We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Houndgate Townhouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Houndgate Townhouse to your Saves list
Houndgate Townhouse
11 Houndgate, Darlington DL1 5RF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Darlington
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A true hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

My now wife and I stayed at Houndgate Townhouse after our wedding last weekend, being ideally located just metres from the registry office. We booked the bridal suite blind, more or less on a whim and weren't really expecting such a great experience. From the big, solid and very comfortable four poster bed to the luxurious walk-in shower to the free-standing bath in the bedroom (plenty big enough for two!), the room was absolutely perfect for two youngish lovebirds like ourselves. The decor was very nice indeed, both in our room and throughout the hotel, nice fancy products in the bathroom and our breakfast was delicious (excellent full English for me, eggs Benedict done to perfection for the missus). Really good communication beforehand and service to match throughout - we also had our post-wedding lunch there but I will be reviewing that under their separate restaurant listing (spoiler: that was also very good indeed). Our room was therefore discounted, we paid 125 for our suite and breakfast, I've no idea what the going rate for a bridal suite is but we both thought it was worth every penny. Many thanks to Clare, Rebecca and the team!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houndgate T, Owner at Houndgate Townhouse, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Hello and congratulations on your recent nuptials. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay in our Super Deluxe room at Houndgate Townhouse. As you say, we are very close to the current Registry Office and in fact we used to house the Registry Office at 11 Houndgate where our Hound Bar & Lounge is now. I’m sure your photos of the room two will be helpful for other TripAdvisor users – it’s clear to see just how big the super-king four-poster bed is! It is great to read that you enjoyed our décor, breakfast and service. We look forward to your review of lunch in our ‘eleven’ restaurant and I shall pass on your kind words to Clare, Becca and the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future to our “true hidden gem”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
37
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a lovely stay at the Houndgate Townhouse and I felt the need to write down how much we appreciated our time at this delicious small hotel. Only 8 bedrooms, which suited us just fine as some of these large hotel chains are so clinical and boring. This beautiful little hotel was a joy - the staff - (nothing was too much bother for them), the stylish interior design, the excellent tasty breakfasts with choice of good quality food in a full English or, if like me, a more healthier option of creamy porridge and Greek Yoghurt, the good size room which was spotlessly clean and a bathroom full of fluffy towels and quality toilet products courtesy of the hotel. Every little attention to detail that I look for when I stay in a hotel was well catered for. My husband and I will be returning to Houndgate for a longer stay as finding quality hotels these days can be quite a challenge. Particular thanks to Jake and Becca for their kindness and courtesy. A little oasis of a hotel in the middle of a large bustling town.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houndgate T, Owner at Houndgate Townhouse, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent two night stay with us. It is great to read you enjoyed your time with us and thought the staff were efficient, the interiors stylish and food delicious. We do pay a lot of attention to detail here so it is lovely to see that you noticed this, from the Miller Harris Toiletries to the healthier breakfast options. I will pass on your kind comments to Jake and Becca and we look forward to welcoming you back to our “oasis of a hotel” in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Just returned from a two night break at the Townhouse - what an excellent find !!
The Hotel is small but beautifully and tastefully furnished, the food was excellent and the staff were great (Jake and Becca in particular were the two people we dealt with the most).
We booked some time ago and therefore got a reduction from full price which made our stay even better, and we certainly return in the future.

Room Tip: We were in Room 6 which was totally equipped for disabled access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houndgate T, Owner at Houndgate Townhouse, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Hello and thank you for leaving a review of your recent two night break at Houndgate Townhouse. It is great to read that you loved your stay with us and that you think we are an “excellent find”. It is lovely to read your great comments about our furnishings, food and staff and I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to Jake and Becca. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Brilliant little hotel. Only 8 rooms & they were slightly apologetic when we booked because we got the last room available & it was smaller. But actually fine for us & frankly we preferred it anyway because some of the larger rooms had the bath in the bedroom which personally isn't for us.

Renovated with some serious thought & nods to the building's heritage. Farrow & Ballesque decoration, tongue & groove on the walls of our room -white & off white. Reasonably sized bathroom with large walk-in shower. Plenty of bathroom accessories - toothbrush & toothpaste really good at these sort of prices. Robes, slippers etc.

Breakfast excellent choice - eggs benedict, full english, granola, porridge etc. Nice touch Tracklements ketchup, milk in little milk bottles, lovely plates and cutlery. But will quibble over just streaky bacon available - obviously chosen deliberately for flavour but not everyone's cup of tea.

Lovely staff. We were visiting friends nearby & it made a very good base for visiting Newcastle & Durham -only a 10 minute walk from Darlington station with excellent train connections.

It really is an excellent hotel & at £74 a night for our room terrific value. I'd hazard a guess and say it's probably one of the best around here. Does suffer from noise outside - quite close to a main road at the back & a nightclub a bit up the road which were noisy at night during the weekend (the hotel does give you earplugs but I'm not sure if that's a good or bad thing).

