We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a brilliant pub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Plough Inn

The Plough Inn
75 Station Road, Taunton TA1 1PB, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 194 Restaurants in Taunton
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Somerset
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Just a brilliant pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

A flawless, 'proper' pub. Great staff, great beer, great pies, great atmosphere.

I love The Plough, long may it do what it does.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    25
    3
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cider heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

It's great to find a pub that sells local cider, lets you try a couple before you order a pint and has a resident poodle which snoozes on the bar.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“One of the best local pubs in Taunton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This pub is near my work and sometimes pop in for a quick pint while waiting for my train. The pub is an old style pub with different seating areas, the ales are fantastic, guest ales are always a must, they also serve pies, which so far has been the best i have tasted in a long time. This place is a must visit!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Smelly dirty poor poor poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Having used this pub many times over recent years I was very disappointed when I visited yesterday. It has always had a rough and rustic look, but it was apparent that it has slipped somewhat in terms of cleanliness. The place smelt terribly and it was clear it hadn't been cleaned for ages. The ale was lifeless and not the best! We ordered some food, when it hadn't appeared after 45 minutes, and the grubbiness seen and smell had overpowered us a refund was requested and we left. To be honest I don't think I will be using it again.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not bad, not amazing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is the kind of place that you wouldn't really go to eat unless you knew about it! Personally i think it has a slightly rough feel about it however its not as bad as it seems.
I went there recently for the first time and was greeted by a very friendly host and taken to a table immediately. The menu is very limited with the only choice being pie & mash.. there is however a range of pies. We had a reasonably long wait for the pies but when they came they were pleasent. There is also no dessert menu which is a bit disappointing but after a stodgey pie thats not a major issue. I would say its not really an eating pub, its alot more geared towards drinkers.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plough Inn also viewed

Taunton, Somerset
Taunton, Somerset
 

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plough Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.