We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place shame about the noise.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Corner House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Corner House Hotel to your Saves list
The Corner House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Park Street, Taunton TA1 4DQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Taunton
south yorkshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice place shame about the noise.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I have stayed here on two occasions and my overall opinion is positive. Its a nice little hotel with clean comfortable rooms in a good location. The staff are friendly, the rooms are well appointed and nicely decorated. Sadly on both of my stays here I was disturbed before 7 am by the noise from the domestic staff. I really liked the hotel, but would be reluctant to stay here again because of this. Noise from other guests I can understand, staff banging doors and yelling at each other is less than I would expect from a hotel that prides itself on its standards.

Room Tip: Take some earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear MLASouthYorkshire,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Corner House Hotel, Taunton.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and have passed your kind comments around the team. We have also taken on board your constructive comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    201
    122
    81
    58
See reviews for
61
212
50
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed at this hotel on the 12th July as we were visiting relations who lived close by. We did not actually spend too much time in the hotel and the only food we ate was breakfast which was good with as much to eat as you wished. We did not use the bar as drinks were quite expensive, normal practice in hotels these days, I think.
Our room was large - I actually booked a large room - and clean and comfortable, as was the bathroom. The only problem was it was on the third floor and with no lift access difficult for my wife to get to as she has a bad hip and knee. Sadly there was not lift in the hotel so it is not really suitable for infirm or really elderly people. I think this should be pointed out at the time of booking.

Room Tip: If you struggle with stairs, make sure you are on the ground floor. Also some rooms are very small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Patrick C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Corner House Hotel, Taunton.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and have passed your kind comments around the team. We have also taken on board your constructive comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed one night at this hotel on our way down to Cornwall. When we checked into our room the lights were not working problems with the electrical circuit and the moved us to a top room at no extra cost. Breakfast lovely full english or ham cheese etc. For £45 a night very good value indeed. Close walking to Taunton town centre

Room Tip: Hotel off main road but noise OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Goshawk100,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Corner House Hotel, Taunton.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and have passed your kind comments around the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Great central location with free parking, clean and basic rooms, no air con or fans though, and our window was very hard to open !

This is more of a restaurant with rooms attached really, but a very nice place.

The bar area is lovely its a bar / wine shop and we got chatting to some lovely people whilst there.

The breakfast was lovely, I think another member of staff is needed as the young waiter was very busy on his own taking the orders and delvering them.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear LucyDavies80,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Corner House Hotel, Taunton.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and have passed your kind comments around the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

If you need to be close to Taunton town centre you should consider this hotel.
It's a bit further out than The Castle Hotel, but staying there will set you back considerably more money.

Check-in was a pleasant experience, the receptionist was helpful and pleasant.

The main building seems quite old and characterful, therefore the route to the room was a bit circuitous.

The large bedroom had some quirky/period touches, e.g. wooden ceiling beams.

Despite the thickness of the outer walls, the (free) wi-fi signal-strength in the bedroom was good.

There is a busy road outside, so if your room is at the front of the building you might be bothered by traffic noise. I didn’t notice any interior noise, so I managed to get a good night’s sleep.

The bathroom was fine (the fluffy towels being a particular highlight), although the low shower pressure meant showering took a bit longer.

There was no bin in the bathroom, which was a slight inconvenience.

In conclusion - good location, pretty good value for money and no major issues.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms looking out onto the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Bender_B_Rodriguez,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Corner House Hotel, Taunton.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and have passed your kind comments around the team. We have also taken on board your constructive comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I was really impressed with the hotel, great room that had plenty of room. We did not eat in the restaurant but had room service which was very good and a reasonable price. Pleasant staff who gave a friendly welcome with a smile, which i find very important. It was also nice to have good parking when so close to town, the overall location was very good. We had a great stay and will be back again if we return to Taunton on holiday instead of work.

Room Tip: Make sure you know how to get in and out of the car park as it is on a one way system. Also have a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Gareth P,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Corner House Hotel, Taunton.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and have passed your kind comments around the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Hotel staff were friendly and helpful.
Reasonably good value for money.
Excellent rating is given for the breakfast which was easily the best I have ever had in a budget hotel.
Top tip - book breakfast at check in as it costs ~£6.95/night instead of the £10 booking.com wanted.

Room Tip: Compact rooms are as expected - very compact!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear HertsJim,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Corner House Hotel, Taunton.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and have passed your kind comments around the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Corner House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House Hotel

Address: Park Street, Taunton TA1 4DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corner House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘A new breed of hotel for the centre of Taunton.’ Within walking distance of the centre of Somerset’s County town, this 44 bedroom hotel has been transformed to meet the demands of the modern day traveller. ‘Budget boutique’ was one observer’s comment. The recent addition of the Wine & Sausage eating rooms has been well received by hotel residents and locals alike. Ideal for business or pleasure. Emphasis has been placed on developing a simple yet stylish and comfortable sleeping experience at an affordable price. All rooms have linen duvets, ample work space, refrigerators with complimentary bottled water and fresh milk, flat screen televisions and sparkling en-suite facilities. Free Wi-fi is available throughout the hotel. A flexible combination of meeting and eating rooms and excellent road and rail connections make the Corner House a convenient location for day and residential meetings. The hotel has free on site car parking and is in an ideal location for visiting many of the nearby Somerset attractions or as a stopover en-route to or from the Cornish peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Corner House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corner Hotel Taunton
The Corner House Hotel Taunton, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Corner House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.