We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mews Hotel

The Mews Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Mews Hotel to your Saves list
The Mews Hotel
77 Dale Street | Ossett, Wakefield WF5 9HN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Wakefield
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there for a week in November and enjoyed it that much I went back for another whilst I was doing a training course (at the holiday inn). Now I could have stayed anywhere as I was on expenses from work but I chose to stay at the Mews because of the great staff, food and atmosphere. The room was clean and great for what I needed. The food was tremendous - every meal and I ate there every night as no reason to go elsewhere. Staff were always pleasant, attentive and always had a smile.- no matter how busy the place was, which was most of the time. Go there you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    26
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
12
14
2
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

I was in Wakefield on business for one night and checked out. I then had to stay a second night and re-booked. Why? Good comfortable rooms, great uncomplicated English delicious pub food and the best cooked breakfast in years. Excellent value and I will go back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

What a wonderful lunch! The food was well cooked, hot and really tasty and very good value for money as a special Christmas treat. I was impressed by the fact we didn't have to book our choices weeks in advance (which you do in some other places) and that we could use their little function room, so that we weren't eating in the bar area. The table was set out beautifully and the girls serving us were attentive and helpful - helping to make it a really great experience. The veg portions were generous and the savoury mash really tasty. We weren't rushed and we were able to sit and chat and take our time to enjoy each course - a real treat! Definitely need to eat here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Went for a meal with friends after passing for years and saying must try it. Had a good home cooked meal in pleasant surroundingsnice wine and would definitely go again.
Judging by the turn around of tables plenty of others think so too, but we were not rushed to finish at all and if there is a fault service be a little more attentive.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had booked Dimple Well Lodge (down the road from The Mews) but had to check out because it was so darn awful. It was 10:30pm and we had no idea where we'd end up so we were delighted to stumble across The Mews. The service was great and room (number 16) was beautiful. It was newly decorated, clean and obviously very well maintained. The room had double doors which opened onto a small garden - gorgeous! We had a great nights sleep & loved our breakfast the following morning which was served in the restaurant next door. We're definitely staying here again.

Room Tip: We had room 16 and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife and I have never stayed at the hotel. However, we regularly have lunch with friends and family. I have to say we have never been disappointed with either the standard and quality of the food or with the friendly, welcoming staff. We are always warmly greeted and made to feel very welcome. Our table is always immaculately attended. We are made to feel very comfortable which sets the tone for the whole lunch experience. The menu varies depending upon the day of the week you visit but the food in all its guises is always superb. The sea-food tends not to be served during a Monday lunch but when served during the remainder of the week is unrivalled.
The wine selection is good and the house red is particularly fine at an affordable price. It is obvious that everyone one of the staff is determined to make the dining experience a pleasure. We will certainly continue to visit the place regularly and we would certainly recommend the establishment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Just stayed the one night and the room was lovely, very clean and a lovely bathroom (shower only). Towels and toiletries were included and were very good quality. Good quality 'full breakfast' and very friendly staff. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mews Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mews Hotel

Address: 77 Dale Street | Ossett, Wakefield WF5 9HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Wakefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Mews Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mews Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.