We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed sophistication” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kaye Arms Inn and Brasserie

Kaye Arms Inn and Brasserie
29 Wakefield Road, Wakefield WF4 4BG, England
01924 840 228
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 325 Restaurants in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Relaxed sophistication”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015 NEW

There is allways a warm and friendly reception at the Kaye arms. The staff are efficent and accommodating. The food always meets our expectations.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare O, Guest Relations Manager at Kaye Arms Inn and Brasserie, responded to this review, today
Thank you so much for your kind words - they are really appreciated! See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    49
    20
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Try the Fish Pie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015 NEW

Haven't visited this restaurant for a number of years even though it is close to home. Went last night following a recommendation from a friend. Wasn't disappointed. Me and my wife had the Fish Pie from the main Course two for £12.99 menu. Very tasty indeed, could not be faltered. Just had to try a dessert-go for trio of lemon-spot on.
Friendly staff and good atmosphere. Get a table away from the bar area. Will go again and try something else on the menu.

  • Visited May 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare O, Guest Relations Manager at Kaye Arms Inn and Brasserie, responded to this review, today
Many thanks for your review. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“restaurant food at gastro pub price's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015 via mobile

Stopped off for lunch after a morning at the Yorkshire mining museum.Greated by a very pleasant young lady and taken to a very nice table in well presented pub.My husband and I ate from the fixed price menu and we were not disappointed. I had the round green farm venison it was fantastic. Pink well rested and well presented. My husband had the lamb shank.Tender with lovely roasted root vegetables and creamy potatoes.I don't know how he ate it all.I had a trio of lemon dessert. The positt was lovely and sharp the steamed lemon sponge was so light and went very well with a nice lemon parfait all in all a very special dessert.Now we are looking for another place to visit in the area so we can come and see you and your friendly staff again.
nice end too a great day out.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare O, Guest Relations Manager at Kaye Arms Inn and Brasserie, responded to this review, today
Many thanks for your review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining with at The Kaye Arms and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Maybe try The Yorkshire Sculpture Park just down the road, or The Hepworth Gallery, not that you need an excuse to visit us!
See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“New years Eve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

Went for a family meal on New years eve in which we all had a pleasant time. After visiting for the fourth time in the past few Months we came to expect a warm welcome,so after booking for New years we received great service and decent food. A great way to start the new year too. Throughout the night we had several small courses which were all great tasting, which was topped off by quality service. I Would recommend it to anyone wanting some decent food along with some excellent service.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare O, Guest Relations Manager at Kaye Arms Inn and Brasserie, responded to this review, today
Thank you so much for your review and continued support and custom - it is much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Trio Sausage and Mash, best Ive had.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

called in for a viewing and had Trio of Sausage and lovely creamy mash and gravy. Beautiful it was and generous portions .

Enjoyed it so much had a chocholate fondant afterwards and could hardly move out of the seat afterwards. Wanted to go back and have it again . lovely area and a nice place with separate bar area for quiet drinks before and afterwards. What a little smasher of a place will definately go again .

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare O, Guest Relations Manager at Kaye Arms Inn and Brasserie, responded to this review, today
Many thanks for your review.
We really appreciate your kind words and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaye Arms Inn and Brasserie also viewed

Farnley Tyas, Huddersfield
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Kaye Arms Inn and Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaye Arms Inn and Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.