We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City break for 2” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CitiLodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added CitiLodge Hotel to your Saves list
CitiLodge Hotel
Lower Warrengate, Wakefield WF1 1SA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Wakefield
Denbighshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“City break for 2”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Time for some mother and daughter time in the city of Wakefield. Short walk to trinity walk shopping centre, with girly shops and places to dine.

Hotel was clean and well presented, good parking, room clean and presentable

Intend to return

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    16
    11
    5
    8
See reviews for
6
9
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
skipton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

An appalling experience - I was woken many times during the night by (drunk?) businessmen getting in after 1am ... one seemed to have lost his keys so the hotel staff came up to join in the party outside my bedroom door to sort him out. Really appalling. There seems to be no soundproofing at all - the drunk next door might as well have been sharing my room (yuck). Also, it's in a pretty unpleasant area of town. On checking out, I complained about the frequent disturbances and the hotel staff said that these men had turned up at 1 am and the only rooms were next to mine. If you are a business traveller, definitely avoid this place - it might be ok if you are just in town to get drunk and rowdy. As a professional woman on my own, I thought it was utterly dreadful. No refund either! Ugh.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard W, General Manager at CitiLodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear ptskipton

I am sorry to hear that your stay with Citilodge Hotel was not a great experience for yourself.
Myself and the hotel team strive at all times to make every guests stay is as enjoyable as possible.
I am deeply sorry to hear that on this occasion we failed to meet yours and our expectations that we strive to achieve here at Citilodge hotel.
Please can I ask you to contact myself on 01924 200930 so I can help rectify the bad experience that you encountered at our hotel and to personally apologize for the negative experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

After staying here before when it was Travelodge the rooms aren't that much different but they are making changes to the front of house & it's looking very nice.
Greeted at reception & straight away they couldn't do enough to help. Top marks for a no frills stay but the staff did what they could to make it feel like a high end hotel. Will be staying again & I am interested to see breakfast next time.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Recently visited the hotel and found it a pleasant experience.The staff on reception was very polite and helpful.

There is currently no food being served on site at the moment but that is in hand I was told however there is plenty of places to eat around within walking distance.

It is going through a current refurb but the rooms they have done recently are to a good standard and the price is very good beats everyone else in the area certainly would stay again

Room Tip: ask for the refurb rooms !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1111
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

At 20 a night they'll do well. Friendly staff, clean rooms and flat screen tvs. What more can you ask for? Bed a little springy but nice big room. Very happy :)
Location very convenient too
Let's hope it stays reasonably priced as I'll be coming back regularly if it does!


Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel rocks!! For such a bargain price at £20 for the 3 of us i expected really low standards...however, to my surprise everything about this hotel is spot on for what you pay. The location is perfect for a night out and the rooms are spacious and comfy. This hotel saved us lots of money in taxi fayres and it has now become our local...we will be back once a month without fail. I love it!!!!!! Amazing...bargain!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

When I was looking for a room for my baby and me I was looking for safe and very, very cheap. I was very impressed by what I got.
I booked online, getting a family room for the same price as the standard double (£30), which I prefered as my baby is very active and I wanted plenty of room for him to play. I was able to request a travel cot and room with a bathtub which was very helpful.
Upon arrival my husband sorted things out and the desk them showed me to the room, we were advised about keeping the key card away from our mobiles as the signal can disrupt the cards codes.

I had been expecting a very low quality room from the other reviews I had read, but was pleasantly surprised by the quality and cleanliness f the room. All beds were made, bathroom, floors and beds all clean (spotless white sheets), the decor was calm and modern, the quilts and pillows warm and full (not flat or lumpy), the bed was comfortable (even my baby loved the bed, he found it very bouncy) and I've not had to worry about sockets as they are all out of my babys reach. Towels were provided, as was a cute bar of soap. My husband and I were so happy with the room we immediately booked an extra night, which we got for only £20!
Customer service was good too, when I ordered a take-away it was brought directly to my room for me which was very helpful as my baby was sleeping.

There is a nice local indoor play area across the road where I plan on taking my baby too and lots of good quality food nearby.

Overall I am thrilled with my experience.

Room Tip: Family room has more space at the same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CitiLodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CitiLodge Hotel

Address: Lower Warrengate, Wakefield WF1 1SA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Wakefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citilodge is an exciting new city centre hotel brand that has taken over the Travelodge in the centre of Wakefield. The CitiLodge hotel in Wakefield is aimed at providing a vibrant yet comfortable environment for the city centre traveller whether on business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your CitiLodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CitiLodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.