We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location & friendly reception staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Deane Gate Avenue, Taunton TA1 2UA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Taunton
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Convenient location & friendly reception staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel on business, and found the reception staff on arrival and checkout to be most accommodating. Dinner and breakfast was very tasty but I was disappointed to find my room had a musty smell and suspect it had been a smoking room. I have stayed at many Holiday Inn and Holiday Inn express hotels and having stayed in both types at Taunton I feel the HI Express was better value for money.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hi

All our rooms are now strictly non smoking - so I am so sorry for any lingering smell. My housekeeping team have been vigilent over the last couple of weeks to eradicate any traces of previous guests "lighting up."

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much despite this and we do look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest Regards

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    167
    82
    26
    6
See reviews for
106
97
22
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

One of our fav stop off points when traveling to the West Country. This time it was for my wife's birthday. As always great time and welcome from staff. they even left a bottle of wine and a card in our room for my wife's birthday. Really nice thought, we've never seen before. Never had a bad stay at this hotel in all the years we've stayed here

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
That is so kind of you to say.

We work hard to keep our standards consistent and are really pleased that you continue to praise us.

Thank you again

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Just stayed the 1 night (en-route) on Sunday 23rd September but will definitely go back there again. We did not ask for help with our luggage but one of the managers saw us struggling to get in to the lift with all we had and was of great help taking us to our room. The room was a really good size and, for a standard room, probably the largest we have stayed in. Complimentary leisure facilities with a good size pool and well equipped gym. Special mention re. the excellent breakfast and the staff were so helpful and friendly. Great choice for breakfast and cooked well. My wife ordered a mushroom omelette which was a really good size and she said cooked to perfection and she should know as she was a cook before retirement! My wife spoke to the chef who had not long been a chef and complimented him. Cant wait to go back there and as you may have gathered, strongly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you, it's great to hear that enjoyed your stay. Dan is really pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast so much - he is quite new to our brigade but certainly puts everything in to looking after our guests.
Thank you again, and I hope to see you again soon.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I have stayed in the holiday inn in Taunton several times over a period of a couple of years, the latest being Sept '13, every year I go the quality seems to go down.

We booked a double room and ended up with a twin room. When we called reception to ask to get the room we paid for they said they are booked up and we could try another hotel... Not exactly the reply we wanted, but we didn't have time to waste going to another hotel.

The next morning we had the breakfast which we used to love but this time we were greeted by unclean tables and staff giggling in the back of the room.

When we checked out, we were asked by the Lady at reception if everything was OK, we mentioned about the twin beds and the woman was very nice and offered us a free night at another time, not much good because we don't live in England but I passed it on to Family who live in the area and will hopefully use it. She was the most professional of all the staff we saw in the Hotel.

Overall I am concerned that the quality of this Hotel is declining. I will be back in the area in 2015 and will see if there is any improvement.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear BritishFella,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and actions will be taken accordingly to ensure similar incidents could be avoided.

Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed this weekend at the holiday inn in Taunton as friend was having his 40th birthday party at this hotel. Arrived early than check in time on Saturday & were allowed to check in, so thumbs up for that. Sophie on reception desk was smiley & helpful. Rooms were clean & comfortable. The Spa was great but would advise booking a treatment prior to your stay as very busy. The function room that we had the party in was lovely & buffet food was great. Breakfast the next morning was one of the best we have had! So much choice, full english plus omelettes, cereals, pastries, yoghurts, fresh fruit, even pancakes! We met the Chris the manager & he was so polite & helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Even upon checking out there was hot drinks & biscuits to take away with you! Well done to all staff for such a clean well run hotel. Highly recommend if you are ever visiting Taunton.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such lovely comments about the team.

Glad you liked the hot drink "to go" aswell!

Hope to see you again soon.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Found this hotel by location, so impressed, nothing was too much trouble the staff were amazing. Never expected the service we received which was first class, gorgeous food, inviting inside, clean and tidy. So many added extras like tea, coffee and biscuits set up to take out with you each day. The housekeeping staff offered us extra towels and anything else they had to offer. We stayed over a weekend and the service never faltered. We were a party of 9 and had several rooms which were put together for our ease. On the second morning there was a small wait for breakfast but the manager set us upa table pperfectly laid out in minutes. The manager was hands on and never stopped ensuring the guests were well catered for, the staff were all happy and customer service was first place here. If you want a hotel that is central but doesn't treat you like your passing through this is the place. The location is perfect with a pizza hut, McDonald's and harvester a stones throw away.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you so much.

I am delighted to be able to share your comments with the rest of my team - it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much.

Look forward to next time

Kindest Regards

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Good quality Holiday Inn well located close to the motorway made this a good base for touring North Somerset/Devon coast and Exmoor.

Well appointed clean room of a good size. Complimentary mars bars and bottles of water along with plenty of tea / coffee sachets refreshed daily.

Can't comment on the bar or restaurant food as I did not use the facility but there were plenty of customers eating and drinking.

The texture and softness of the bathroom towels all sizes was the best I have encountered in a hotel anywhere, many plaudits to the laundry staff!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review.

Absolutely love the photo's! They are better than some we have had done professionally!!!!

I do hope that we get to look after you with our fluffy towels again soon!

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25

Address: Deane Gate Avenue, Taunton TA1 2UA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Taunton
#7 Business Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Taunton in Somerset is ideally located for both business and leisure guests, conveniently located at J25 off the M5, on the edge of Taunton near the Somerset County Cricket Ground. Taunton, nestling on the banks of the river Tone, is the gateway to Devon and half way house to Cornwall. Bridgwater, Wellington and other parts of Somerset are all within easy reach. Nearby attractions are Dartmoor and Exmoor with 14 areas of natural beauty and over 600 miles of dramatic coastline. The Holiday Inn Taunton has a Spirit club with indoor 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, solarium and fully equipped gym.This Somerset Hotel has 99 air conditioned bedrooms including wheelchair accessible rooms and 24 hour room service. Our large lounge area, which serves a wide selection of food and beverages, is ideal for informal meetings or just relaxing. (Under 12s Stay & Eat Free) With 12 conference rooms that can accommodate from 2 - 280 delegates in purpose built air conditioned rooms with high speed internet access suitable for meetings, training, presentations, banquets, weddings, reunions & parties. We also have external team build areas. Holiday Inn Taunton has ample free parking and is suitable for coaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Taunton m5, Jct. 25 Hotel Taunton
Taunton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.