We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gardeners delight..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hestercombe Gardens

Hestercombe Gardens
Cheddon Fitzpaine, Taunton TA2 8LG, England
01823 413923
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 42 things to do in Taunton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hestercombe is a unique combination of three centuries of garden design: Coplestone Warre Bampfylde's Georgian landscape garden, the Victorian terrace and shrubbery and the stunning Edwardian garden design by Sir Edwin Lutyens and Gertrude Jekyll. All have undergone acclaimed restoration work and today provide important examples of gardens in contrasting styles that continue to grow and develop. The award-winning visitor facilities include the warm and welcoming Stables Restaurant & Coffee Shop with a bright, airy, stylish Courtyard.Copyright © Hestercombe Gardens
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Gardeners delight..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Really nice and peaceful,well laid out walks within the gardens.

Very nice catering area.

Perhaps,in my opinion,rather expensive compared with other gardenwalks
but well worth a visit

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    94
    33
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Historic Garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We go to Hestercombe quite often to take part in various activities either for children or in the hall where craft fairs sometimes take place, as well as enjoy the changing gardens which are still being restored. Apart from the formal gardens, which have 'rooms' with delightful arbours and arches and water features there is a good walk uphill, with a dramatic waterfall, duckpond, various follies and features and you can sometimes catch a performance of a Shakespeare play in the summer. The café in the stables and in the open is worth a visit as is the well-stocked shop. The only downside is it is quite expensive.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Lovely gardens with historical interest. Beautiful estate to walk in, trees, water, follies. Good food - the largest yorkshire puddings I have ever seen! We took part in a mushroom walk and even in the rain it was enjoyable. Plenty to see and a knowledgeable guide.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hestercombe Gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Hestercombe gardens is a beautiful place to visit, it's real beauty is the design of the gardens, but during the summer is enhanced by the floral displays. A lovely place to visit in the heart of Somerset, but it really only needs a half day visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Terror Tours - what a fabulous family event”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We went to Hestercombe this evening to take part in one of their terror tours. It is not often something like this exceeds my expectations but we all had a fabulous time. There were 3 generations of family members with the younger ones in fancy dress. On arrival the house was lit up and ghostly noises were emitted. A scary butler opened the door where we were treated by a ghoul. From there, the children were entertained by traditional games - Apple bobbing etc until the time of our tour. The guide took us through a tour of the house with various 'scary' events as we progressed. It was scary enough to send shivers down the spine of the adults without completely freaking out the children (ages 6-8). Well recommended and not overpriced. Probably the best halloween event we have been to and we have done a few.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hestercombe Gardens also viewed

 
Taunton, Somerset
 

Been to Hestercombe Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hestercombe Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.