We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night business trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blorenge House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Blorenge House to your Saves list
Blorenge House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   57-59 Staplegrove Road, Taunton TA1 1DG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Taunton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One night business trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This is a lovely hotel with character, my room was large, and very clean, the bed was comfy and the room quiet, essential for a busy days work ahead. Free wifi compliments the stay. Very good breakfast, ample parking and easy walking distance into town. It had everything I needed for a successful trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    20
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
8
18
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

A group of 4 of us stayed for a week - a four poster room and a twin room (1 single & 1 double bed).
Both rooms were a good size with en-suite facilities. Good breakfast.The staff were freindly and helpful. It's a lovely building in a convenient, quiet location. Easy walking distance of buses, train station and town centre; there are restaurants nearby. )

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

OMG! Get shown to my room to discover a four-poster bed!

The room was neat and tidy; gallons of hot water in the wash basin and the shower. The bed was quite comfortable into the bargain.

I asked for a cooked breakfast before the official time; this was offered without any hint of "oh! All right then" When it became difficult to get a taxi the owner just offered to drive me to the venue without any hesitation.

Good situation within easy walking distance of the station (provided you don't have a suitcase to lug) and excellent hosts.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Having been flooded out of our house, we were in need of sanctuary. Blorenge House provided this and more. Our room, with its lovely 4-poster bed, was warm, clean and very comfortable. The staff were extremely helpful and made us feel not only welcome but also like royalty. We were spoiled with a very tasty full English breakfast. As Blorenge House was our temporary home, the elegant, spacious guest lounge provided a change of scenery. The House is located only a few minutes walk from the town centre, and the bus and railway stations. There are also plenty of restaurants and takeaways nearby. Blorenge House may be an old property but it has lots of charm and character and is well maintained.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Just stayed for two days on business. I found the room en suite to be excellent in comfort, décor, facilities and ambience, The staff were most helpful. Parking was not so good though as it has a small car park.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Lovely dining room nice breakfast good staff. Happy with stay. Go back yearly. Lovely to come to Somerset on route to ex moor and ponies. Particularly like the attention to detail in the rooms........

Room Tip: Number five
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I really liked how this hotel was unlike any other. Attention to detail from four poster bed to embroidered linen and time spent. Beautiful restaurant. Nice breakfast. Fabric in the rooms provided wonderful surroundings.

Room Tip: Number five, I've stayed twice now and liked number ten
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blorenge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blorenge House

Address: 57-59 Staplegrove Road, Taunton TA1 1DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#8 Business Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blorenge House 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blorenge House offers sumptuous four star accommodation in the heart of Taunton. Situated within a five minute walk to the town centre, we are also in close proximity to Somerset County Cricket Ground and Taunton Railway Station. Blorenge House also offers contemporary two bedroom serviced apartments which are ideal for anyone looking for accommodation over an extended period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Blorenge House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blorenge Hotel Taunton
Blorenge House Taunton, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blorenge House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.