We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diffferent and interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hepworth Wakefield

The Hepworth Wakefield
Gallery Walk, Wakefield WF1 5AW, England
+44 1924 247360
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 63 things to do in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Hepworth Wakefield is Yorkshire's award-winning gallery designed by David Chipperfield Architects which opened to the public in May 2011. The UK's largest purpose-built gallery in over 50 years, we celebrate the achievements of one of Britain's most significant sculptors, Barbara Hepworth, in the city in which she was born and raised. As well as the Hepworth Family Gift, a unique collection of Hepworth's working models gifted to Wakefield through the Art Fund, the gallery also holds the collection of the former Wakefield Art Gallery. Alongside collection displays, we also present a regularly changing programme of contemporary exhibitions by world-renowned artists as well as offering award-winning family and learning activities for all ages, a cafe bar and shop - a perfect day out for all the family. Free admission all year round.
Kirkby-in-Ashfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
183 attraction reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Diffferent and interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

A visit to the Hepworth Gallery in Wakefield with a very good friend who has a different interest in art to my own. We were both impressed with the building and its surroundings. There are friendly and well presented staff ready to help with any queries. One set of exhibits could have been the film set of a science fiction scene. Very interesting information on Barbara Hepworth and her sculptures and designs. The ability with all galleries to have different exhibitions ensures return visits, we will return. Facilties for refreshments are very good and comfortable, all with a view.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    94
    40
    21
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“I have taken more interesting things to the tip.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The first thing that hits you when you see the building is that it looks like something from an eastern block country..grey and cold in no way in sympathy with its surroundings.
As you walk through the galleries from one exhibit to another you wonder what some of the artists were thinking as they scraped and chiseled their way through the chosen materials.
Let me clarify..It was as if they were on some kind of medication when they started their projects and as it wore off they looked at it and abandoned it.
You will leave thinking that you have taken more interesting things to the tip.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Dreary outside, inside fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Our daughter took us to visit the Hepworth, as she has been on several occasions. The inside of the gallery is very well designed with generous space to study the artworks. There are some lovely views and seating areas. Whether you appreciate some of the art or not, it certainly gives you something to talk about. I noticed that lots of activities were provided for the children and parents and we were very impressed. All staff were extremely helpful and had obviously done their homework. The café, gift shop and toilet facilities, was excellent and the car park is just a short walk. We enjoyed a lovely, interesting afternoon. Well done Wakefield!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not Our Thing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

An ugly building in a difficult location and with contents that mean nothing to us. Have been twice now. The first time for us and the second to take visitors who had heard about it and wanted to visit. While our visitors explored we enjoyed the views out of the windows. Thankfully they didn't want to stay long. The next visitors that want to visit can use us as a taxi service but we wont be going again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Gallery but hard to locate!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I wish I lived nearer as this Gallery is a gem! Hard to find and badly signposted, the Hepworth is adjacent to a river which helps to enhance its peaceful character.I was amazed by the quality not only of the international paintings and sculpture but the way they were displayed. Extremely helpful and knowledgeable staff together with a small licensed cafe make this a great place to visit . My only complaint is that it is too small!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hepworth Wakefield also viewed

Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Hepworth Wakefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hepworth Wakefield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.