We enjoyed it enormously - was just right for our weekend visit to the North East.

Room Tip: Room 8 - small but excellent value. Rooms on front may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houndgate T, Owner at Houndgate Townhouse, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us at Houndgate Townhouse. It’s great to read that you know about the links between our arts strategy and the history of the building – whether from our new “a-z” guide or from a member of staff. We did indeed use a number of Farrow & Ball paints for our decoration and hired local bespoke furniture maker Anthony Nixon Furniture to create the wall paneling so the building would look like it would in Georgian times. You write that you found our breakfast choice to be excellent and found our quirky finishing touches – for example the traditional mini milk bottles – to be nice which is lovely as we do aim to take great attention to detail. I shall pass on your kind words to our members of staff. Indeed our location just down the road from Darlington train station is very handy – with Durham being a twenty minute journey and Newcastle a thirty minute journey away. Due to our grade II listed status we are unable to install double-glazing, however we are working closely with the local council to combat any external noise issues that are above normal limits. In the meantime we thought it’d be good to offer customers the choice of earplugs. Room eight is a favourite room for many of our customers as it boasts an original fireplace and some very old wallpaper (around ninety years old) in the bathroom, covered with a frame of course! We look forward to welcoming you back next time you come back to the North East.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We recently held a family gathering here and booked a function room and accommodation for guests travelling form London. Staff at all levels were helpful and efficient and contributed to the success of the event, right from the planning stage to delivery. The staff responded to the needs of all our guests which included a number of young children. Food and accommodation were first class and delivered what was promised. So much so that after party we stayed on and had a wonderful meal to finish the day. I cannot recommend this hotel and it's staff highly enough and will be writing direct to the hotel to thank them all personally. (Haven't done that in a long time )
Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houndgate T, Owner at Houndgate Townhouse, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Hello Keith and thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent overnight stay at Houndgate Townhouse with your family. Although we don’t have a stand-alone function room, our ‘eleven’ restaurant can accommodate up to 32 guests and can be curtained off from the main bar area. It is great to read that our staff were helpful and efficient and I shall pass on your kind words to them. We aim to be a “home from home” here at Houndgate, so children of all ages are welcome. It is good to read you found our food and accommodation to be “first class” and that you decided to join us for dinner after your event as you were so impressed. It’s so lovely that you wish to pen a letter to us to share your experience as we find so often customers only care to complain and not to compliment. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

A very nice stay. The staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. We were a bit disappointed that there wasn't tea & coffee making facilities in the room but were reassured that we could calls them anytime day or night if we needed a cuppa and that certainly was the case and all free!!
Beautiful room, very good quality TV! I enjoyed reading the book about the history of the building.

Our only criticism is that there was no secure parking.

Will definitely stay there again and definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houndgate T, Owner at Houndgate Townhouse, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Hello Sallie and thanks for leaving a review of your recent stay with us. I shall pass on your kind comments about the service you received to our staff. We are pleased you enjoyed your bedroom, the HD TV and our new “a-z” guide – a lot of thought has gone into turning 11 Houndgate into the hotel so we thought it’d be great if our customers could read about it. Unfortunately our location in Darlington town centre does not afford any private parking but the back bedrooms (rooms one, four, five and eight) look out over the paid-for car park should you decide to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Me and my girlfriend enjoyed a brilliant day and night at houndgate townhouse,when we arrived we were greeted and given our room key in no time at all didn't get the name of the lad who greeted us but he was very enthusiastic and always seemed like he cared and wasn't overly serious and you could have a laugh with him which was nice!The rooms are absolutely beautiful and looked even better in person than they did in the photos and normally it's the other way around,the little touches they give to the room were nice for example the slippers,razer,tooth brush and lots more than that!We Went down for dinner in the afternoon and the food was really nice and I couldn't pick out one fault everything was cooked to perfection. Overall this was a really nice home away from home and it's worth paying that little extra to stay in a quality place and we'll be back! Thank you houndgate townhouse.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houndgate T, Owner at Houndgate Townhouse, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent overnight stay at Houndgate Townhouse. It is great to read that you had a “perfect night away” and you felt our service was friendly and efficient. It’s lovely to read that you enjoyed your room décor with all the finishing touches and that in your experience Houndgate Townhouse is better than our photos when you are there in person. I will pass on your kind comments about the food to our kitchen team. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Houndgate Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houndgate Townhouse

Address: 11 Houndgate, Darlington DL1 5RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Darlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An eight-bedroom design hotel, restaurant and bar in the heart of Darlington. This Grade II-listed Georgian Townhouse has been sympathetically restored to its former glory. All eight rooms have en-suite bathrooms, HD TV's and Miller Harris toiletries. Eat at the restaurant, 'eleven', enjoy a cocktail or glass of wine in the hound bar & lounge or simply choose to relax in the comfortable rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Houndgate Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Houndgate Townhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.