We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cow Shed

The Cow Shed
53 Northgate, Wakefield WF1 1BP, England
01924 291044
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 327 Restaurants in Wakefield
Price range: $30 - $78
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Cow Shed focuses on serving local seasonal produce, cooked with a modern English style – presented to you in our cosey and intimate dining room by a professional team of attentive waiting staff, and accompanied by a wide selection of wines.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great meal and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We went to the cow shed for a meal it was a gift we had a lovely time the meal was lovely and the service was Excelent i would recommend this to anybody that want something a bit differant

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    92
    23
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“What a gem of a place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Beautiful restaurant, prepare to be amazed. Atmosphere is wonderful and its very spacious and relaxed here. Food is fantastic and early bird menu offers excellent value for money. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Get together with special friends.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

As previous visits enjoyed a very pleasant evening in this comfortable restaurant always a nice atmosphere ,service from staff friendly and attentive ,food was well presented ate three courses from early bird menu excellent value in our opinion.will certainly return .

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lofthouse, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Resturant food how it should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Having just moved to the area this was my chance to get to the Cow Shed.
I have passed it often and heard good things ... and I was not disappointed!

Steak was the meal of the day ... all 5 of us ordered steak and no one was disappointed!
Tasty ... succulent and just the way I like it!

Surroundings were casual but classy and my girlfriend, parents and brother really enjoyed it.

Will be visiting again ... but I feel this is a grest place for birthdays or special occasions ... the food and atmosphere match it.
Price wise ... tad more expensive than some places I've been to ... but I think it was worth it!

Tasty, filling and quality

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Terrible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Booked for a table of 7 with some work colleagues. The vegetables in my soup were undercooked and crunchy, I ordered a medium fillet steak which came out very rare. In addition I found the service from one waiter in particular appalling and the attitude very displeasing. He also took one of our orders incorrectly so one of my colleagues had to wait a further 10 minutes for his food after we had our mains delivered to the table. The positives , well the chips were excellent with the mains and the cheesecake I had for dessert was out of this world, hence I rate this visit 2/5. I'm sorry, but for high level prices, we all agreed that the service and standards were poor. Will never return to this place there are far better restaurants around for much lower prices.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cow Shed also viewed

Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Cow Shed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cow Shed, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.