We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Xmas visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Halse Water Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taunton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Halse Water Cottage
Save
You added Halse Water Cottage to your Saves list
Halse, Taunton TA4 3AQ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 53 Taunton B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“An Xmas visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed at Halse Water Cottage for three nights over Xmas and were immediately struck by the warm and friendly welcome we received from Pauline and Barry on our arrival. The house is set in beautiful countryside with a babbling brook at the end of its drive. Our room was very cosy and warm and we really enjoyed the variety of breakfasts each day (the full English on Xmas morning was especially good). Overall, it was a great place to stay over the festive period - a real home away from home.

The complimentary wifi and in room televisions were also unexpected bonuses.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryCottageHalse, Owner at Halse Water Cottage, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We both really appreciate your kindness in giving us a such a generous review. Thank you very much indeed for taking the time and trouble, and we look forward to seeing all 3 of you again sometime in the future

Kind regards

Barry & Pauline Fitzpatrick
Halse Water Cottage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
43
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is our second stay at Halse Water Cottage over Christmas. Pauline and Barry make us so welcome, whatever the weather. They are terrific hosts and their breakfasts are legendary, wonderful and varied. The cottage is cosy and warm, which is essential given that we have only stayed in Halse in the middle of winter. We must return to experience and enjoy it in the depth of summer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryCottageHalse, Owner at Halse Water Cottage, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you both very much for another very welcome review. We very much enjoyed having you to stay over the Holiday, and look forward to welcoming you back at a more clement time of year.

Barry & Pauline Fitzpatrick
Halse water Cottage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed in August for a week. This was our third visit. Pauline and Barry are lovely hosts and made our stay so relaxing we didn't want to leave. Breakfasts are wonderful and packed lunches delicious. Staying all week we were fortunate to sample a different breakfast each morning.Great place to stay-highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryCottageHalse, Owner at Halse Water Cottage, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
It was a great pleasure to welcome your delightful family back to Halse Water. Pauline & I are very pleased indeed that we were able to provide an experience that went down so well with you all. We hope to see you again next summer.

Kind regards

Barry Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Great place to relax and unwind. Clean comfortable. Lovely people. Hot tub is just fantastic! Everything you need. Pub 400 yards away has great food. Totally fab stay. Mobile signal intermittent but they have wifi.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryCottageHalse, Owner at Halse Water Cottage, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you both again sometime.

Barry & Pauline Fitzpatrick
Halse water Cottage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was our third visit to Halse Water and what a great time we had. We like to stay in The Annex and kick off our shoes and relax. The weather was favourable the hosts most attentive and our " little home" was perfect. We took breakfast in the main house where the attention to detail and food was outstanding. Nothing is left to chance. We drove to some local attractions, Tarr Steps, Lynton Lynmouth and The Quantock hills for a bracing walk,it was delightful and this time of year the tree colours are stunning.
We were recommended to dine at a local pub by Pauline and Barry a couple of miles away which served good food and was delightful.
Halse Water is a little gem in a beautiful setting, a lovely place to relax and "charge your batteries".
Thank you Pauline and Barry.

Lynne and Terry Smith. We will recommend and return again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryCottageHalse, Owner at Halse Water Cottage, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you both once again for your very kind comments. We thoroughly enjoyed your visit and it was - as always - a delight to help you enjoy your stay in our beautiful West Country.

Barry & Pauline Fitzpatrick
Halse Water Cottage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Halse Water Cottage in early September 2013 whilst touring the south west discovering my family's roots. Although we booked for one night we ended up staying two. Barry was a great host even going to the trouble of cooking us an evening meal when we arrived late after a delay caused by a motorway accident.The property is beautifully maintained, the room and facilities are very clean and the surrounding landscape is beautiful. Barry looked after us in every way including sumptuous breakfasts with his own eggs and bacon. . His recommendations for day trips and dining options were excellent. Unfortunately we didn't get to meet Pauline as she was away on Grandmother duty.We have no hesitation i recommending this property highly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryCottageHalse, Owner at Halse Water Cottage, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you both so much for such a glowing review. I was really delighted to help you enjoy your stay in Somerset, and to entertain such lovely guests from the other side of the world. Please come again next time.

Barry Fitzpatrick
Halse Water Cottage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at Halsewater Cottage for two nights in August 2013 as part of an extended stay in England. It had always been a dream to stay in a thatched roof cottage and this more than met our expectations. We were greeted with afternoon tea at the water's edge amongst the ducks and duckling. The room was beautiful with high quality linen and pretty accessories. The only downside was that the bathroom, although private, was downstairs. Barry and Pauline were the perfect hosts and came up with delicious alternatives to the full English breakfast. We also appreciated the info regarding nearby suggestions for evening meals (we enjoyed meeting the locals too), and drives further afield to ensure we saw the best parts of the countryside. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryCottageHalse, Owner at Halse Water Cottage, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We really enjoyed having you as guests in our home, and we particularly enjoyed your very kind review. Many thanks for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Barry & Pauline
Halse Water Cottage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Halse Water Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halse Water Cottage

Address: Halse, Taunton TA4 3AQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halse Water Cottage is a B&B with a self catered apartment adjoining a beautiful 12th century cottage in West Somerset. The apartment is a self contained newly refurbished double room with en suite facilities. It has a kitchenette, lounge dinning area.Outside the apartment is a relaxing courtyard with sun loungers, heated gazebo, and hot tub. The main cottage has a stunning garden a 5 acres of countryside attached, with a lovely stream flowing through the bottom of the garden, before you cross over in to the 4 acres of field.The apartment cottage is less than 2 minutes walk from the local country pub. We are close to the West Somerset Railway, and Quantock Hills, and Exmoor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Halse Water Cottage Taunton, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halse Water Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.