We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great sports facilities, helpfull staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Deane Gate Avenue, Taunton TA1 2UA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 18 hotels in Taunton
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good hotel, great sports facilities, helpfull staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Have stayed here a few times now including recently a full working week. Great free sports facilites with a well stocked gym, sauna, jacuzzi and pool. Staff were helpfull and bar/cooking staff went above and beyond to keep my meals healthy for me. Staff lent me stuff for my room and did everything they could to ensure a good stay. Breakfast was great, I didnt use it but they even had a pancake machine and again the serving staff at breakfast were always cheerfull and really helpfull. Parking is free and plentifull, room spotlessly clean with great facilities.
Only reason for not awarding a five, is that for a hotel charging a premium rate for a room and facilities and advertising for business, think its wrong that when said business people turn up they then have to pay a high premium fee to use the broadband.

Room Tip: any they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you so much for such a great review!

Good news on the Wi Fi is that this becomes complementary for our Platinum Priority Club Members from August 2013.

In addition all other guests now pay a much reduced tariff as follows:

One Hour: £2.95
Four Hours: £5.95
Twenty Four Hours: £9.95

Hope to see you again soon.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    145
    72
    24
    6
See reviews for
95
79
22
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Very good hotel situated perfectly off the motorway into Taunton. Although it is so close to the motorway there is virtually no noise from the traffic.

The hotel itself is a very good size with good amenities including a gym and swimming pool. The gym's equipment is a little dated but in fine working order.

The staff and service is OK but I definitely got the feeling that they were not enjoying their work, although I understand that everyone has an off day, there was a definite negative feeling from the staff all weekend.

Rooms are a good size and were nice and clean, as you would expect from a Holiday Inn.

Overall I would recommend the Hotel because of its excellent location and awesome breakfast, which to this day remains the best hotel buffet breakfast I have ever had.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Hi

Thanks for your review - great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I am concerned that you thought the team were not happy, but am convinced that your perception would now change following the the eight months since you stayed with us.

We would love the opportunity to show you how.

Bestest wishes, and hope to see you again soon.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel for the last 3 weeks (excluding weekends) as a base for training nearby.

I found the hotel very well situated and all staff without exception to be extremely polite, courteous and professional, with particular note of Harriet, Wioletta Connie and Tamsin....

The food in the restaurant although slow at times to be served was of excellent quality and plentiful, however steaks and mixed grill are served on a block of wood bizarrely so best ask for a plate instead as side and salads end up on the table.

Breakfasts were a triumph and a tremendous choice to suit all tastes.

My only real grumble were the extortionate internet charges, this has been mentioned on here previously but seems strange an organisation of this size needs to charge for this basic service considering the majority of customers are here on business !!....

My mobile reception and internet had poor to no signal in the hotel but excellent stood outside, perhaps a conflict with hotel wi-fi?? not sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you so much for posting a review.

It is absolutely great to hear that as a long stay guest you have really got to know the team so well.

Good news on Wi Fi Charges, as from August Platinum Priority Club Members will have free access. In addition all other guests now pay a much reduced tariff as follows:

One Hour: £2.95
Four Hours: £5.95
Twenty Four Hours: £9.95

I hope that we see you again when next working in the area.

Kindest Regards

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here with 65 other delegates for a 3 day TATHS (Tools & Trades History Society) Annual Conference. The room was fine but the hotel public areas were generally chilly. Our main complaint was the slow service in the restaurant lack of interest from the staff. There were some issues with the conference food, lemon chicken being smothered in spicy tomato sauce and not enough sandwiches etc for the Sunday buffet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear REIDORK,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I’m sorry you received service in our restaurant which was unacceptable. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I’ve stayed here a few time now for the location as its perfect and close to the M5.
It always seems to be the most expensive Holiday Inn I ever stay at, this time the rooms were under £100 which made a change but with a meal and a few drinks it still came to quite a large sum?
The rooms themselves are ok, fairly standard Holiday Inn stuff. Wifi was a bit hit and miss but worked ok in the lounge.
No local beers on which is always a shame but the meal I had in the evening was ok but again quite expensive.
I didn’t use the gym.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Phil S,

Thank you for your recent comments about our Hotel. I am pleased to know that our location was very convenient for your activities. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations especially the room rates. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations as well as competitive rates to the area. Your comments will be passed to the appropriate department. We always welcome opportunity to improve. Hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Attended a wedding here so review will be based on that. I will start with the food which was appalling and not enough to feed all the guests - I accept that this may have been the choices of the of the couple getting married. Bar service was ok if a little expensive but hey this is a hotel - only grumble was my daughter who is 19 was only allowed to purchase one drink despite showing ID. Staff worked very hard on the night to keep everyone happy.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Rubbiesarered,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. Please accept my sincerest apologies that you were inconvenienced by the service received during the wedding that you attended. I thank you for letting us know about these unsatisfactory circumstances as this is our best means of improving guest satisfaction.

Despite your disappointment, I do hope you will give our hotel another try in the future and rest assured you will have our very best attention.

Regards,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Had read the other reviews before we went and thought it couldn't be as good as they all said .... but it was.
The rooms were lovely, clean, comfortable and a good size even with 2 adults and 2 children ( boys aged 11 and 8). The staff were fantastic and really gave first class service from every department.
We arrived early enough to use the pool which is clean, if a little on the cool side, and the changing rooms are fine. A nice added extra to our stay.
The extra touches like milk and cookies in the lobby for the kids at 6pm and plenty of board games and books for them to use just meant we were able to sit and enjoy a quiet drink for an hour or so before heading to our room. The bar food is also very good. Breakfast the next morning was also fantastic. I am Gluten free and they were able to cater for me no problem (with no fuss)
We stayed on Thursday 28th March and even though the hotel seemed fairly full it was a very pleasant stay. They really helped to kick start our Easter weekend away and we will definitely be back any time we are heading down to Devon or Cornwall.

Room Tip: We were towards the rear of the hotel and it was the best nights sleep I have ever had in a hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
We had a great time too looking after all our visitors over the Easter Holidays.

It's great to hear that by helping entertain the children - you had a liitle time to relax and be yourselves for a bit!

Thank you so much for such a great review.

Kindest Regards

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25

Address: Deane Gate Avenue, Taunton TA1 2UA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Taunton
#8 Business Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Taunton in Somerset is ideally located for both business and leisure guests, conveniently located at J25 off the M5, on the edge of Taunton near the Somerset County Cricket Ground. Taunton, nestling on the banks of the river Tone, is the gateway to Devon and half way house to Cornwall. Bridgwater, Wellington and other parts of Somerset are all within easy reach. Nearby attractions are Dartmoor and Exmoor with 14 areas of natural beauty and over 600 miles of dramatic coastline. The Holiday Inn Taunton has a Spirit club with indoor 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, solarium and fully equipped gym.This Somerset Hotel has 99 air conditioned bedrooms including wheelchair accessible rooms and 24 hour room service. Our large lounge area, which serves a wide selection of food and beverages, is ideal for informal meetings or just relaxing. (Under 12s Stay & Eat Free) With 12 conference rooms that can accommodate from 2 - 280 delegates in purpose built air conditioned rooms with high speed internet access suitable for meetings, training, presentations, banquets, weddings, reunions & parties. We also have external team build areas. Holiday Inn Taunton has ample free parking and is suitable for coaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Taunton m5, Jct. 25 Hotel Taunton
Taunton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.