We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bargain break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant to your Saves list
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Village Road | Hatch Beauchamp, Taunton TA3 6SG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bargain break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Spent as couple of nights here and was well pleased with our choice. Friendly, helpful staff and comfortable room in the old country house. The food was excellent - a little out of the ordinary - and beautifully presented and cooked. The hotel is trying hard to source good ingredients and produces much of its own on site so it couldn't be fresher.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook the garden where there are ducks, chickens and peacocks so if you like th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarthingsHotel, Director of Sales at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words, it's always nice to hear as all the team do there up most to ensure everyone has a fantastic stay. I will ensure to pass your review on for them to read. Kind regards. Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    77
    21
    17
    14
See reviews for
41
196
25
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Called in here on our way back from the Devon and very much enjoyed our stay. We paid for an upgraded room and were most impressed. The staff are really excellent, very efficient and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Good food, without being outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarthingsHotel, Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely words and terrific review. We very much hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon

Best wishes, Farthings Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

My wife and i spent a memorable weekend here surrounded by lovely countryside.We had a rear facing room so we were treated to a beautiful garden with peacocks, ducks, chickens and others..The staff are all really friendly and the food is good. We intended to have one meal in and one out, but we ended up eating here the second day.as well. definately would go again.......roger and paula

Room Tip: rear facing, unless you don't like being woken up by cockrells.Not really noisy a sit is all dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarthingsHotel, Director of Sales at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
I would just like to say thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your kind works, I will be sure to tell the team. Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catcott, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Such a relaxing hotel, Exquisite food, such wonderful friendly staff. Excellent service all round.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and family. Two gorgeous dogs living there who are very friendly also.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarthingsHotel, General Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for your lovely words, Sasha & Aonghas, the dogs, thoroughly enjoyed meeting you too. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back sometime soon

John, the team and ofcourse, the puppies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Read all the reviews on this hotel and thought I was in for a treat.... But I have to say it was a disappointment.
Maybe we got the worst room and all the others were lovely?? Our room was cold - the two radiators didn't work. There was a noisy fan heater to use or a hideous wall mounted electric fake fireplace (not in keeping with the building at all) which also had a fan heater in it. The radiator in the bathroom and pipe work had a constant hum. I think the heating system probably needs an upgrade.
The breakfast was disappointing. One piece of bacon, a few mushrooms, one sausage, one cherry tomato and a bit of black pudding served on a cold plate. Glad I wasn't paying £14 for that (we had a B&B deal).
Shower was very good - lots of hot water at least!
The lounge and bar looked very nice and cosy. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarthingsHotel, Director of Sales at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review and like to say how sorry we all were to hear that we didn't meet our normally very high standards, we wish you had said something at the time so we would have had a chance to put the problems right.

In regards to breakfast orders are taken from your table by our waiting team if you wanted more we would have been more than happy to do so, you only need ask.

Kind Regards

Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed for the weekend using a Groupon voucher, having paid for an upgrade to a master bedroom as the standard ones were all gone. It was larger than the ground floor area of our house!! 'The best room I have ever stayed in', my husband said. We dined in the restaurant both evenings and the food was delicious. The downstairs lounge and bar areas were lovely and comfortable - even if we didn't need the roaring fires on an unseasonably warm spring weekend! The staff were very attentive and helpful in general.

Minor quibbles: we felt the continental breakfast could have been a little more elaborate, perhaps with croissants or pastries on offer, or a wider variety of fruit on the table. On both mornings the butter on the buffet table ran out, and we had to ask for it to be replaced (and also for more milk one morning) - the staff should have been more alert to this.

But overall, a lovely hotel - and we shall certainly come back, especially if we can get a similar deal!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarthingsHotel, Director of Sales at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
I would like to thank you for your kind words and taking the time to write your review. In regards to the breakfasts the menu dose say pastries are available and to ask a member of staff, we cook these to order to ensure freshness. Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We live locally and often call into the Farthings after an evening stroll. The welcome is always warm and inviting. The interior is beautifully presented and provides for a relaxed atmosphere in which to enjoy a glass of wine. John and staff are very attentive and help to create the relaxed atmosphere. We have dined in the restaurant and you will be treated to first class ingredients beautifully prepared and presented. All in all a wonderful experience either for drinks or to dine.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarthingsHotel, General Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
David - you are always most welcome, always a pleasure to see you both

Best wishes, John & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Village Road | Hatch Beauchamp, Taunton TA3 6SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Taunton
#3 Family Hotel in Taunton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful Country House Hotel. The building dates from 1762 and carries many of it's original fetures. Delightful, individually decorated rooms, lovely restaurant offering the best of locally sourced & seasonal produce, log fires by winter and lovely gardens by summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farthings Country Hotel
Farthings Country Taunton
Farthings Country House Hotel And Restaurant Taunton, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.