We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abdul's

Abdul's
151 broadway | lupset, Wakefield, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 327 Restaurants in Wakefield
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Food always good never had a bad meal, all cooking and preparation done in full view of customer - kitchen spotless. Would highly recommend.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    12
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
-
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Colourful, beautiful food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Had a takeaway from Abdul's the other evening, it was wonderful. We ordered dishes we had not tried before and all were delicious, although we have only been here once before about 4 years ago when we moved to Wakefield. We shall certainly come back again, although I wish they delivered. The peshwari nans and the ordinary ones were the best we have ever tasted. Somehow the food has a healthy look about it so you don't feel so bad eating so much, I must say the mango lassi was also very refreshing It is also interesting to see the chefs at work in front of you. The young lady serving was very efficient and even got a young man to carry my order out to the car. Well done Abdul's!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best takeaway in Wakefield”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Lovely, clean place, fab food. I can only comment on the vegetarian dishes and these are great, not the usual layer of orange grease you normally get over your Indian takeaways. We ALWAYS use Abdul's.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Never Disappoints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I've been using Abdul's takeaway/cafe for many years and can HONESTLY say I've never had a bad dish especially on the nights when Abdul himself is running the show. Try Lamb Karahi - the lamb melts in your mouth. Or Chicken Zafrani which is equally good. The Byriani is the best you'll ever taste with REAL vegetables in it and not just some old frozen slops from the supermarket value range. Punjabi Paratha is to die for although probably not so good for the waistline. I've been fortunate enough to travel a bit and I've eaten in many Asian food places over the years, some slop houses, and some branding themselves 4-5 star. Let me tell you none of them are as good as this place. If you want good food, good portions, good prices, and you want them consistently good, there's no ther place in Wakefield at least. Never tried the Ponte branch but I've no reason to doubt it's just as good. I tried another recently opened Wakefield restaurant's takeaway service recently, paid an extra 8 quid for more or less the same as I get from Abdul's, and it wasn't a patch on this.Keep up the good work Abdul.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Scrummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I was upset about a hard decision I needed to make and needed some time out and some good food in me. Abdul's provided amazing food at amazing prices. It's the first time I ever eaten an entire Indian meal and now, won't be the last x

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abdul's also viewed

Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Abdul's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abdul's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.