We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingfisher

Kingfisher
597 Denby Dale Road | Calder Grove, Wakefield, England
01924 274994
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 325 Restaurants in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
england
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“The Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The best fish and chips for miles. Cooked fresh for you, great tasting, great service and very good value for money.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    29
    6
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Memorable Fish & Chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Having had a recommendation from someone who regularly journeys a round trip of 35 miles to sample these fish and chips our family of three generations were looking forward to the experience on a sunny bank holiday monday where good eating places were packed to the rafters. We managed to park in the small car park and were accommodated easily in the restuarant though the take away part of the establishment was exceptionally busy. We quickly had our order taken and were pleased that children ate free providing that a main meal was ordered. My wife and I both had the haddock and chips with tea or coffee and a choice of a bread roll or slices and they were both nice and fresh as were the fish and chips which were very tasty. My 10 year old grandson soon polished off his generous portion of fish and chips and all in all we all voted it a good experience and a place that we will return to. One enjoyable way to get an appetite for the meal is to visit nearby Pugneys Country Park and walk round the picturesque lake or take advantage of the numerous water sports on offer prior to sampling fish and chips at their very best.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Greed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is a consistently decent fish and chip shop and has a good reputation but , he has played on this and put the price up one too many times for me and is now extortionately expensive in comparison to other chip shops in the area, I refuse to go on principle, as I really do fee,l I am now being ripped off! The Empire on Leeds road is a good alternative or George a Green

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fresh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

The food is lovely a little over priced but if you want fresh , good tasting food you'll love it . I have eaten in and taken away and both very nice. The staff are lovely and helpful

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

very nice fish & chips not greasy n swimming in oil, always queing but expect that at this place will, nice to sit on wall outside in sun, just no where to park when busy, will reccomend and will continue to vist.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingfisher also viewed

 

Been to Kingfisher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingfisher, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.