We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LaLa`s Restaurant

LaLa`s Restaurant
17 George Street | Centre House, Wakefield WF1 1NE, England
44 1924 377550
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 325 Restaurants in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $2
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We specialize in delicious cuisine, including our house specialties and other customer favorites. Our cuisine entrees are served in a relaxed and welcoming setting that you and your friends and family are sure to enjoy. Whether you are in the mood to indulge in something new or just want to enjoy some old favorites, we promise that our inventive menu and attentive service will leave you truly satisfied. No matter what your occasion calls for or your appetite demands, the friendly staff at LaLa`s Restaurant promise to make your next dining experience a pleasant one.
england
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Fabtastic night at lalas as usual fantastic food great atmosphere top service from all the guys gotta be the best in wakefield.well done junior and waj. Karen and alan.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    70
    32
    25
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the best Indian places in Wakefield”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I have visited this restaurant a lot and had takeaway delivery from here too and can highly recommend visiting.

Food
I find the food here to be of a high quality. The naan breads are amazing; they are very large and the garlic naan is very tasty (quite strong garlic). These can easily be shared between three or four people.

Service
The staff are really friendly but also quite professional.

Downside
The only downside to Lala's is how close the tables are to each other. If going as a couple I would avoid going at busy times (Weekends).

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“DEFINITELY BE VISITING AGAIN!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Just had my first experience of Lala's, Wakefield courtesy of a Groupon deal. Had heard some good feedback from friends and have to say not disappointed at all. Greeted on arrival and shown to our table, nice atmosphere, busy place and with nice background music. Asked if we would like drinks and then offered poppadums whilst we browsed the menu. No pressure on rushing us to choose our dishes and a nice range of dishes to choose from. I had the chicken puri which was like a meal in itself and my hubby had a lovely fish starter, lots of fish there for a starter. Then followed with a lamb dish for myself and a lamb and chicken dish from the specials for my hubby - both dishes were absolutely superb. We ordered a standard Garlic Naan but to be fair there was enough to feed a whole family, it was enormous. 2 wines and 2 beers - a lovely evening finished off with a long chat with the restaurant owner who seemed a very genuine guy. All in all a good evening - we will definitely be back soon. Thank you !!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“superb service with excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Dined here as two couples and went for the special meal offer at £10-95, what superb value. All of us are regular indian food lovers and this was by far one of the best we all have tasted. Staff very friendly making us feel most welcome with attentative service. Well done to all at La La. We wll be back when next in Wakefield.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Food still good but has the service gone off the boil?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Have eaten here quite a few times and the food never seems to disappoint. The service however seems to get slightly worse with every visit and can have a bit of a Fawlty Towers feel to the experience. I notice others have said the same so I would suggest management take a serious look at how they portray themselves. Of particular note on this occasion was a waiter who I can assume was new, lacking enthusiasm and communication skills virtually non existent.

Still love the food but the service is turning me off and there are so many that do it better.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LaLa`s Restaurant also viewed

Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Batley, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to LaLa`s Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LaLa`s Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.