive. On an industrial estate with nothing much near, but you coudl get hot (microwaved) food from reception, which was enough for us. Room was a typical travelodge, a bit basic, smallish bed, and quite hot. Open the window and there was lot of car noise from the nearby roads and motorway.

I know its a travelodge selling point, only paying for what you need, but really for less than a penny they could give you a bit of basics cheap shower gel, rather than a tiny brick of white soap which is next to useless. I could bring my own, but you know, for a penny ?

Still, it was cheap enough, but they really are falling behind Premier Inns based on my recent travels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed here overnight on or return from Cornwall. On entering the room we had no towels, very little toilet paper with no spare roll. The lady on reception was very nice though, aplogised and gave us towels. However when asking for additional pillows was told that they had none. Also, the door to our room would not lock from the outside. In the bathroom, the plastic cups appeared to have been used before and were not in plastic wrapping. Overall the place looked very shabby. Because we booked about 3 months prior we only paid £23.00 but another gentleman who was complaining that he had no pillows at all had paid approx £70.00. For obvious reasons we kept quiet about that one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Booked a family room for five nights. This room was not overlooked from outside. There is no lift.
Convenient location just off the M5 with plenty of parking for guests. I was out all day so this was ideal as a base to sleep and wash.
Fresh bedding, plenty of towels, hot water. Tea/coffee making facilities. My room was clean.
Only noise was from traffic outside. Good wall insulation so no noise from neighbouring rooms.
Rooms do need updating but the facilities were ok for what I neeeded.
This is basic accommodation but more than comfortable
Short walk to a large Sainsburys store with a cafe upstairs.
Hankridge pub/restaurant is just next door and is very nice food indeed.
.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Absolutely appalling, worst hotel ever. Rubbish trail in corridor, ripped binbags inrception. Walls scraped & filthy, there was no handle on window & it was wide open & we could not close it. There were large curved tonails on sofa bed; the room smelt revolting. The sofa bed was ripped with three springs sticking out of it. Also, there were several LIVE woodlice crawling around the stinking damp bathroom & filthy shower(mouldy fans) The location is a car drive into Taunton, very poor. Dirty hovel, never, ever stay here!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Taunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Taunton

Address: Riverside Retail Park | Hankridge Farm, Taunton TA1 2LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Taunton 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
added official URL from google search (keg 1/06). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Travelodge Taunton Hotel Taunton
Taunton Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Taunton
Taunton Travelodge
Travelodge Taunton Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Taunton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.