We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay - highly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Corner House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Corner House Hotel to your Saves list
The Corner House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Park Street, Taunton TA1 4DQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Taunton
Waterlooville, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay - highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

What a lovely night I spent here (business)
The Corner House was built in the 1840's and was originally to be the local Bishop's House. He never moved in and the property became a private residence until in the mid 1900's, with the property eventually becoming a hotel in the 1950's.

Unique 'boutique' hotel which is spotless with lovely touches even in my budget room.

thank you

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    201
    122
    81
    58
See reviews for
61
212
50
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Seriously comitted to the best service, extremely helpful and always with a smile.
I do not do cheeseness and we found that this place is a gem.
5 mins to the centre and easy roads.
Wines by the score as they have their own shop to drink in or take out.
Food brill and varied, cater for all.
All we can sy is thanks for a brill stay and a very helpful set of people.
Would definetley recommend.
Mr William Clark

Room Tip: Room 10 as there are no rooms adjoining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Warm welcome at Reception on my Friday-night later arrival. Compact double room was fine for a single. Good facilities, great bed-linen, fresh milk a great plus. All staff smiling and pleasant. Dining area imaginatively-appointed, though breakfast not quick, and my (excellent) bacon-sausage-tomato order did arrive in a sandwich (untoasted bread) which was not what I asked for - but by then I was in a hurry so ate it anyway.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We have stayed here twice in the past few weeks, both times in compact doubles.

Both rooms were fine in size with comfy beds and good facilities - we particularly liked the fresh milk. One room had a shower, the other a bath, but both had very powerful showers, good toiletries and large towels. Both rooms were very warm and we had to have the window open even though it was February - and this was clearly an ongoing problem as both rooms contained cooling fans.
One of the bedrooms was in the annex. This was fine until it was pouring with rain and we had a second shower dashing to breakfast! This annex (but not the room) also smelt a little. The wifi didn't seem to extend to the annex. Also with this room to turn on the bathroom light you had to turn on the bedroom light - which I didn't appreciate when my husband got up in the night for the loo! There was a shaving light above the sink but we didn't work out how to turn this on until the morning!

On our first stay breakfast had been a shambles with a lack of staff, incorrect orders and it taking an hour for our food to arrive. Our second stay (on a weekend) was the opposite with attentive staff, quick service and very tasty food.

On our first stay we were also greeted after breakfast by four cleaners rolling cigarettes on the stairs. We did mention this on checkout and there was no sign of them on our second stay.

As mentioned by many others the car park entrance and exit were both a tight squeeze - as the paint marks down the wall demonstrate!

Overall, this hotel has lots of potential and is ok for an overnight stay in a slightly quirky building. But I do think it could be a fantastic hotel with just a little more thought.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are clean but a little small, was not asked on check in to book a table in the restaurant hence then having to wait 30 mins for my table, waited 20 mins for a drink to be delivered, food good just not enough staff to deliver.

Disappointing Will not book again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

The positives: The hotel is well located and the rooms are large, if somewhat basic. It is reasonably priced.

The negatives: Although I had been asked of any dietary requirements in the booking process (I have a dairy allergy), my muffin was still slathered in butter. Perhaps they didn't understand the term 'non-dairy' as my scrambled eggs appeared to have been made from egg whites only - they were gray and inedible.

Further, the wine waiter/manager behaved bizarrely. He charged me 25p extra when he finished off a bottle in my glass, thus serving me more than I'd asked for and inferring that he'd done me a favour. He succeeded in insulting me.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Booked it on the last min after buying a caravan in Wellington did not fancy driving from Manchester and back in 1 day. on arrival with the caravan, found the car park entrance a little tight but we managed it . the manager came out and suggested the best place to park very helpful! on booking in we were told that we had been given an upgrade all the staff were very helpful. great food and a welcome breakfast before our long trek home well stay again !!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Corner House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House Hotel

Address: Park Street, Taunton TA1 4DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corner House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘A new breed of hotel for the centre of Taunton.’ Within walking distance of the centre of Somerset’s County town, this 44 bedroom hotel has been transformed to meet the demands of the modern day traveller. ‘Budget boutique’ was one observer’s comment. The recent addition of the Wine & Sausage eating rooms has been well received by hotel residents and locals alike. Ideal for business or pleasure. Emphasis has been placed on developing a simple yet stylish and comfortable sleeping experience at an affordable price. All rooms have linen duvets, ample work space, refrigerators with complimentary bottled water and fresh milk, flat screen televisions and sparkling en-suite facilities. Free Wi-fi is available throughout the hotel. A flexible combination of meeting and eating rooms and excellent road and rail connections make the Corner House a convenient location for day and residential meetings. The hotel has free on site car parking and is in an ideal location for visiting many of the nearby Somerset attractions or as a stopover en-route to or from the Cornish peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Corner House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corner Hotel Taunton
The Corner House Hotel Taunton, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Corner House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.