We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of York House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added York House Hotel to your Saves list
York House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10-12 Drury Lane | Town Centre, Wakefield WF1 2TE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rome, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

I was in this hotel last week . The staff was friendly, polite and also helpful. The room was very clean with great design and also warm in this time of the year, bathroom was modern and nice. Bed was comfortable and the sheets nice and soft. I really enjoyed the breakfast.
I recommend this hotel because this is placed in the town centre and the closet hotel to the westgate train station.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina_YorkHouseHotel, Manager at York House Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see more of you in the future.
Kind Regards, Nina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    40
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
9
23
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

was a last minute booking due to original hotel being unsuitable. Staff here are incredibly friendly polite and helpful. rooms were clean and nicely decorated the room we had was not huge but it was satisfacotiry had everything we required, the parking next to the hotel and the restaurant onsite were a bonus too. We ate in the restaurant on the first evening and the meal was very nice, we also had breakfast every morning of our stay, also very nice The price was reasonable and all in all had a good stay, the only thing that i would change would be the duvet we had a queen sized bed and a single bed in our room the duvet on the queen size bed was a bit too small it only just reached the edges of the bed which meant that you both had to move to the centre of the bed which was two large singles. i ended up taking the duvet from the single bed and all was resolved. a fairly minor issue as everything else was really good - would recommend

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abi2008, Manager at York House Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review.
Thank you for bringing to our attention the duvets in your room being a tad small - we will look into this as we are always looking for ways to improve our hotel.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see more of you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This hotel was booked as an overnight stopover, pleased to note car park was next to hotel and featured a security watch which is reassuring, the single room was adequate sized and very clean condition, featured a very ensuite bathroom and seperate shower unit different but ideally placed, the bed was very comfortable with clean linen, a comfortable was had by myself, sorry to say can not comment on breakfast as had to leave at 7am, please breakfast earlier, i will definately return and stay for breakfast.

Room Tip: My single room was top notch
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abi2008, Manager at York House Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review.
If you happen to stay with us again please mention that you would like an early breakfast and we can arrange one at a time to suit you.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see more of you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

First time I had stayed here but will definitely stay again. The rooms are clean and warm. the beds are so comfortable I didn't want to get up and there is a very efficient shower. There were some light bulbs missing in the bathroom but as soon as I told someone they were replaced. Although I was only there for two nights, the chambermaid came to change the towels on the second morning. Breakfast was delicious - asked for poached eggs and received two perfectly poached eggs on toast plus extra toast. Was also asked if I would like brown or white toast, not something that always happens. Had the full English on the second morning and it was delicious, especially the bacon. The receptionist was quite happy for me to leave my case there until I left in the afternoon, a quite enjoyable stay, and very reasonably priced.
An added bonus of course is the proximity to the railway station and the shops and restaurants in the town centre.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abi2008, Manager at York House Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see more of you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benidorm, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I booked this hotel at the last moment and subsequently wasn't disappointed room was excellent clean and tidy shower facilities perfect as one would expect and plenty of towels no noise and I was in the hotel during a weekend.

Staff wonderful and pleasant friendly also parking facilities where perfect for a hotel located in the heart of Wakefield at no cost with a permit provided.

Good location for Westgate and city centre also the theatre so great place for those wanting wakefield nightlife and also couple of minutes away from the railway station.

Breakfast was full English could have been a bit more than what was on the plate one item of each egg sausage one rash of bacon etc then saying that I do have a appetite.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abi2008, Manager at York House Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review.
If you happen to stay with us again please mention to our staff that you would like a large breakfast and we will make sure you are well fed next time!
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see more of you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferrybridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Me and my Boyfriend had booked here for a Valentines day little treat - even though we live in Wakefield itself! But for £50 including breakfast, we thought why not?! Have a night by ourselves. We got there earlier than check in but our room was already ready and we were told we could go straight to it! When we entered, it was spacious, well decorated (both bedroom and bathroom) with TV and coffee/tea making facilities. Once we were ready, we had booked a table at the restaurant next door, Sloanes. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and the service was fantastic! (Apart from feeling rushed between meals). We even got a free bottle of wine as we said we were here for a Valentine's meal! We then headed off for a few drinks round Wakefield in to the early hours of the morning. We went back to the hotel at around 2am and the receptionist greeted us with a friendly attitude and asked if we had had a good night. The beds were unbelievably comfy once we got back to our room. The next morning, we went back in to Sloanes restaurant for our breakfast - which to our surprise was choose what you like full English!!!! With also the choice of cereal, toast and got drinks. It was such a lovely evening for us to be on our own and treat each other. Would definitely recommend staying here again!

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abi2008, Manager at York House Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review.
We are glad you enjoyed your Valentine's evening with us and hope that we made it special for you.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see more of you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I needed to stay somewhere central in wakefield whilst visiting relatives and you can't get much more central than this hotel! 2 minutes walk from the train station I was a bit worried because of the cheapness of the deal I got but couldn't have been happier for the price I paid. Okay it could do with a bit of a refurb if you compare it to other hotels in the area but I would have paid 3 times the price to stay in those hotels. It was clean and had all the things I needed in a hotel room. The staff were friendly, letting me leave my luggage in the office whilst I made a trip to town after checking out and all in all I would definitely recommend staying here! Considering it is so close to Westgate the hotel was extremely peaceful at night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abi2008, Manager at York House Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see more of you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to York House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York House Hotel

Address: 10-12 Drury Lane | Town Centre, Wakefield WF1 2TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Wakefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — York House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your York House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage York House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.