We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room and excellent food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Rose and Crown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Rose and Crown to your Saves list
The Rose and Crown
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Woodhill, Stoke St Gregory, Taunton TA3 6EW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 53 Taunton B&B and Inns
Wales
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely room and excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We have eaten at the Rose and Crown on a number of occasions and the food has always been excellent. Staff are always attentive and friendly. We have also stayed here on two occasions the latest being in April 2012. The rooms have been clean on both occasions and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with a choice of cereals, juices, pastries and cooked breakfasts. We will stay again without hesitation!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    11
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
17
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ENGLAND
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I have eaten here twice now and on both occassions it was very good. The food really is home cooked and the deserts are worth saving some space for.
The real ale is well kept and the place is clean and inviting. Its best to book ahead.

The service is very enthusiastic, pleasant and keen to please but not particularly experienced - if you like the more formal dining experience!

The one down side is the parking which is a bit limited and Its not easy to find so bring a map with you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We had dinner with friends in the Rose & Crown, its very rural but not too difficult to find.
The exterior of the place could do with attention, we wouldn't have stopped if we wern't meeting friends. You could also be put off stopping by the lack of parking, for the size of the place the carpark is tiny and only has enough space for about 10 cars. We had to park a way up the road and walked back to the pub wondering what kind of place our friends had suggested!

When we got inside the Roase & Crown we were very pleasantly surprised. Inside it is very welcoming, tastefully decorated, warm, & very clean. The lady behind the bar was very pleasant and made us feel welcome. We ordered drinks at the bar and were shown to our table. Soon after a waitress came to take our food order. The waitress was friendly, but really didn't have a clue about anything that was on the menu. She was unable to tell us what the soup of the day was without going to check, she didnt know how anything was cooked or what it was served with, She said there was a choice of potato, but yet couldn't tell us what the choice was and we had to help her spell what we were ordering as she wrote it on her note pad. It became a bit of a joke really, and the waitress clearly didnt take what she was doing seriously either. Getting no further forward after a while, and not being particulary fussy in the end we just agreed we would go with the flow and see what turned up with our food, as the waitress obviously had no idea and no intention of going to ask someone else.

When the food arrived all was forgiven... It was excellent! Perfectly cooked, well presented, plenty of it. Our meal was faultless and good value for money. The chef obvously takes the food seriously even if the waitress dosen't. Oh well, at least she was entertaining I suppose.

This place is well worth a visit just for the food, it really was excellent. We would go back on the strength of that alone.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Visit friends who live nearby quite often but this was my first meal here since the place was rebuilt following a fire. Has lost some of its character in the rebuild but has benefitted form the modernisation.
The food has become more modern with mixed results. The pear salad with proscuitio and balsamic dressing was excellent the BBQ ribs however was way too sweet. The helpings were extremely generous and the vegetables perfect. Others had the gammon in cider which was nicely balanced and interesting. Desserts were competent.
The beers and wines on offer were all well chosen making this a proper village pub with a warm feel and a good welcome.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

travelled to the rose and crown with my grandchildren after looking at tripadvisors reviews , we were not disappointed ,it was a fantastic choice ,the rooms were very comfortable and they had lovely finishing touches,we decided to eat there the 1st night the food was fantastic ,having eaten all over the world , this restaurant is in my top three , Ihad the ham on the 1st night it was like a large steak and beautifully cooked as were the vegatables , the care and flavours were 5star , as we left Ibooked for our 2nd night ,again the mussels cooked in cider beautiful, the haddock was quite simply the best Ihave ever tasted , my grandchildren aged six and eight ate so well both nights and cried when we had to leave , the breakfasts were equally fantastic , with so much choice would recommend the kippers mmm , looking forward to my next visit .

Room Tip: my room was lovely ,as was the childrens , the most tranquil place Ihave ever stayed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night on Good Friday on our way to Cornwall to break a long journey. The staff on arrival were very welcoming, the room was small but clean and well furnished with a comfortable bed and a beautiful bathroom. We stayed in room 2. We ate in the hotel restaurant that evening the food was very good and served large portions. I couldn't eat a desert much to my disappointment I was too full. The breakfast the next morning was equally good. I would use the rose and crown again and recommend it.,

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

I stayed here for one night with my partner, who was on a business trip in the area. I was in charge of picking the accommodation and chose the Rose & Crown due to the great reviews and also because the pictures on the website made it look lovely... not a trace of chintz!

We found it fairly easily through a combination of the sat nav and Google maps - although I'm glad we did our homework before we set off as it would've been so easy to get lost!

The welcome we received when we arrived was very warm and despite arriving early, we were immediately shown to our room. We were given room 3 - which had the advantage of an en suite shower (rather than bath) and an adjoining room, that the lady said we were free to use. The decor was every bit as gorgeous as the website suggested and the room was very comfortable - although it was a good thing that neither of us were very tall as the ceilings were very slanty!

Another reason for choosing the Rose & Crown was the convenience of not having to go out and find somewhere to eat. Like the other reviewers, we found the food to be very good and we had a really enjoyable meal. Breakfast was also great and really set us up for the day.

We'd definitely stay here again if we found ourselves in the area.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose and Crown

Address: Woodhill, Stoke St Gregory, Taunton TA3 6EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rose and Crown 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Rose and Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rose And Crown Taunton, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rose and Crown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.