We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but not so good for wi fi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Corner House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Corner House Hotel to your Saves list
The Corner House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Park Street, Taunton TA1 4DQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Taunton
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Nice place but not so good for wi fi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This is a very pleasant hotel, with comfortable rooms, well equipped. The breakfast was very good, as was the choice and quality of the food in the restaurant
BUT, it advertises "wi fi available throughout the hotel" and this is not the case, as I discovered on reaching my room (44) where wi fi was always "not connected". The only places I could get a connection were in public areas - parts of the dining room and the lounge. Reception were not helpful, merely saying "well we do have some thick walls in the hotel".

Room Tip: If you want wi fi check very carefully, don't have room 44
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Bodwareen,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Corner House Hotel, Taunton.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and have passed your kind comments around the team. We have also taken on board your constructive comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    213
    130
    84
    60
See reviews for
65
219
55
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Estepona, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Corner House Hotel, nice room, good staff, excellent food.
Only drawback, the carpark, very crowded, often full, exit blocked on occasions.
However the location, proximity to town was worth the hassle of parking.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear 48JeanK,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Corner House Hotel, Taunton.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and have passed your kind comments around the team. We have also taken on board your constructive comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

This was my third stay here and it wont be my last.
From a personal point of view its perfect for me as its so close to the hospital where my meetings take place,its also not too far to the town centre.
I like the place because the rooms are nice , well equiped and quiet, the Wifi works and the beds comfy. But coupled with a very nice restaurant and wine list its perfect for a business stop or casual break.
The bar area also serves as wine shop, and it caries an interesting range of quality wines.
The food is excellent, not pretentious but well presented and most of all its tasty. The restaurant is cosy casual and the staff very good and engaging.
Its a nice combination and many other small hotels could learn from this.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Bertie500,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Corner House Hotel, Taunton.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and have passed your kind comments around the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Stayed here night prior to my wedding. Had three rooms booked in total for myself and other family members. Location was brilliant and that's why I was happy to pay more than the out-of-town cheaper places. The Reception had allocated the three rooms in separate parts of the building but on request they put us together, so were very accommodating. First impressions of rooms? They could all do with a lick of paint in the area we stayed - the beige/yellow walls could do with a crisper/cleaner colour to brighten them up and some of the furniture is a little dated. However, the rooms were 100% clean, the bathrooms were newly fitted out, the beds were very comfortable, tea/coffee making facilities were good, lots of hot water, there was no trouble parking, we couldn't hear any traffic despite the location to Wellington Road and breakfast was fantastic. A little disappointed wifi didn't work in our area of the hotel but picked it up in the main lobby. All-in-all a good stay.

Room Tip: Room 46 is a double, on the small side but off of the main road. Quiet. Room 41 is ground floor, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Lazeejax,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Corner House Hotel, Taunton.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and have passed your kind comments around the team. We have also taken on board your constructive comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Our room was well appointed and comfortable. It had everything you could want including an iron and a hairdryer. We slept well and enjoyedall the facilities. The staff were friendly and helpful. What more could you want.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Suzy1958,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Corner House Hotel, Taunton.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and have passed your kind comments around the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This is a handy little hotel not far from Taunton station. As the name suggests, it's on the corner. The property includes a nice restaurant where you can dine or order room service. I spent one night here when I was in Taunton for a meeting. My room was clean, b&b/guesthouse sized with a clean and net bathroom (complete with shower gel and shampoo). The room featured a flatscreen TV, trouser press/ironing board and iron. The WiFi worked well.
The soundproofing wasn't brilliant but definitely no worse than your average guesthouse. I would definitely consider staying here again if I was in town for a meeting.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Mayothamayo,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Corner House Hotel, Taunton.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and have passed your kind comments around the team. We have also taken on board your constructive comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

After reading reviews we contemplated cancelling our booking but couldn't as we had paid up front. I am so glad we didn't cancel, yes the room was small but we didn't pay a massive amount and its a city hotel with parking so its great value for money. The room was clean and had all we needed with the extras of a proper carton of milk and bottle of water in the fridge. We didnt eat so can't comment on that but the staff were exceptional. Particular praise needs to go to Shelley on reception and Paul behind the bar who made our stay go from average to enjoyable with their friendly banter and putting up with us when we were a little tipsy!! Also the locals were welcoming and even invited us to join them for a bit of clubbing, which we kindly declined due to the need for an early night. I will happily visit again (if they will have us) and recommend to family and friends. Even if its just to gain wine knowledge from Paul :-)

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Fiona F,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Corner House Hotel, Taunton.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and have passed your kind comments around the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nigel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Corner House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House Hotel

Address: Park Street, Taunton TA1 4DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corner House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘A new breed of hotel for the centre of Taunton.’ Within walking distance of the centre of Somerset’s County town, this 44 bedroom hotel has been transformed to meet the demands of the modern day traveller. ‘Budget boutique’ was one observer’s comment. The recent addition of the Wine & Sausage eating rooms has been well received by hotel residents and locals alike. Ideal for business or pleasure. Emphasis has been placed on developing a simple yet stylish and comfortable sleeping experience at an affordable price. All rooms have linen duvets, ample work space, refrigerators with complimentary bottled water and fresh milk, flat screen televisions and sparkling en-suite facilities. Free Wi-fi is available throughout the hotel. A flexible combination of meeting and eating rooms and excellent road and rail connections make the Corner House a convenient location for day and residential meetings. The hotel has free on site car parking and is in an ideal location for visiting many of the nearby Somerset attractions or as a stopover en-route to or from the Cornish peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Corner House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corner Hotel Taunton
The Corner House Hotel Taunton, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Corner House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.