We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay and lovely breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catwell House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Catwell House to your Saves list
Catwell House
Catwell, Taunton TA4 4PF, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Beverages and Newspapers
Ranked #3 of 53 Taunton B&B and Inns
westcountry
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay and lovely breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were warmly welcomed by Ross and Becca . We enjoyed a welcoming pot of tea on arrival and sat in the lovely garden, listening to the birds and the lambs in the adjoining fields. Our room was well appointed with views over the fields. Breakfast was served in a cozy dining room and the choice was good. We ate in the evening at the local pub, the Masons Arms, which was kindly booked by Becca., this was good pub food. We had a lovely stay and really enjoyed this area of West Somerset.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
64
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Catwell House is a truly pretty and comfortable old house. Ross and Becca are very welcoming hosts who can't do enough to make your stay pleasurable. Ross cooks a mean breakfast too! The house is in a lovely quiet spot, yet the village amenities are within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We arrived and were met by Ross and becca's friend Michael who was very pleasant and showed us to our room. My husband had booked the break as a surprise and ros had kindly booked us in to a local pub for a meal. This is definitely worth a stay. Lovely hearty breakfast too!

Room Tip: Four poster bedroom has comfy bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We really enjoyed this B & B, the accomodation was exceptionally clean and very comfortable. When we arrived we were shown into the guest lounge with roaring log fire and a nice pot of tea promptly arrived. Our westies Bobby and Harry were also made very welcome. There were lovely views from the house. Ross and Rebecca make excellent hosts. We couldn't fault the breakfast it was great, in fact we couldn't fault anything. We will be going back, hopefully when the weather is better so we can take in the fantastic walks from the house.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silves, Portugal
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our ‘Twixmas’ break at Catwell House. Ross and Becca made us feel very welcome, with a nice pot of tea on arrival, and couldn’t do more to make our stay more pleasurable. Situated in a quiet, peaceful location in a lovely rural Somerset village, the house is an ideal location to explore the Somerset coast and Exmoor. Our room was excellently furnished with antique furniture and a four poster bed, complemented with a superb modern bathroom. There is plenty of secure parking space onsite, and the village is only 5 minutes walk away; Becca helpfully booked us into a pub to enjoy an evening meal on our first night. The Catwell breakfast was superb, delicious and perfectly cooked to order by Ross. Ross also provided us with a route to enjoy a splendid tour of the coastal roads and Exmoor, which was so useful for us to see as much as possible during our short break. We will certainly stay here again when we visit the area, and can highly recommend Catwell House.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Ross and Becca were an extremely welcoming couple and made us feel very relaxed and at home. It was fantastic to bring our Springer with us. We stayed earlier in the year and have been remiss not to write this sooner....I would certainly have no hesitation in recommending Catwell house to anyone....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

What a wonderful place! Ross and Becca were so inviting for our one night stay. We were greeted at the car park and shown the way in to the lovely living room with a warm wood fire crackling away. We were shown our room and offered a well needed pot of tea in front of the fire. We needed somewhere to eat that evening and Ross gave us many options and booked us in to the local curry house which was very nice! Just want we wanted at a short walk away. We will absolutely return again if in the area and will recommend to others! Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catwell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catwell House

Address: Catwell, Taunton TA4 4PF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17Th-century Country House, retaining many original features including log-fires. Nestling between the Quantocks and Exmoor with views of open countryside. Sylvan setting in peaceful location on village edge, Catwell House is bordered by stream and open pasture. Secluded, yet all village amenities within 5 minutes walk. West Somerset Railway station in village and immediate access to the Quantocks via footpaths. ALL EN-SUITE ROOMS with Wireless broadband, Freeview Digital TV, DVD, Radio, CD, Hospitality tray.Mini Fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Catwell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catwell House Taunton, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catwell House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.