We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Excellent Value, Friendly Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Holmfield Eating Inn

The Holmfield Eating Inn
Denby Dale Road, Wakefield WF2 8DY, England
01924 231730
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #95 of 327 Restaurants in Wakefield
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good Food, Excellent Value, Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

We eat here quite regularly and went recently as a group of 10 for Sunday Lunch. Staff were busy but very helpful and attentive. The food was beautiful especially the Roast pork which was tender and delicious. Prices are very reasonable. Some of the party had sweets and we all had drinks but the bill for all 10 of us was only £127.00
I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    43
    25
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harthill, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“family sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

we had a family get together our party had nine of us in it even though it was very busy the staff were very good they arranged tables to suit our party size the service was first class and the food was excellent everyone enjoyed what they had ordered

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Golden Years *****”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We use Holmfield House a couple of times every three weeks. The restaurant is always clean and tidy and the staff smiling and helpful.
We use the Golden Years Menu and are never disappointed with the variety, the size of the portions, the quality or the cost, two three course meals for about £16. Add a bottle of wine and you have a lovely afternoon spent in pleasant surroundings, what could be better?

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointing!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We went there for dinner last night with my husband our 2 boys and were extremely disappointed by the poor quality of the food, especially considering the price! My husband had a Mixed Grill and the sausage on it was so overcooked that it was impossible to cut through it, never mind eating it! The same story was with the Hunter's chicken - it looked like it was cooked and re-heated several times so it was very tough and chewy.... The Fish pie was ok but the mushed potato topping tasted like it was made out of the packet and not fresh... Our son's burger of children's menu wasn't very nice either - it was just a bread bun with a very dry and overcooked burger meat in the middle without any sauce or butter... Again, it looked like it was cooked few days ago and reheated in the microwave... He only managed few bites and that's for a boy who loves burgers!
So overall it was very disappointing evening. Especially considering that we really enjoyed our food the last time we visited few months ago. So what happened to their food standards in this last few months??!! Definitely won't go back or recommend it to anybody.

P.S. On the plus side, no complaints about the service, everyone was very polite and professional.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food for price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We had the chilli burritos 2meals for £9:99 and I have to say one of the best meals out in ages ,very tasty, quick service and will keep going back ,not had a bad experience yet .One of the best valued pubs in Wakefield .

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Holmfield Eating Inn also viewed

Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Holmfield Eating Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Holmfield Eating Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.